We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hub. A regular breakfast stop.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hub@Port Fairy

The Hub@Port Fairy
15 Bank Street, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
614+0355682326
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 31 Restaurants in Port Fairy
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: This great corner location is "the Hub of Port Fairy" offering breakfast from 7am till 11.30am, then lunch from 11.30am through to 4pm. Wealso have great cakes, slices, fruit smoothies coffee and a variety of teas to choose. We offer Wi-Fi access....just come in say Hello...grab a coffee ...sit all day by the fire.....enjoy!!!!!!!
Melbourne,Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Hub. A regular breakfast stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We travel to Port Fairy for a week or two each year with around seven or eight. the Hub has become a bit of a tradition with its pancakes or eggs on toast. Usually very well prepared, fresh and tasty. Add a latte' or one of a great selection of teas and breakfast is complete.
Prices are reasonable for the town and service has always been excellent.
Well worth dropping in.,

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Possibly the worst breakfast and service - save your money!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A bare step up from a home kitchen. We were laughing at the fact it was even classified as a "restaurant". It felt like they had enlisted any able body (regardless of the fact they had no waiting experience) to work on this Australia Day long weekend. The service was appalling. We were the 2nd people in this place and waited 10 mins for a coffee order at our table and another 15 mins to place a breakfast order and god knows how much longer it would have taken if we hadn't flagged a "waiter" to our table.

The coffee was scalding hot milk with nary a taste or whiff of coffee. The poached eggs were just under hard boiled. The toast soggy. And something that was misrepresented as as a garnish but was actually a snapped piece of something green.

Wish we had gone to the Tea Rooms instead!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice spicy Lamb burger. Wasnt too oily . Just the right amount of chips. It was nice sitting outside overlooking the main street. A good sekection of cakes.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a great little spot for coffee and a bite. The place was packed over Xmas break but staff always friendly and service was fast. Hope the staff get a well deserved break once Holiday season is over- they deserved it

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Last resort on a rainy day!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Lovely staff and lively atmosphere but the coffee and food need dramatic improvement.
I was devastated watching them make coffee. One person was poring the coffee from the espresso machine and the other was poring lines of cups with this massive milk jug that was frothed God knows how long ago. The froth had separated from the liquid and you could see the staff member needing to scoop a dollop of soapy bubbles at the end of a pour. This left under a centimetre of froth....yuck!! The poor staff member prior to taking them to the tables had to clean up every cup from the spill that was caused due to the lack of silky froth on the top as these resembled more dish water with a dollop of bubbles. Mind you we were extremely entertained and could not believe our eyes.
The breakfast was ok but nothing to write home about.
The staff were very friendly and unaware of the lack of quality they were serving up.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hub@Port Fairy also viewed

Port Fairy, Victoria
Port Fairy, Victoria
 
Port Fairy, Victoria
 

Been to The Hub@Port Fairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hub@Port Fairy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.