We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food...Good service...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hub@Port Fairy

The Hub@Port Fairy
15 Bank Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
614+0355682326
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 31 Restaurants in Port Fairy
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: This great corner location is "the Hub of Port Fairy" offering breakfast from 7am till 11.30am, then lunch from 11.30am through to 4pm. Wealso have great cakes, slices, fruit smoothies coffee and a variety of teas to choose. We offer Wi-Fi access....just come in say Hello...grab a coffee ...sit all day by the fire.....enjoy!!!!!!!
Portland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food...Good service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We arrived in Port Fairy for a pre Mother's Day lunch....expecting to go to at least 2 other restaurants...however their advertised times on the web were wrong...there were signs and chairs in the streets...but the doors were locked at these other places...so we settled for the Hub...cafe style...But the food was better than the average cafe
Staff were friendly and helpful...wife enjoyed the lamb shank, the kids loved the fish and chips and chicken and chips and I took a risk i hadn;t taken for some time and had the Barramundi....(some years ago had a delicious Barra..then have been disappointed since) The risk was worth it...it tasted sweet and most of it melted in the mouth...will be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ferntree Gully, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Yummy Soup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were after a late lunch, and decided soup would be nice, we weren't disappointed, we received a large bowl of piping hot pumpkin soup with a thick slice of sour dough toast, perfect.
The service was outstanding, and every staff member greeted us warmly.
Thanks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The staff here are amazing. We ate lunch here twice and had breakfast once as well. The food and dining is casual and the atmosphere is laid back. The calamari (their speciality) is yum. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they are professional and friendly in every way. I would highly recommend this place and if we are ever in port fairy again we would definitely eat here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went for breakfast and was impressed . Great food, lovely genuine staff.
Would definitely recommend. Lovely relaxed atmosphere to the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not much effort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The location of this cafe is good and the reception friendly. The menu was tempting, especially with the seafood specials. The spring rolls were great. Very tasty. Although we did not get a plate or cutlery to eat them. The seafood platter was reasonable but nothing special. The Port fairy bugs atop roquette was just that - bugs cut in half and placed on top of roquette (with some pieces of sweet potato and peanuts). The bugs were cold, as if they just came out of the fridge. There was no dressing, although i was given some when the waitress asked how things were going.
A little more effort into the meals would make this cafe a more appealing experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hub@Port Fairy also viewed

Port Fairy, Victoria
Port Fairy, Victoria
 
Port Fairy, Victoria
 

Been to The Hub@Port Fairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hub@Port Fairy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.