We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Bryn for your warm and welcoming service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashmont Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ashmont Motor Inn to your Saves list
Ashmont Motor Inn
47 Bank Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Port Fairy
sydney
2 reviews
“Thanks Bryn for your warm and welcoming service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

My partner Mike and I stayed here for 2 days and we were treated as VIPs. Bryn has a dry sense of humour and his lovely partner is also enchanting. Not only did Bryn suggest places for us to eat. he gave us a complimentary card on two nights running for a free entree. Our room was spotless and we had Foxtel. The bed was extremely comfortable. When we wanted to head up to the Grampians Bryn strongly advised us against this due to the inclement weather and we were grateful for this. Lastly he kindly booked us in for a show at Ballarat. We did not ask him to any of this he just did it out of the goodness of his heart.
When there was a mixup in a financial transactions(due to power failure) Bryn took the time to call us at our home to let us know that he had fixed the problem.
thanks Bryn for a memorable stay in Port Fairy.
Nikki Cooper

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
39
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011 via mobile

The room was clean, comfortable and featured a very nice, big LCD TV. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful with advice regarding places to eat and locations of interest nearby. I stay in countless hotels and motels throughout the year and this is one of the good ones. In fact I suggested to the manager that he needs to conduct a training course for motels on how they can modernise their rooms. Water pressure in the shower, along with rattling fridges are my pet hates but I am pleased to report that i never heard the fridge and the shower pressure was fantastic - no water saving shower heads here thankfully. I believe that the owner/manager has only recently purchased the motel and conducted the update. For this reason you can ignore any old posts. As for Alana-Jane's I am concerned that she is reviewing the wrong hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

This place is just horrid. It looks perfect on the website, but I tell you it's FAR from that. On walking into the reception we were rudely brushed off by their arrogant manager, who had his mind set elsewhere. It was unfortunate, because it certainly ruined things for us.

On walking into our loft, we discovered stains of what looks like urine on the wall, as well as white patches of god knows what plastered all over the carpet. Oh but just you wait, it gets better. The mirror is slightly rusted and the table and bench were stained with coffee marks. When someone I was staying with went to make a coffee, she was appalled to find the cupboards were all sticky and coated in some sort of liquid.

After spending one night here, we left for a few hours to go for a walk on the beach, and came back to the 'supposedly' cleaned room. Clean? Of course not. The beds were completely lumpy and looked better BEFORE we had room service come clean them for us. When telling the grumpy manager at reception about this, he decided sarcasm would be a perfect way to handle it. Wrong, my friend, dead wrong.

He then sent out someone to come check our room, and the woman was 'shocked'. Shocked? Really? After one of us saw you 'sweeping' and then leaving clumps of dirt and leaves everywhere? How is it possible you can be shocked after YOU'RE one of the people ruining this place.

Late at night whilst staying this, however, one of us found a white tail spider crawling up his arm. How could you want to stay in a place infested with bugs, covered in stains and smelling of sweat and urine?

We then decided to move into the place across the road, "The Victoria Hotel", which we found to be absolutely brilliant. I do NOT recommend the Ashmont to anybody, and am glad to be out of there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerville victotria Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

My husband and I had a great stay at this motel. We were greeted by Sue when checking in, who made us feel very welcome. We hadn't been to Port Fairy before and didn't know what to do, Sue was very helpful in suggesting what we could do and see. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Our breakfast was yummy, it arrived at the time we chose and it was hot and well presented. Our breakfast arrived with a warm friendly greeting from Sue. I would definitely recommend this motel. It was very clean and the service was great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

The Ashmont it "ok" just "OK"
We booked and paid $185.00 for one night, when we got there we felt quite ripped off. Yes the place is clean, it's just 'ok' - it's not luxury, it's nothing special, the bed is really hard!
We did not get value for money, but it is clean, the decore is fine, it's just way overpriced for what you think you are getting. There is no view of anything except an old building next door.
I would say this room should be sold at $140 a night at the most

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

I stayed in what appeared to be the nicest of the Inn's rooms. The decor was lacking, but the bed was surprisingly comfortable. The owners seemed to find guests a bit of a nuisance and were less than accomodating. Nevertheless, the experience was better than I had expected given previous reviews.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

We stayed in the new 2 bedroom apartment out the back of the motel. Its comfortable enough with 2 bedrooms and a lounge area at the back. Comfortable facilities, a good kitchen and a decent living area.

Two minor complaints that it wasn't as clean as it could have been with the kitchen in the living area with some marks but generally pretty good, also we had specifically requested 2 king beds and we got 1 king bed and 2 singles but as we were only staying 1 night we didn't really bother with it. Good location only 2 mins walk to town. Overall fine, nothing special

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashmont Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmont Motor Inn

Address: 47 Bank Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ashmont Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Fairy
Port Fairy Best Western
Ashmont Motor Inn Port Fairy, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashmont Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.