We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group travel needs all met convenient location and well priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Armadale Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Armadale Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Armadale Serviced Apartments
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   6 Williams Road, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Group travel needs all met convenient location and well priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Recently took a group to Melboure. These apartments had everything that you could ask for, good beds, plenty of room and a good kitchen. They were close to a tram stop that made the city close and Chapel st in walking distance. Plenty of Parking as well. The apartments were ery clean and serviced every second day. Friendly and extremely helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaleApartments, Manager at Armadale Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Good day Andrew,

Thank you for taking time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us. We hope to welcome you and the group again sometime in the near future.

Warm regards,
Armadale Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    14
    15
    12
See reviews for
22
11
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I don't know who wrote those previouse illusional "good" reviews, because we didn't hade fun time there. Only good thing was that we had roof on top at nights. Staff just randomly pointed where to park. Asked about what do do in city-he just throwed a map in front our nose like "find yourself". Rooms were really in their 1940's. No fan or AC in bedrooms. No washing facilities in the apartment. Oven was dirty and large pan had olso some old food pieces attached. Sofas in livingroom were so worn that i sat through the couch. Altho tv was modern but i didn't come to see tv on my holiday. Almost every night some signal went on so loudly outside that we had to turn music/tv louder. Dirty bathroom and small rooms. Our room was on 3rd floor, so had to get our big cases up in stair, no elevator. Wouldn't recommend ever to anyone!!

Room Tip: Not a place to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Check-in at 8pm was a nightmare. Reception was shut & locked up at 6pm. There are staff on duty, but there is no contact number on the reception which had the shutter pulled down over it and lights off. Was ringing Expedia UK at a high cost per minute, who were also unsure what was going on.

Was put in a downstairs room at the very back of the hotel, but it was the noisyest you could imagine. Could not open the living room window more than an inch as someone had parked a transit van against the wall outside. There were no net curtains or blinds, so it was either curtains closed & darkness, or no privacy from the many people hanging round the car park outside.

The room utterly stunk - it was horrid and overpowering, I think the curtains were mouldy. I think a world record was set, I have never seen a cockroach jump so high. To be fair, it was the only roach, but it was not nice. The air conditioning did not work. The building's gutter broke, and water was dripping from three floors above banging onto the top of the aircon vent, all night.

There are people staying here long term as residents, some drunken screaming girls in the room above were twice having a party at 4am, with drunken teenagers turning up all night with no staff on patrol.

There was one plus, a small pay-laundry. The downside? the one time I asked reception to change a two dollar coin for two one dollar coins for the machine, they stated they don't give change, try the shop outside (which was closed down for refurbishment for four weeks). The nearest shop or supermarket was 25 minutes away by tram in the city centre.

Don't be mistaken by the corporate pictures, they've painted one of the walls in the lounges brown so it looks deceptively nice. It really isn't. Free internet was also advertised in my booking, but there was none.

Really spoilt my trip to Melbourne this place after great stays in Sydney and Adelaide with Quest and Medina apartments.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at Armadale Serviced Apartments during a business trip to Melbourne. We found them well situated near the tram and bus stops, near to businesses for cafe/dining, and very satisfactory.
The property is very simple and perhaps not very up to date in presentation but very clean, and quite spacious.
The price was very competetive, and certainly beat an expensive city hotel hands down. We did not require the kitchen, but it had all one could have required for self catering.
We did not need to interact with the management/reception much as the booking was prepaid.
would definitely use the apartments again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Armadale Apartments in Prahran for 7 nights in October 2012. If you want Hyatt or Hilton class accommodation then go there and pay for it!! If you want very good value-for-money clean accommodation that is handy to the City attractions and St. Kilda area 'eat streets' etc, then this is it!!
Our room was serviced regularly during our stay and laundry facilities are clean and of good quality. Trams directly to the City are 2 min walk away.
Our apartment was comfortably furnished and the carpet and furniture were all clean and in good condition. It was great to have full kitchen facilities to cook meals etc.
Even though ours was a ground floor unit, we had no problems with privacy or excessive noise. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful for our entire stay.
We will definitely stay there again whenever we're in Melbourne in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights from 16.08.2012. Reception staff were always very pleasant and helpful. Had a 1 bedroom apartment with twin beds. Room smelled a bit musty when we first arrived but that was soon sorted when I opened the windows and after a little airing smell was gone. The room and decor was is a little dated but at least everything was clean. The kitchen is well equipped with full cooker and oven, microwave, toaster and fridge. The living room had a comfortable enough sofa and a TV that was most welcomed on some of our rainy nights.
The location is good, with 2 trams just across the road taking you into the centre within about 20 minutes. The laundry room was a bonus for us. The wi-fi signal was very weak or sometimes non existant in our room but the reception staff were kind enough to let us use our laptop in the reception area where the signal was better. A little tip - the laundry room also had great wi-fi reception for when the reception is closed. All in all we enjoyed our stay here as well as the location and would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Took my family to Melbourne to stay for a week. The apartments do not look like the pictures on the website. they are old and dirty. The kitchen was full of old appliances that no longer worked. The bathroom had paint peeling off. The couches were old, the carpets were dirty and the parking was terrible. Find somewhere better...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armadale Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armadale Serviced Apartments

Address: 6 Williams Road, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Armadale Serviced Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Armadale Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armadale Serviced Apartments Hotel Prahran
Armadale Serviced Apartments Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armadale Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.