We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast in Port Fairy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clonmara Tea Rooms

Clonmara Tea Rooms
106 Princes Highway, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
+61 3 5568 2595
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Port Fairy
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: English, Irish, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: A little bit of Britain located at the end of the Great Ocean Road, Port Fairy.Specialising in true British fare, 40 varieties of loose leaf tea, quality coffee and a variety of wines and beers including British Beers.Regular meals include Ploughmans lunchs, Kippers from Aberdeen, black puddings, Traditional Scottish snd English Breakfasts, Welsh Rarebit, home made pies, Spotted Dick and superb internationally famous scones with pure cream, hand made jam, baked daily.
Point Cook, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Port Fairy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Food in Scottish and English fare. Lovely and great value. We had the Highlander Breakfast and the Scones. Well worth a trip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review.
We very much appreciate the comments we receive as it helps us to build the business and improve it.
We are very thrilled that you enjoyed the experience and awarded us such a high recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    12
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san jose
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum, tea and scones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We made the time to stop by here for breakfast. We are so glad that we did. Simply delicious food and great choices. The service was very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Fantastic!
What a review!
Your comments are very valuable to us as it indicates that what we are doing is 'right'.
We will hopefully continue to improve and keep changing the menu to ensure that we continue to offer food with a little originality that is tasty.
Scones will always be there!
Again, many thanks for taking the time to review us and we very much hope you will call again, when in Port Fairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great courtyard, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The courtyard is delightful. Known for its scones and ploughmans lunch offerings. The owners are also very friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We also hope that you will return to enjoy our food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Visited Clonmara for lunch with a friend and we ordered the plain scones, butter chicken pie, coffee and mocha. The portions were good and the butter chicken pie was delicious. Coffee and mocha was a bit disappointing.
Beautiful outdoor seating area but the flies got fairly annoying after a while.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are obviously very pleased that you enjoyed your visit however are concerned that you were not able to rate our coffee as successful. We take great care to ensure that our Italian coffee is enjoyed and should be a highlight of the visit.
In your case, this was not achieved and for that we apologise.
Christmas time can be very hectic however that us still no excuse and hope you may allow us to rectify the situation.
Again, many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emu Plains, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gluten free & friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Although I haven't visited Clonmara, it has been given rave reviews in the Dec 2013 Australian Coeliac magazine including Chicken Pie, homemade Sausage Rolls and Chocolate Cake..... I can't wait to return to Port Fairy and dine there.f

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Tea Rooms, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are thrilled!
Yes, we do offer a choice of Gluten free products, both in our tea rooms and our accommodation.
Being a close personal business, we are able to listen to our customers and have worked on developing our own products, especially in this area, to ensure gluten free diners are not neglected.
We very much hope that we may have a visit from you, one day, so that you may experience our dining, personally.
Again, thank you so much for your very supportive comments. The more the merrier!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clonmara Tea Rooms also viewed

Port Fairy, Victoria
Port Fairy, Victoria
 
Port Fairy, Victoria
 

Been to Clonmara Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clonmara Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.