We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marilyn Scott” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park to your Saves list
BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   115 Princess Highway, Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mini-Golf & Wifi!
Certificate of Excellence
Watervale, Australia
1 review
“Marilyn Scott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

What a wonderful park Would recommend to all travelling the Ocean Road to have a stop over here The Staff were most helpful and informative about their town. We stayed in a two bedroom cabin . The park was very tidy with green lawns and great facilities for families.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4PortFairy, Manager at BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Marylin Scott.

Thank you very much for all your lovely comments. It is great to hear you had a nice experience, and an enjoyable stay. Our maintenance staff are very particular when it comes to keeping the park tidy for our guests, and although we have not enjoyed the rain we have had lately, it has certainly done wonders for the colour of the grass. We are pleased you found the staff helpful, and that BIG4 Port Fairy is a place you wish to recommend to your friends. We hope to see both you and your friends again in the park soon.
Good luck with the rest of your travels!

Kind regards,
Lil
BIG4 Port Fairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    59
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
114
65
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on Oct 24th in a 2 person on site cabin had all required facilities and presented very well indeed, the staff at check in were only too happy to point out places in Port Fairy to eat that evening, the park was very quiet as well ensuring we had a very good nights sleep and that added to the enjoyment of the park also

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4PortFairy, Manager at BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Jlmewburn.

Thank you very much for reviewing our park. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, even though it was a short one. We are spoilt with a great selections of restaurant here in Port Fairy, and so it is our pleasure to share our recomendations with our guests. We hope to see you again at the park soon, and hopefully it will be another enjoyable experience for you.
Kind regards,
Lil
BIG4 Port Fairy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just excellent. Clean, tidy, great showers, great facilities, lovely indoor pool, kids entertained, not too noisy, lawn in excellent condition, great atmosphere. Whoever is running this park has their stuff together!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4PortFairy, Reception at BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Alex R,
Thanks very much for staying at our park, it's great to hear such wonderful comments.
We are very happy to hear the kids enjoyed themselves & our standards met you expectations.
Hope you can stay again soon in the near future.
All the best in your travels.

Kirsty
Big4 Port Fairy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe Valley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The service I received from Jenny on check in was wonderful. Extremely friendly & very accommodating. We stayed in a cabin van for 2 nights. Comfy bed, it had everything we needed. They also have pancakes cooked in the camp kitchen each Sunday, which were fantastic. Would defiantly recommend this park for anyone travelling this area Park is extremely well kept & very clean.

Room Tip: Beds very comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4PortFairy, Manager at BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Trish S.

Thank you very much for reviewing our park, and for all your positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the staff helpful. I will pass on your comments to Jenni, she will be happy to hear them. Thank you for recomending the park to your friends, it is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon, and if you are here on a Sunday, there will be many more yummy pancakes to look forward to!
Happy travels.

Kind regards,
Lil
BIG4 Port Fairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our family of five stayed at the Big 4 in Port Fairy during the September school holidays. The town and the park were quiet because the weather was awful. We paid $245 a night for a two bedroom cabin that contained everything we needed, including bunk beds for the kids, pay TV and a kitchen with a full size fridge, cooktop and microwave. Luckily, the heating was also very good.
The kids LOVED the huge inflatable jumping pillow outside our cabin's front door, and of course the heated pool, which is the main reason we chose the Big 4.
We could accept the high price tag on our cabin, considering it was the school holidays and for some reason Port Fairy thinks it can charge high prices for many things and Melbourne people will pay it. Perhaps they will. What was hard to accept was paying extra for the little things, like mini golf and the hire of little three wheeler bikes for the kids to ride around the caravan park. At $245 a night, I would really like to see these things as a special little extra for the guests, not another reason to pull out the wallet. Next time, if there is a next time, we would try to get a cabin for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4PortFairy, Manager at BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear CaramutJane.
Thank you very much for staying, and for reviewing our park. We are pleased you enjoyed your cabin, and our facilities. It is also great to hear the kids had fun at the jumping pillow, and in our heated pool. We have a strong focus on making the park family friendly, and we aim to have something for all age groups to enjoy. As you mention, the prices during school holidays are higher than in our off-peak period, and if you travel outside of these periods you can get large cabins for a much cheaper price. The cost on the extra's, such as the mini golf and go-karts, are put in place for us to have more control over these facilities, to ensure they maintain a good standard. We often offer package deals that include mini golf hire & go-karts, however, these deals are usually on 2 or 3 night stays (or longer). At the moment we are in the progress of planning a brand new kids room to be built next year, which will have lots of fun activities and equipment for the kids to enjoy. This will all be free of charge to our guests.
I hope your overall experience with the park was enough to make you wish to revisit us in the future, as we would love to have you stay again.

Kind regards,
Lil
BIG4 Port Fairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We recently stayed here as a group of two families in our own vans. I found the facilities adequate with put put golf, jumping pillow, games room and heated indoor pool the kids where never bored.

The camp kitchen is excellent with nice clean bbq's and very large seating, microwave, communal fridge (handy thing if you are staying in a tent) a full sized cooker plus washing up facilities and even a television.

The thing that will stay in my mind about the park is very friendly staff and also the cleanliness of the toilet blocks.

Couldn't fault the place and strongly recommend to fellow travellers, I will return one day.

Darren
South Australia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4PortFairy, Manager at BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hi Darren.
Thank you very much for staying, and for taking the time to review our park. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the park and our facilities. It is lovely to hear you were happy with the service from the staff, and that we were able to make your stay a good one. I will pass on your comment about the cleanliness to the housekeepers. They will be delighted!

Thanks again Darren. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Lil
BIG4 Port Fairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Big 4 generally good - but our stay in an immaculate well equipped cabin really was really great. The service and facilities were all any one could ask for, we stayed with our children and grandchildren in there van alongside which made a lovely family break .
Camp Kitchen room was terrific and the free pancake Sunday morning and the free card making were just great and as grandparents we now have 2 wonderful handmade cards which give further nice memories of our family and our stay.
My wife is recovering from a broken ankle and all I can say is the service and concern given especially by Jennie was WOW. I will not mention the Lindt Choc as everyone might expect them ( hee hee )
Want a great stay in Port Fairy - then pop in here !

Room Tip: My guess is there is no bad ones !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4PortFairy, Manager at BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Travelman250.

Thank you very much for reviewing our park, and for all your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear you had such a great experience from your first visit at the park. Hopefully we can top that next time you come to stay! And perhaps there will be some more Lindt chocolates to look forward too :-) Glad to hear your grandchildren had fun at kids club, and that you had time to taste our delicious pancake breakfast as well. I will pass on you “WOW” comment to Jenni, she will appreciate that.
We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Kind regards,
Lil
BIG4 Port Fairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Fairy
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#2 of 10 in Port Fairy
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#3 of 10 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
13.2 mi away
Quality Suites Deep Blue
Quality Suites Deep Blue
#13 of 29 in Warrnambool
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belfast Cove Holiday Park
Belfast Cove Holiday Park
#2 of 10 in Port Fairy
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
18.3 mi away
BIG4 Hopkins River Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Clonmara Cottages
Clonmara Cottages
#2 of 13 in Port Fairy
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park

Address: 115 Princess Highway, Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Fairy BIG4 Holiday Park. We cater for groups, families, couples and singles looking for that break away. We have a range of accommodation from standard to luxury cabins catering for all budgets. For the caravan and camper we have powered, grassy sites nestled among beautiful trees. Port Fairy BIG4 Holiday Park is situated within easy walking distance of the historic seaside village and wharf of Port Fairy, on Victoria's Shipwreck Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.