We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More and more luxury and service in this B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41b Gipps Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Fairy
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“More and more luxury and service in this B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

As an important part of a touring trip along the Great Ocean Road, we have tried to combine comfort with simplicity with our accommodation. We have combined simple hotels with good bed and breakfast and this hostelry, Oscars, was not just good but wonderful. It is select and very spacious with enormous bedrooms and plush bathrooms and in our case, a walk in dressing room containing not only extensive hanging and storage space, but a drinks fridge in the wardrobe. Wi-fi Internet is free for clients (something these days I object to paying in hotels), and comfort is of the highest quality.

On our arrival, Judith, the manager, charmingly showed us everything about the premises, including how to make teas, coffees in the dining room with complementary shortcake biscuits of gigantuan size and taste. We took our tea on the fine terrace overlooking the estuary where boats are moored and a gate permits walks along the bank and over to the beach.

We were even given a selection of restaurants and menus to choose from and Judith kindly called and reserved a table for us.

Breakfast has a reputation, ours did not shrink from the expected high standard.

Really a wonderful overnight stay, we were disappointed not to be staying longer

Room Tip: I believe all are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    48
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
161
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan de Alicante, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful Waterfront location that has views to die for. Just outside our window was the riverfront with craft moored alongside the jetty and a beatiful view of the riverside. The rooms are large and well equipped. Kirstin who booked us in is a credit to the hotel, cheerful, friendly and very efficient, she made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Breakfast was delicious if a little too tempting! This is not a cheap hotel but for the luxury of it, it is worth every penny! The local area is well worth a few hours of walking time, cross the bridge and follow the road right and you will come to a most interesting historic site!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for two nights in March on a trip around the Great Ocean road , Kirstin who checked us in was just lovely and showed us to our room which had a view of the canal
The room was large , comfortable and very elegant as is the whole hotel .
The bathroom was great also very big with nice Molten Brown products in the room. The hotel has free wifi which was quite a rarity in the 7 hotels we stayed in on our six week trip , it can be a bit temperamental but you get a good signal in the beautiful lounge area.
Breakfast was delicious and i can highly recommend the pancakes they were amazing. The first night we stayed we went to the little fish and chip shop just a short walk along the canal and sat on the grass and ate our fish and chips you have to be there early though as they close when they run out of fish and we just made it . The second night we ate at The Stag which is also just a short walk from the hotel and a bit more upmarket food than the chippy but highly recommend it , their food was fantastic.
If you get a change take a walk around the island near the hotel , i can't remember its name but it was a lovely walk and we saw wild wallabys which was excellent .
Overall Port Fairy is a nice place with a good selection of shops and restaurants and Oscars is a very relaxing place to stay and somewhere i would most definitely return to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

After reading many reviews of hotels in the area, myself and my husband decided Oscars was for us. We were lucky and booked well in advance so had the pick of all the rooms. We decided on the Premium room and were not disappointed. Yes it is a bit pricey, but we have paid the same for allegedly the best b&b in Lorne. Oscars was on the money in every sense.
Beautiful daily serviced rooms in a gorgeous house. Breakfasts amazing. The only downside? And I say this as nitpicking only.
It would be good to have tea & coffee facilities in the rooms as well as downstairs.
Well done Oscars you have captured the quintessential 5 star b&b and we will be back.
Eating in Port Fairy - for us The Stag whilst lovely was very small portions but attentive service. By far Merrijig Inn won us over on food choices as well as setting and service.
Beautiful part of the world.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This 7 bedroom boutique hotel is almost every you might expect (nothings perfect !)
Lovely building with an impressive reception and dining room. We had a large double room overlooking the water which was very comfortable. The 'gourmet' breakfast was fresh cooked to order and was excellent - no leather like bacon from the buffet or concrete eggs !! The only gripe is that if you describe your breakfast as 'gourmet' and then serve cheap supermarket orange juice it rather spoils the effect !

The hotel balcony overlooking the water was delightful.

In this day and age, wi-fi is an essential part of the travellers necessities. Oscars does have wi-fi and it is free (as it should be) but it only seemed to work when the reception office was not using their computer ! Frustrating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water (most of them do)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

You almost want it to rain while you're here, so that you can spend some time relaxing guilt-free in the lovely sitting room. Or to have sunshine and a day out from sightseeing so that you can stake out the different outdoor spots with a good book, following the sun around from the lavender-scented courtyard garden to the deck overlooking the estuary. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast delicious,with an intriguing choice of hot meals as well as lovely poached pears and homemade granola, and the tea and shortbread on tap very welcome. No lift, and rooms are quite compact, so try to pack a small bag rather than having to lug your whole suitcase up the very long staircase then manoeuvre around it. The piped music in the public areas gets a bit much after a while - basically nice, but once you've heard the loop a couple of times you wish you could switch it off.

Room Tip: The corner room overlooking the riverfront has a bigger shower,with more space to lay out your stuff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Oscars is a wonderfully restored building, absolute riverfront.
Don't be fooled by the photos. All you get as private space is a small bedroom but if that's what you are expecting you won't be disappointed.
Outstanding breakfasts and walking distance to the town centre for other meals.
Property is for sale, lets hope the new owners respect it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel

Address: 41b Gipps Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious property of Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel has become a well-known weekend retreat and idyllic destination for national and international tourists alike.Located in the town of Port Fairy at the end of the Great Ocean Road, close to the 12 Apostles, Grampians and Coonawarra wine region, Oscars continues to thrive under continued ownership spanning 14 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscars Waterfront Boutique
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Port Fairy
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel Port Fairy, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.