We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained but slightly dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashmont Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ashmont Motor Inn to your Saves list
Ashmont Motor Inn
47 Bank Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Port Fairy
Tumbi Umbi, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well maintained but slightly dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

In this expensive part of the world, this motel offered good value. Our room and bathroom was very clean although the decor was a little dated.
The welcome was warm although we had arrived just after a big weekend (c&w music festival). We would certainly be happy to come back one day.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
39
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Average budget motel. Unexciting but clean fairly comfortable rooms and quite adequate for overnight stop

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Four of us secured a deal at the Ashmont Motor Inn as walk-ins while en route from Adelaide to Ballarat via the Great Ocean Road. It was the first place we passed on getting into town and after a quick look around Port Fairy we went back to see what rooms / rates were available. A lovely lady greeted us (not sure of her name but think it may have been Margaret? ) and said that she didn't have standard rooms left but she had some executive loft-style rooms which we could have for $150per room plus a bottle of wine, we haggled for a bottle per room and the deal was done. We must have chatted for 15 or 20 minutes before we were directed towards to the back of site where the rooms were and she was most concerned that there were leaves in front of the buildings and said she'd get them swept up.

The rooms are like split level apartments, you walk straight into the main living area which has soft seats etc.. the kitchen is in front of you and it looked as though it was well equipped but we didn't do any catering so can't comment. The bathroom was clean and functional with a large shower cubicle with a double headed shower and some toiletries. Upstairs there was a king size bed (with a fake fur throw which I needed as it was a bit chilly when we stayed ) and a wide screen TV plus there was free wifi. There is a balcony leading from bedroom. Overall I thought it was a good deal for the price we paid.

The lovely lady on reception had mentioned during our intial chat that The Victoria Hotel was a good place to eat, so tried it out and she was right, lovely food.

Room Tip: see if you can get deal on the executive rooms, nice little balcony on which to drink your wine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011 via mobile

A bit old smelling. Very clean. Need a non stick frypan! Couldn't start stove! No matches supplied. Otherwise a very good place, lovely Thia restaurant very close. Heaps of room to move.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed here for several nights and found the accommodation to be reasonable. We stayed in an executive room, which is just a typical motel room - one large room with kitchenette (nice touch for people who want to prepare light meals on longer stays) and separate toilet/ bathroom. Walls are a bit thin and shower water pressure is limited. However, there is free wireless access and the rooms are cleaned daily. Reception and cleaning staff are very friendly.

For those people who are after a more luxurious apartment, there are several newer larger units at the rear of the property.

Our room did not have a view of the river or the beach, which were about a 10 minute walk away. However, it was conveniently located on one of the main streets with restaurants nearby. There is a small outside BBQ area with a table and chairs. However, the BBQ was out of order during our stay.

Room Tip: Cars are parked just outside the rooms, but there are two levels. So, if you want to be a bit furth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Yes, I would agree with a previous comment that the hotel tariff is over-priced, but so are all the motels in Pt Fairy and along the Gt Ocean Road in comparison with other centres. Nevertheless, this hotel was very comfortable, and our room was beautifully furnished and the bedding was fresh and clean. The managers were friendly and hospitable and it was a pleasure staying for the one night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I stayed there with my husband last week during our trip along the Great Ocean Road. We booked about 1 month in advance. The pictures shown on the internet was okay and the rates quoted to us was AUD155 per nite. More than the rates we are paying for other hotels in Apollo Bay, Grampians and even Melbourne itself. And we thought the condition will come together with the price.

But I was upset to find out that other hotels that we were staying during our road trip are much... way better than this one. The rooms is not that clean. Lots of died bugs behind the curtain and one bug (size of a roach) crawled out from the bed. The carpet looked dirty that I had to wear slippers all the time inside the room.

The room is small for the rates that we were paying. The atmosphere inside is dark because of the old but colorful linen, quite an old fashioned room setup.

Overall, the rate is definitely not worth paying. Not recommended for any purpose. Too expensive for a mediocre room setup.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashmont Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmont Motor Inn

Address: 47 Bank Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ashmont Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Fairy
Port Fairy Best Western
Ashmont Motor Inn Port Fairy, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashmont Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.