We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wisharts - CLOSED

Wisharts
29 Gipps St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
(03)5568 1884
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
1 review
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We always treat ourselves to fish and chips when we're driving through Port Fairy, I worked in a fish and chips shop for 7 years and have always been picky eating fish and chips, but today was a disappointment. It took a good 10 mins to be serve, I didn't feel like I was acknowledged standing there waiting, I would've been happy if they told me "I'll be there in a minute". Our chips and potato cakes were soggy, obviously hasn't let the oil get to the right temperature. My flat heads were a small serve where in the past I would've gotten 2 serves of what I got today. The quality and the service wasn't the same anymore. No lemons available even though they still had an hour of service left.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We had fish and scollops and they were lovely, expecially the scollops. I did order a potatoe cake but were we opened up our meal at our accom the was no potato cake..bit disappointed although i was so full at end of meal i probably would not have eaten it anyway. I loved my meal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Potato Cakes... WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Only came here for a snack so we ordered some potato cakes. Boy oh boy they were nice. Very big slices of potato and a great batter. Delicious! One of the best potato cakes I have had. Worth the price you pay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a Fish and Chip feed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Right on the wharf, pretty casual but suited us for a nice little lunch. All cooked well, nice to watch the boats go in and out and when "Alf" (?owner) wandered out with an icy pole for the 2 grandkids won us all over - nice touch - thanks !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Waverley, Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Try the flathead tails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We loved the flathead and the scallops. Sometimes they didn't have much to choose from, however. They do need to wipe down the tables a bit more. Eating outside in the sunshine was good. The seagulls were pesky, but that's to be expected. We did have far too many chips. Maybe they could offer,say, a $2.50 serve. We pay a visit to Wisharts, whenever we're in Port Fairy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wisharts also viewed

 
Port Fairy, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wisharts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.