We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Inn in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merrijig Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Merrijig Inn to your Saves list
Merrijig Inn
1 Campbell Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Port Fairy B&B and Inns
Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Cosy Inn in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Merrijig Inn is the oldest inn in Victoria Australia. It is in the cute fishing village of Port Fairy on the Great Ocean Road.
We spent a wonderful weekend at this inn recently.
The suite we had was lovely. We had our own entry a d whilst still being able to use all the public areas of the inn, we had total privacy, with our very own front door.
The suite comprised a generous bedroom with a very comfy queen bed with lovely pillows and Donna. The bed, pillows and bed linen as well as the towels looked pretty new.
We also had a separate sitting room with a gorgeous open fire and flat screen TV. The bathroom was a tad small, but quite adequate.
Breakfast each morning was quite a treat!
There is a lovely boardwalk just across the road, with great fishing boats moored alongside. Walking distance to all the restaurants and Griffith Island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    30
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
87
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights during the Port Fairy Folk Festival weekend.
Extremely pleasant and accomading staff.
We stayed in an Attic Room ... a gorgeous little room with an ensuite. Small but, that is part of the charm of Merrijig Inn, and more than adequate for our needs.
Our window faced the river.... giving us a beautiful view of the wharf and boats.
Tea, coffee etc and beautiful home made cookies are available any time in the cosy sitting room area.
After a relaxing nights rest, we enjoyed an amazing breakfast, using all local produce.
Merrijig is ideally located to the wharf area and easy walking distance to main street.
Great cafes, clothing and gift shops to browse in beautiful Port Fairy.
We recommend this quaint accomodation in the beautiful, Internationally Awarded - "Worlds Most Liveable Community 2012" ... PORT FAIRY!
- Janice & David :) :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner in the restaurant which was nothing short of sensational. Fresh ingredients put together in a really original way. The prices were special occasion prices but we were happy with what we paid, the attention to every detail, flavour and texture was worth every dollar. Seriously awesome.

We booked an attic room with a double bed which was adorable. Quite small but that was part of its charm. Everything was lovely and charming and topped off a wonderful day of great ocean road travel. A gorgeous experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Reception was very homely and we were shown the public lounge area where beverages are help yourself - to be taken to your room or drunk in front of the log fire along with the home made biscuits/cake - before being shown to our room which was adjacent to the entrance. Seperate bedroom and "living room" area. Spray provided in case of ant incursion and we needed it to halt the parade, although one application was enough. Evening meal was booked ahead and I thought mine was incomparable. Jane found hers to be too much of competing flavours. Quirky and cute. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. Nice people too

Room Tip: This is an historic place with rooms to match
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

New owners. But the standards remain high. Excellent quality food at this homestead building in the country beach town of Port Fairy. Stands out among its competition and deserves to be taken seriously. They handle large groups with ease and for example, had no problem with our party of 12 which included an 8 week old infant! Food tends to focus on locally produced ingredients....so Mount Zero olives, restaurant cured prosciutto and local lamb. Started with the gnocchi with tiny zucchini flowers and stems, bathed in burnt butter. Light gnocchi and the sauce was outstanding. Followed by duck 2 ways. Confit leg and neck sausage. The confit was excellent, and while the sausage taste was lovely, it was, for me, a bit dry and I think would have benefited from some sort of gentle sauce. Personal taste though.

Wine list is worth a read in itself and includes an excellent mix of Australian and imported wines. They had some recently released Best Bin 0 ( 2011) which recently won the Jimmy Watson. Price of $60 versus the winery direct price of $20. Which I guess is standard industry mark up.

We will be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I must say this has got to be one of the quaintest places I have had the pleasure of staying at in Australia. The staff certainly make the place and the food served at the restaurant for dinner is definitely worth coming back for. The breakfast was delicious with the eggs coming straight from the back garden though the orange juice was the let down, being reconstituted. A small gripe on on otherwise perfect place to stay. The room was clean and well appointed with a very comfortable queen size bed and the grounds were such a pleasant place to relax in, read a book and contemplate. A peaceful haven from the world. A truly charming inn in a charming town. You will not regret staying and eating here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a gorgeous little place to stay while visiting Port Fairy. We were stopping in for the night so decided to stay in one of the quaint little attic rooms. Yes these rooms are small but that didn't bother us as it had everything we needed. A very comfy double bed with crisp clean white bed linen and a good sized little ensuite with large fluffy bath towels. The rooms are beautifully presented and I noticed how clean this place was, not a trace of dust or anything to be seen and you can see the owners take great pride and care in keeping the place well maintained. We had access to the common areas where there was an open wood fire, tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of magazines to read. We liked the free wifi as well. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Port Fairy.

Room Tip: Attic room 5 was beautiful and very quiet with a comfy double bed and cute attic window overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Merrijig Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrijig Inn

Address: 1 Campbell Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrijig Inn, Victoria's oldest Inn, is our special place in Port Fairy.The Merrijig Inn is located in Port Fairy, the jewel of south west Victoria on the Great Ocean Road.The Merrijig Kitchen is our restaurant in our historic dining room. We write our menu daily from seasonal produce, sourced locally where possible from the south-west country-sdie.Our carefully crafted wine list features passionate producers who use bio-dynamic & organic practises and their wine speaks of 'terroir'.The Merrijig front bar is open every day from 4pm so you're welcome to come and enjoy a drink and a chat!Centrally located next to the wharf, the Merrijig Inn is close to all of historic Port Fairy's attractions including galleries, shopping and beaches.We hope you'll join us and enjoy the charm of the hisotric Merrijig Inn!It's exciting for us to be able to host you in one of Port Fairy's most charming buildings - so come share our love of eating great food and drinking delicious wine, and stay a while!Liz & Tanya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Merrijig Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrijig Hotel Port Fairy
Merrijig Inn Port Fairy, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrijig Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.