We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41b Gipps Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Port Fairy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“We loved this wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Oscars Waterfront hotel is a magnificent large house with huge rooms on the Waterfront at Port Fairy. It is in a beautiful setting directly on the river.
Our room which was on the side of the hotel was extremely comfortable and vast. The bathroom was similarly very large and modern. There was a walk-in cupboard with a great deal of space.
The view from the side of the room was over the water and was magnificent although we were sorry not to have had a room which directly overlooked the river.
The public rooms were very large and had high ceilings as was the hall area, giving an impression of space and airiness. The furniture was very much in-keeping and gave the look of a large country house.
There was a beautiful terrace leading onto the boardwalk beside the river where one could sit and have drinks.
The hotel is very well situated, being a short walk from the centre of town and near to the beaches.
The included full English breakfast was excellent and there was hot coffee and tea available all day.
We loved our stay at this lovely hotel and it is a great sadness that the business is for sale. We hope the new owners continue to have it as a hotel and give the same marvellous service and 'feel' that it currently enjoys.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    59
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
191
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stopped 2 nights at Oscars during our journey from Melbourne to Adelaide. We had already noted the rear car park approach on Google Streetwise but once inside Oscars, the views from the inerior of the hotel over the river are fantastic. We had a river view room on the first floor and to wake up in the morning with the views was fabulous. Breakfast is cooked to order (08.30am on a Sunday and slightly earlier for the rest of the week) and the portions are well presented and generous. It appears that the majority of residents stay only for 1 night; our 2 night stay gave us the opportunity to enjoy the lovely lounge facility and make use of free Wi-Fi whilst enjoying the complimentary cookies. The rooms are tastefully decorated and cleanliness was of the highest standard. It is interesting to note the property is up for sale but hopefully the new owners will maintain the standards.

Room Tip: River view rooms are extra money but a nice touch if staying more than 1 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A beautiful location right on the river. The lady who greeted us (Libby) made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were 'olde worlde' but of the highest quality. Breakfast could be taken on the balcony by the river and cooked to order

The hotel is currently for sale. I hope the new owner keeps Libby and the cook as they are part of the make up of the place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe Uk
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Port Fairy was our last stop on the Great Ocean Road and we were very impressed when we arrived at this splendid hotel. We had a water front room which was spacious well appointed and very comfortable. The lounge and breakfast room were very tastefully decorated and breakfast was expertly cooked to order and was excellent. Needless to say we enjoyed our stay at Oscars!

Room Tip: Go for a waterfront room it makes the most of your stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Last month I planned a vacation to Port Fairy with my family and it turned out to be a great success. I chose Oscar Boutique Hotel as the place to stay and I wasn’t disappointed at all. Here we got to stay in spacious, tastefully decorated and well furnished rooms which made our stay very comfortable. The food here is awesome and especially the breakfast is absolutely delicious. Courteous and friendly staffs made us feel comfortable as soon as we stepped in. If I ever visit Port Fairy again Oscar Boutique Hotel is the only place I’ll choose to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in a riverfront room and really enjoyed the view from our very well appointed room. Bathroom is small but works well. Beds are delightful. The owner greats clients indvidually and provides a wonderful overview and orientation to the facilities. Luxury is not an overstatement and we could definitely have settled in for a few relaxing days here if we had more time. The riverfront boardwalk can be accessed from the back door for a pleasant stroll or more energetic walk to the beach on the other side of the river. Port Fairy is one of our favourite locations and Oscars is now one of our favourite places to stay. Breakfast is cooked to your requirments in the lovely dining room overlooking the river and was delicious. One small suggestion would be to invest in and espresso coffee machine to reflect the overall quality of the place.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more to look over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Couldnt resist leaving a review after how amazing our stay at this hotel was, especially after going by TA reviews! Such a beautiful location- pay extra for the riverside room to maximise it, the views are amazing. We stayed as a couple in September and while it was expensive, I believe we couldnt have found better accommodation. The room was large, airy, and completely spotless. Love the attention to detail with Molton Brown cosmetics, and the huge comfy bed. Service was attentive and engaging, they even remembered our names the next day at breakfast! The big breakfast i ordered was generous and presented well using quality ingredients, the house made shortbread cookies so delectable we found ourselves sneaking some into our room for late night snacking! Having tea and cookies out on the front verandah along the river (with complimentary newspapers) as soon as we arrived was blissful and so serene. Love how there arent many rooms in this beautiful mansion - (perhaps10?) it feels exclusive and so peaceful. Everything about our stay just made me fall in love with Port Fairy. Thank you for an amazing stay!

Room Tip: Riverside room - its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel

Address: 41b Gipps Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Fairy
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious property of Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel has become a well-known weekend retreat and idyllic destination for national and international tourists alike.Located in the town of Port Fairy at the end of the Great Ocean Road, close to the 12 Apostles, Grampians and Coonawarra wine region, Oscars continues to thrive under continued ownership spanning 14 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oscars Waterfront Boutique
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Port Fairy
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel Port Fairy, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.