We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steer Clear of the Comfort inn Port Fairy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Port Fairy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Port Fairy to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Sackville Street | P.O. Box 79, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Port Fairy
Certificate of Excellence
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Steer Clear of the Comfort inn Port Fairy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I were travelling from adelaide to melbourne and decided to take the scenic route back to melbourne after being on the road for some 6 hours and time getting around 9pm we thought we better book some accommodation for the night. My wife decided to book this accommodation on line the comfort inn port fairy. We arrived and there was a sign up saying that no accommodation available . My Wife went to check to see why and was confronted with a absolutely rude individual the owner of the business, after some time my came back and said there was this very rude individual the owner but we have a room and its very cramped and no Air conditioning. With this I went to the room to check it out and it was like an oven , temperature outside that day was 40 plus all day . My wife said the owner would not be happy when I returned to say this was unsuitable. I was greeted with a very angry man (the owner ) the heat must have been getting to him. All I said was that the room was unsuitable and he called me obtuse,i shook my head a few times, I thought this guy was( Basil Faulty ) just joking about, and then he just flipped out at me telling me to get the off his property in no uncertain terms. This is a review that you have upset someone that is in an industry that could support this businesses, but this has been well and truly been put a line through. absolutely terrible response from this operator .

Room Tip: make sure you know what type of room you are getting before booking .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquilaDuck, Manager at Comfort Inn Port Fairy, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Freddy _Tas
You & your wife did arrive around 9.15, there was a sign on reception saying reception was closed. We do take after hours bookings & this is why there is a buzzer at reception. After you checked in you did come back to reception saying the room was unsuitable & what we were going to do about it. We did explain that it does state on the website you booked through the room does have shared ammenities & is suitable for back packers. You were shaking your head, arms crossed, demanding an upgrade & what we were going to do about it. We did explain that our Guest House rooms were the only ones we had left as we were full in our Motel. Your response was "not good enough" we did ask you to leave as you were not happy with what you booked & your wife also said to you "let's go you're making things worse"

Regards
Kim & James
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    91
    34
    7
    10
See reviews for
32
137
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We booked a night in at this hotel for an overnight stop to tackle the Great Ocean road drive - we were pleasantly surprised to be offered the Pelican cottage with reserved parking outside.

Room was large with a small kitchen, large bathroom and a twin bedroom so very functional for a family of 4 but as only 2 of us, the twin room provided a luggage/dressing room.

Friendly & courteous staff, with a shirt walk into town made this a great experience.

Room Tip: Pelican cottage next to reception with own parking bay & outside table & chairs - very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here between Christmas and new year and spent $150 on tiny room with no en suite the cleanliness was poor, we had a dirty towel hanging from the door when we arrived and a dirt sock under the bed.

For a room in this price range I'd have to say it is one of the worst I've stayed in.

I thought port fairy a itself was lovely though - I'd recommend going just stay somewhere different.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquilaDuck, Manager at Comfort Inn Port Fairy, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Kingofstroud

Thankyou for your feedback.
The room you booked through the website is in our Guesthouse. It clearly states these rooms do have shared bathroom & common room. Comfort Inn rooms are 4 star, more spacious with their own ensuite & tea, coffee making facilities. I do apologize for the towel & sock being left in the room, I do wish you would have come to us about those as it is not something that usually happens

Kind Regards
Kim & James
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We recently spent a night staying in 'Matilda Cottage' which is one of the off-site cottages available through the Comfort Inn. The location is perfect, walking distance to practically everywhere. The cottage has three decent sized bedrooms, all of which are simply but tastefully decorated. There is a comfortable lounge, a fully equipped kitchen with breakfast bar, a recently renovated bathroom, a laundry room and a pleasant courtyard out the back door. Port Fairy is a delightful place and I'd recommend 'Matilda Cottage' as a great base to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Room has thin walls. I was able to hear adjacent room's talks and TV. It was very annoying. It is not meant for a light sleeper. A/C or heating did not work in the room either. It is pricey for hardly any facilities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Four of us stayed here for the new year weekend. Cosy little rooms (very little) but very overpriced. Rooms were $160 each, just big enough to fit the bed in to and not really anything else.

Good location in a lovely little town. If I go back to the town I would certainly look for something more upmarket, this was a last minute thing and did the trick.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We paid $140 for a 3 x 4m non heated or air conditioned room with limited TV coverage. There were no coffee/tea facilities in room as it was too small. To top it all off, we shared with approximately 10 other rooms, one toilet and one shower! This was in prime season; however claustrophobic. Never again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquilaDuck, Manager at Comfort Inn Port Fairy, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear kezzroo
Thankyou for your feedback. When you booked through the website it clearly states that the room you booked was suitable for backpackers & does have shared facilities eg: (bathroom & common room) These rooms are in the Guest House part of our property. We do have 4 Star spacious rooms with ensuites, also tea & coffee making facilities in our Comfort Inn all located on our property.

Regards
Kim & James
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Fairy
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#2 of 10 in Port Fairy
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn
Ashmont Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Port Fairy
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Quality Suites Deep Blue
Quality Suites Deep Blue
#13 of 29 in Warrnambool
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Fairy Motor Inn
Port Fairy Motor Inn
#10 of 10 in Port Fairy
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Motel
Central Motel
#5 of 10 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Port Fairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Port Fairy

Address: 22 Sackville Street | P.O. Box 79, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Port Fairy 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Select from a range of accommodation options at Comfort Inn Port Fairy and at Seacombe House, circa 1847, in Port Fairy, arguably one of Victoria's most historic and beautiful towns. All situated at the ocean end of the main street in a quiet garden setting, only minutes to the shops, boutiques, cafes and restaurants, five minutes walk to the historic wharf and Moyne River, and ten minutes walk to the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Port Fairy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Port Fairy Hotel Port Fairy
Port Fairy Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Port Fairy Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Port Fairy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.