We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coach House at The Pheasant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Coach House at The Pheasant to your Saves list
The Coach House at The Pheasant
Audley End, Gestingthorpe CO9 3AU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We wanted a short break away from the cares of the world and this place really hit the spot.
The hosts were attentive, service was great as was the food. We hope to come back again to take advantage of the local walks when the weather is better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana D, Owner at The Coach House at The Pheasant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your night away and look forward to seeing you both again when the weather improves.

With many thanks
Diana Donoghue
The Pheasant at Gestingthorpe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    45
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
239
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

From the glass of prosecco that greeted us on arrival to the superb breakfast the following morning, we had a great stay. Well furnished room with very comfortable bed and a fantastic view over the fields to the rear. A great country pub serving very good food (you must try the smoked cheese made on the premises) and good cask beer. Very welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana D, Owner at The Coach House at The Pheasant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the smoked cheeses and the cask ales and look forward to seeing you both again.

With many thanks
Diana Donoghue
The Pheasant at Gestingthorpe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

An overnight stay in the Samuel Courtauld Room with evening meal, breakfast the next morning and a glass of prosecco on arrival. Superb all round! Lovely food, great accommodation and all done with a lot of thought.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana D, Owner at The Coach House at The Pheasant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are really pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

With many thanks
Diana Donoghue
The Pheasant at Gestingthorpe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My partner took me here for my birthday and it was absolutely amazing the food was divine and the service was homely and welcoming.
I had an amazing time talking about the food to the owner who have there farm the a stones through away, they list where they get there meets from etc. it was so good we went to the abattoir where they get there beef and we brought a beautiful bit of filet, you don’t have to do that but its the kind of place that you want know more. Its real tweed and wellington boots farmer style village absolutely great after being so londonised for so long!

We didnt stay in the hotel - just for the record

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We visited here for the first time for dinner this wkend and to be honest it was decidedly average given we spent nearly £100 for dinner for two. Upon arriving at The pheasant we were greeted in a very friendly manner, shown our table and then left for a disappointing 25 minutes or more to order food & wine. We ordered- and half way through were then told that there were infact some specials for our consideration - had we not seen- umm no- given the boards were in a different section of the restaurant (the side that seemed to command a higher level of service) No we hadn't but never mind lets start again. So we ordered again. Our starters arrived, and a simple thing such as a lemon wedge was missed from the fish dish- not a problem unless it then consequently takes almost ten minutes to get attention of staff to bring it to the table. Our mains were 'nice' but certainly not spectacular and upon ordering desert we were again left to wait again for cutlery. The sticky toffee pudding was then accompanied by a layer of baking paper- which had been half consumed by my husband before he noticed! At the end of our meal we spoke with our waitress about this and we saw she had passed it on to the lady owner who approached our table. She said she had heard we were not happy with our meal and we explained our issues and without hesitation she informed us our waitress was young and perhaps not experienced and that she appreciated our feedback. Having now read through previous reviews I gather this seems to be the standard well rehearsed response! We said our piece and to conclude I would not even be writing this review if our lady of the house had offered a simple gesture to compensate us for the small yet irritating catalogue of mistakes during our experience. We hovered in awkward silence yet it was not forthcoming so we decided to put it down to experience and write our review instead. I believe if your price point is on the higher end of the scale then your service needs to reflect the food. If any feedback is appreciated I would say this is the obvious point that needs addressing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana D, Owner at The Coach House at The Pheasant, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you were not happy when you came to visit on Saturday evening.

We always take criticism very seriously indeed and take on board your comments.

I would like to clarify that the total of your food for two people was £50.00 for 3 courses and drinks included a bottle of Sancerre at £32.00 together with pre-dinner drinks at £9.00.

I am very sorry that you felt that you overpaid for your meal but there would have been an offer made to you, if you were unhappy about the meal, which you said you were not. .

We are passionate about investing with young people coming into our industry. Often we have students training in the kitchen and front of house under supervision and on the odd occasion, mistakes happen which I can only apologise for.

I am very sorry that you were not happy with the service you received and hope that you may like to visit us once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had an overnight stay to celebrate my wifes Birthday.The Captain Oates room was fantastic, lots of space and very relaxing.The evening meal was superb in very comfortable surroundings and morning breakfast was of a high quality with superb fish from the smokie.

Would recommend this venue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a very romantic Valentine night stay at The Pheasant. The room was beautiful, huge 4 poster bed and fantastic views and the food was excellent. We would definately recommend a stay, the staff make you feel so welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gestingthorpe
4.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
14.9 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
5.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
12.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
9.6 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House at The Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House at The Pheasant

Address: Audley End, Gestingthorpe CO9 3AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Gestingthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gestingthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Best AA Pub for England 2014/15 and Pub of the Year for Alistair Sawdays 2014/15 The Coach House at the Pheasant 5 Star Inn AA rated, offering luxury accommodation on the Essex/Suffolk border. Our charming country pub has an excellent reputation for its fresh, seasonal menu and relaxed atmosphere. Entry into the Good Food Guide and Michelin Guide 2013/2014/2105. James & Diana Donoghue the owners are hands-on every day to make sure that your stay is superb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Coach House at The Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House At The Pheasant Hotel Gestingthorpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coach House at The Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.