We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park to your Saves list
BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park
115 Princess Highway, Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Echuca, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We haven't stayed there yet but the help provided by staff to secure a late booking for the busiest weekend of the year was magnificent. Many thanks! If the rest of the visit is up to this standard, we shall be more than happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4PortFairy, Manager at BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Christine C.
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service from the staff, and I am so sorry about the delay in responding! I am very happy to hear we have been able to give you a good experience already before you stay. We will certainly do our best to live up to your expectations :) And lucky you for getting a site on the busiest weekend off the year!!
We look forward to seeing you Christine.

Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Lil
BIG4 Port Fairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    48
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
97
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cranbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I unfortunately only had one night here and it was raining, but the room I had was very modern and the staff were very friendly. On arrival I was given milk, cookies and chocolates and when I checked out I was given some lollies for the trip ahead. It is a nice touch as customer service was top notch as nothing bothered them to help you. It is a nice spot and definitely recommend Big 4 Port Fairy,

Room Tip: If you are looking to be spoilt in a "caravan park" I suggest the Shearwater rooms. Very m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4PortFairy, Manager at BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Julie N.

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our park. We are pleased you enjoyed the Shearwater studio, and the service from the staff.
It is a shame the weather was not very good while you were here, but hopefully the sun will be shining on your next visit :-)
Good to hear the lollies were appreciated too. Hopefully they made the drive home just a little bit better. Thanks again for all your lovely comments.

We hope to see you again soon.


Kind regards,
Lil, BIG4 Port Fairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Family friendly, great for large groups! Operators are very generous, nothing is a bother, kids loved the Sunday morning free pancakes. We went out to show our children the local attractions, all they wanted to do was, return to the Big 4 and do some of the many activities there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4PortFairy, Manager at BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Jamie F.

Thank you reviewing our park, and for all your lovely comments! We are pleased to hear you had a good stay, and that you were happy with the staff, and service. It is important to us our park is a place the whole family can enjoy, and we are very happy to hear the kids were excited to return to the park!

Thanks again very much Jamie. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Kind regards,
Lil, BIG4 Port Fairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A very clean and tidy park, well managed and maintained, even lent me some tools to do some repairs on the van which was appreciated.

Kids had a ball with all the facilities with plenty to do. On all this we would come back without hesitation, however we are having second thoughts due only to one thing that is out of the owners control and that is the loud cockatoos, if only the local shire would do something, they are very loud and start screeching very early in the morning waking up the kids. I would think that other parks in the area have the same issue so don't avoid this park because of the birds.

Thanks for the stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in our own caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4PortFairy, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your response, glad we could help with your maintenance problem . Yes the Corellas are a problem , but as you can understand because they are a protected species our hands are tied with what we can do to deter the corellas from making home in our trees , we have tried a few deterents but they are very determined to stay , along with most of the other parks during the warmer months have this same problem . We are continually trying to find ways as to overcome this. Any ideas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley, null, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was one of our favourite places. Modern and clean. Beautiful area pity we only had one night there. I would recommnd this place to others who want helpful friendly people to serve them. Although on a main road we did not find the noise distracting

Room Tip: Check room before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4PortFairy, Manager at BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Big4 Port Fairy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lovely campsite but a bit noisy close to the main road. Camp kitchen was great. Facilities are very clean! Loved the wood fire in the camp kitchen every night! Kids loved the jumping pillow and also the 5 pm movie nights, we loved the enetretainment too, a great getaway! Beautiful area!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4PortFairy, Public Relations Manager at BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Tasmanian300,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our park. It is reassuring to here that our high standards are being maintained. We have to agree that the fire within the camp kitchen is perfect for those chilly nights. There is something special about sitting around the fire talking late at night and it is one of those memories that the children will have for years to come. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Jess on behalf of BIG4 Port Fairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The facilities were modern and clean. The camp kitchen was very well set up with everything you would need. The kids had a great time on the jumping pillow, in the playground and at the kids club. The location was in walking distance to the town. The town is beautiful, with a river for fishing and a fabulous beach.
Will definitely be back.
One point to note. There are lots of cockatoos in the trees at the Campsite. They are beautiful to see but they are very loud particularly at sunrise and sunset. (impossible to sleep through). Still a great campsite.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4PortFairy, Public Relations Manager at BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Campbunny.

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our park. We are pleased to hear that you found our facilities to be of the highest standard and contained everything you needed. We believe that it is important that the children have access to a range of facilities to keep them entertained because usually if the kids are happy the parents are happy! We do apologies for the birds in the trees, we have tried numerous times throughout the year to reduce their appearance. Hopefully later in the year when we remove some trees, the number of birds will reduce. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Jess on behalf of BIG4 Port Fairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park

Address: 115 Princess Highway, Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Fairy BIG4 Holiday Park. We cater for groups, families, couples and singles looking for that break away. We have a range of accommodation from standard to luxury cabins catering for all budgets. For the caravan and camper we have powered, grassy sites nestled among beautiful trees. Port Fairy BIG4 Holiday Park is situated within easy walking distance of the historic seaside village and wharf of Port Fairy, on Victoria's Shipwreck Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Port Fairy Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.