We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41b Gipps Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Fairy
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A boutique experience generally involves personalized home style service and hospitality touches.

At Oscars, the physical product and location is pleasant, however, there is a distinct lack of personal attention and boutique touches that you would expect at such high prices.

Boutique touches such as a personalized welcome note or a simple in room gift (even a sample of the delicious local chocolate)

Breakfast was pleasant - cooked to order hot items - but no selection of muesli or milks. No fresh fruits. No espresso coffee (even a Nespresso would have been appreciated)

The house features a very nice living room which no one used - during our stay. At this price, wouldn't a complimentary pre dinner glass of wine hosted by the house be a nice touch? Giving it atmosphere that was missing.

All in all an average but expensive experience.


Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    48
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
161
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A very nice small hotel right on the waterfront. Room was large, very clean and a nice view of the harbor and very quiet. The breakfast was very good. Not much to do in Port Fairy, but it is the end of the Great Ocean Rd and a good stopping point. The hotel made great recommendations for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We drove the Great Ocean Road before New Years 2013. At the end of the road, stayed in Port Fairy. Loved this place. Spent time just sitting on the porch reading. The breakfast is wonderful. The cookies are irresistible. The staff was great arranging activities, hair appointments for my wife, messages, and dinner reservations. Could not have enjoyed it more.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in this beautiful house right on the estuary overlooking the waterfont.
We were made to feel very welcome, with afternoon tea and cookies and delicious cooked breakfast in the morning.
We highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the back of the house overlooking the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here and our rooms had been mixed up by the travel agent meaning me and my brother were left with a double bed to share - Oscars only does double beds. So the manager organised a whole extra room for us at no extra cost which we found to be such a lovely gesture. Everything else was just as good including the lovely loose leaf teas available and the homemade shortbread biscuits on arrival.
The views from the bedrooms and the size of the beds were fabulous!
The breakfast was divine as well and the whole place had a lovely sumptuous relaxing feel to it!
Thanks

Room Tip: Any rooms at the top of the stairs as the views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had difficulty finding the hotel as the sign is vey small and overwhelmed by one for the Belfast Ice Company. There is also very limited parking provision and you may have to park in the street.
We were met by a very pleasant lady who gave us an extensive tour of the hotel and described in detail all that we needed to know.
We had a courtyard room, so no great view. The room was spacious and clean as was the bathroom. No problems sleeping. One thing to note is that there are a lot of stairs to get to the bedrooms, so it makes carrying the luggage up quite arduous.
The public areas are very pleasant and there is some very nice coffee available on demand.
The choice available at breakfast is more limited than you get in most places, but the quality is there. The main course is cooked to order and was very good. The bread is homemade.
Whilst Oscars is very nice it is not cheap, it was the most expensive of the 14 hotels we stayed in during our holiday and the list included some 4 and 5 star hotels in some major cities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stopped off in Port Fairy as part of our Great Ocean Road trip and stayed here for the night. Superb accommodation and a wondererful breakfast. Picturesque and relaxing hotel. Breakfast on the veranda is special.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the main house rather than a courtyard room - there are river views but expect to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel

Address: 41b Gipps Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious property of Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel has become a well-known weekend retreat and idyllic destination for national and international tourists alike.Located in the town of Port Fairy at the end of the Great Ocean Road, close to the 12 Apostles, Grampians and Coonawarra wine region, Oscars continues to thrive under continued ownership spanning 14 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscars Waterfront Boutique
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Port Fairy
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel Port Fairy, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.