We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41b Gipps Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Port Fairy
London
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were made very welcome by Kirstyn from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious and whilst there were no coffee making facilities in the room, there was coffee and tea available at all times downstairs. The homemade shortbread biscuits that were also available were yummy. The lounge was really comfortable and we made good use of it and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've come across in a hotel. The riverside location with a short walk into town was great. There is no lift but we were offered help with our bags so it didn't matter. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    44
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
139
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We thought Oscars was a lovely property. We had a nice room overlooking the river. The lady who checked us in was extremely pleasant and very helpful. We enjoyed breakfast and happily paid the $315 on departure. Before leaving we were asked by the same pleasant and helpful lady if we had taken anything from the mini bar - we had not. Later in the day when we arrived at our next port of call my husband noticed there had been a call to his cell phone from Oscars. Oh dear, we must have left something behind. But no, the call was to say the housekeeper had noticed a bottle of wine missing from the mini bar, had we taken it? We did not take it and have never stolen anything in our lives. We took great offence at this call and would appreciate an apology from Oscars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diepe
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were luck enough to have a water view room...magnificent. We had 3 opening windows so did not need air conditioner going. The room had Comfort classic furnishings in tranquil blues & whites and was very fresh & clean. Oscars is only minutes from town & the water.
Our only comment is that the bathroom was really small...but serviceable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights and were warmly greeted on arrival. We were offered an upgrade to the suite (from a River View room) and it was an enormous, light-filled room. Actually almost too big for us, as the smallish tv was miles away from the bed! And there were only partial views of the river from the bathroom, which was a little disappointing.

While we didn't notice too much noise from other rooms, we could hear everything that went on on the hallway, both upstairs and down, which I imagine would have been problematic if guests hadn't been as well-behaved as those who stayed at the same time as we did.

Exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated, there are a few signs of general wear and tear; cracks in walls, worn loo seat, fabric coming adrift on chairs, but nothing that detracts in a significant way to the overall comfort. And some more benchspace for toiletries wouldn't go astray.

The breakfasts were nice with plenty from which to choose on the cooked breakfast menu, and very tasty. However as we were there for three nights, it would have been nice to see a little more variety with the "breakfast buffet" to start. Homemade granola, yoghurt and poached pears are good, but a change in fruit at least would have meant we weren't sitting there feeling like we were getting the day before's leftovers!

In all, it was a great location, with a lovely atmosphere. Just not sure if I'd splash out again in a hurry here, with so many other places to try.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

if this property were half the price then it would merit a good rating based on location and the overall physical property. Unfortunately, it is an expensive property with Premium Rooms at more than $300 AUD.

Here is what is missing.

First and foremost, breakfast is a major disappointment. No fresh fruit, no fresh juices, just one cereal - a granola. If you are on a restricted sugar diet - you lose. There are no pastries or breads for self-serve. There is a cooked breakfast.

No coffee or tea making supplies in the room. Not convenient for those that would like a wake-up cup in the room.

The only drinks at breakfast are make-for-yourself coffee or tea.

The room - Premium is large but plain. No bath-shower gel.

This property is not a good value. The property has been on the market for a while. The number of "excellent" reviews is surprising given the shortcomings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This lovely hotel strives to be different and have you feel you are in a house (no room numbers, no lables on breakfast items, no reception but the house's study is used for that - all in an attempt to not be a normal hotel). The check in takes a little time as an explanation is needed on everything as you get a 5 minute tour of the house. Our room was riverview and was very spacious and a very comy king bed.

The large lounge allows you to relax in front of the open fire, although the room is so large it feels a little odd and could be slightly modified to make it more friendly.

Wonderful breakfast, again different to the usual hotel, with its own granola, poached pears and then al a carte menu for the hot portion which was also terrific.

For us, an expensive treat but memorable visit to a great hotel in a fabulous spot!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Whilst the staff are friendly and location beautifully located there are some things that let this B&B down.
1. For the price I'd expect bathrobes
2. Tiny shampoo and conditioner, no hand lotion or shower gel
3. Whilst the tea and coffee in the lounge area is quaint I'd still prefer to also have the option of tea and coffee facilities in the room or at least complimentary water
4. In this day and age I'd expect at least a Nespresso coffee machine
5. Extensive mould in the shower
6. Whilst others rave about the breakfast, we were very disappointed. The choices for the continental part of the breakfast are very limited: one type of granola, one type of yoghurt, poached pears, thats it. The cooked part, whilst tasty was small: tiny amounts of cooked spinach, tomatoes and mushroom, eggs, toast and bacon. It may sound a lot but the portions were small
7. No where to put your toiletries except on the floor
8. Shower pressure abysmal
I wanted to be wowed but came away thinking it was very overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel

Address: 41b Gipps Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious property of Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel has become a well-known weekend retreat and idyllic destination for national and international tourists alike.Located in the town of Port Fairy at the end of the Great Ocean Road, close to the 12 Apostles, Grampians and Coonawarra wine region, Oscars continues to thrive under continued ownership spanning 14 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscars Waterfront Boutique
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Port Fairy
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel Port Fairy, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.