We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coach House at The Pheasant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Coach House at The Pheasant to your Saves list
The Coach House at The Pheasant
Audley End, Gestingthorpe CO9 3AU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here with friends for my husband's birthday and found the rooms luxurious clean and comfortable with fantastic views of the surrounding countryside . The food was excellent all locally sourced and home produced including fresh eggs from their hens with vegetables and fruit from their own market garden . The hospitality was superb and I would highly reccomond it for a peaceful stay in a lovely location.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but if you enjoy a bath the Capt Oates jacuzzi bath is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    46
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
21
240
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Constable Room. The room overlooked countryside as far as the eye could see, peaceful and tranquil. Each evening we enjoyed the "taster menu" not sure what to expect we were very pleasantly surprised - presentation, portions, taste, excellent, using all local produce. We were very satisfied indeed. Overall we had an excellent stay with wonderful food, clean and very comfy room, wonderful views, peaceful location, extremely friendly staff. Diana and James were very good hosts and seem to have got the balance just right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Having been here last year and were so smitten by the Pheasant just had to return. On that occasion we were in the Constable Room.
On our return visit we enjoyed a cool glass of bubbly and cream tea after which we were shown to our room
On this occasion we stayed in the Courtauld Room overlooking the countryside with nothing between us and the horizon but rolling fields and trees
Comfort was the watchword clean warm and welcoming.
Everything about the Pheasant is about your comfort and great food. On this occasion we had the Five course Tasting Menu, and was satisfied in the extreme, taste, style, portions, variety, everything one would expect from the care and attention shown by all the staff.
Had the yellowest yoked eggs at breakfast and seriously tasty banger, so much is home made and from local suppliers, the eggs are their own, chickens are living on other side of road
Will be back again without fail.
That is the highest recommendation anyone can give to revisit and look forward to it.

Room Tip: Make time to visit the church and village green, Tudor Rose we're performing there the evening w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night for my wife's birthday and everything was perfect. When we arrived, we were given a glass of prosecco, then were taken to our room. We stayed in the Thomas Gainsborough room. A large room with outside space. A really lovely room. It was a busy restaurant, but nicely spaced tables. My wife said that the food was the best she'd had in a while, and I couldn't disagree. Overall an excellent stay, with gorgeous food, a lovely room, extremely friendly and helpful staff, in a peaceful location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived on Friday which was cold and raining so it was so nice to walk into the Pheasant and sit infront of the wood burners with our complementary glass of prosecco before we went to our room. Accommodation was excellent, spacious, clean and very pleasant and the bed was soooo comfy.
Luckily the next morning brought completely different weather so we could walk out of our bedroom and were confronted with a beautiful view across the countryside and we were able to explore some of the surrounding Countryside on our bikes, including Belchamp Hall which featured in the Lovejoy TV series.

We would highly recommend The pheasant; the food was excellent and James and Diana are engaging hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We arrived just after lunch. Was giving a glass of wine on arrival and the shown to our room. Our room was spacious, clean and we loved the decor. We ate at the pub and the food was beautiful. Staff are very friendly and I would definitely recommend if you want a quite relaxing break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelmsfordUK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Really nice room - very big (Gainsborough), complete with dressing room and modern bathroom. Stylish & comfortable. Dianne is very friendly and helpfull. Calm & unflappable. Restauarnt meal was very nice with a good selection of wine by the glass. We will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gestingthorpe
4.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
14.9 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
5.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
9.6 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
10.9 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House at The Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House at The Pheasant

Address: Audley End, Gestingthorpe CO9 3AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Gestingthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gestingthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Best AA Pub for England 2014/15 and Pub of the Year for Alistair Sawdays 2014/15 The Coach House at the Pheasant 5 Star Inn AA rated, offering luxury accommodation on the Essex/Suffolk border. Our charming country pub has an excellent reputation for its fresh, seasonal menu and relaxed atmosphere. Entry into the Good Food Guide and Michelin Guide 2013/2014/2105. James & Diana Donoghue the owners are hands-on every day to make sure that your stay is superb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Coach House at The Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House At The Pheasant Hotel Gestingthorpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coach House at The Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.