We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub but...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Coach House at The Pheasant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Coach House at The Pheasant to your Saves list
The Coach House at The Pheasant
Church Street, Audley End, Gestingthorpe CO9 3AU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely pub but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We visited here for the first time for dinner this wkend and to be honest it was decidedly average given we spent nearly £100 for dinner for two. Upon arriving at The pheasant we were greeted in a very friendly manner, shown our table and then left for a disappointing 25 minutes or more to order food & wine. We ordered- and half way through were then told that there were infact some specials for our consideration - had we not seen- umm no- given the boards were in a different section of the restaurant (the side that seemed to command a higher level of service) No we hadn't but never mind lets start again. So we ordered again. Our starters arrived, and a simple thing such as a lemon wedge was missed from the fish dish- not a problem unless it then consequently takes almost ten minutes to get attention of staff to bring it to the table. Our mains were 'nice' but certainly not spectacular and upon ordering desert we were again left to wait again for cutlery. The sticky toffee pudding was then accompanied by a layer of baking paper- which had been half consumed by my husband before he noticed! At the end of our meal we spoke with our waitress about this and we saw she had passed it on to the lady owner who approached our table. She said she had heard we were not happy with our meal and we explained our issues and without hesitation she informed us our waitress was young and perhaps not experienced and that she appreciated our feedback. Having now read through previous reviews I gather this seems to be the standard well rehearsed response! We said our piece and to conclude I would not even be writing this review if our lady of the house had offered a simple gesture to compensate us for the small yet irritating catalogue of mistakes during our experience. We hovered in awkward silence yet it was not forthcoming so we decided to put it down to experience and write our review instead. I believe if your price point is on the higher end of the scale then your service needs to reflect the food. If any feedback is appreciated I would say this is the obvious point that needs addressing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana D, Owner at The Coach House at The Pheasant, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you were not happy when you came to visit on Saturday evening.

We always take criticism very seriously indeed and take on board your comments.

I would like to clarify that the total of your food for two people was £50.00 for 3 courses and drinks included a bottle of Sancerre at £32.00 together with pre-dinner drinks at £9.00.

I am very sorry that you felt that you overpaid for your meal but there would have been an offer made to you, if you were unhappy about the meal, which you said you were not. .

We are passionate about investing with young people coming into our industry. Often we have students training in the kitchen and front of house under supervision and on the odd occasion, mistakes happen which I can only apologise for.

I am very sorry that you were not happy with the service you received and hope that you may like to visit us once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    39
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
217
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had an overnight stay to celebrate my wifes Birthday.The Captain Oates room was fantastic, lots of space and very relaxing.The evening meal was superb in very comfortable surroundings and morning breakfast was of a high quality with superb fish from the smokie.

Would recommend this venue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a very romantic Valentine night stay at The Pheasant. The room was beautiful, huge 4 poster bed and fantastic views and the food was excellent. We would definately recommend a stay, the staff make you feel so welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We went to The Coach House at The Pheasant on a Secret Escapes break. The quality of the accommodation and the food was excellent, as was the welcome and friendliness of all the staff we met. We would not hesitate in coming back again, if not for an overnight stay, certainly for a meal. Would highly recommend this!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

On arrival we were greeted with a glass of prosecco, which drank sitting in one of three lounges each with a log burner whilst looking out across snowy fields. We stayed in the Thomas Courtauld suite, which was beautiful. Large picture window looking out across fields. The en suite shower room was fantastic with a huge walk in shower and lovely complimentary toiletries. The bed was incredibly comfortable with gorgeous feather pillows, it was like sleeping on marshmallows! The room had a mini fridge containing milk and bottled water and the refreshment tray not only had tea and coffee, but every kind of fruit and herbal tea, hot chocolate and filter coffee and cafetiere. They had thought of everything. We had a fantastic 3 course meal in the restaurant that evening and again couldnt fault it, choices ranged from Fish and Chips to Partridge. All the staff we spoke to were very welcoming and we had an absolutely lovely stay. I would recommend The Pheasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

just stayed 2 nights and what a lovely place to relax and spend some time.This is a delight more people should discover.
We stayed in The Captain Oates room with its jacuzzi bath and loads of space,every thing is provided for you.The weather was thick snow which made the view far across the fields stunning.
James and Diana are great hosts,finding time to chat and make you feel very welcome.The food is of the highest quality,all sourced locally and prepared expertly.The fish and cheese is smoked in their own smokehouse,the eggs and honey from their chickens and bees.
If you wish to have a pint in the bar you could not find a more welcoming place,in front of the real fire with a glass of Pheasant Ale.
For breakfast you have such a choice,including smoked salmon or smoked haddock(the best you will find anywhere).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A short trip (for us) to snowy North Essex was absolutely fantastic. If you want to get away from the chaos of life and work head to the Coach House at the Pheasant. The pub/inn is in a small village but we found it easy enough, our room was the John Constable and we could not have asked for more. Lovely views, huge four poster bed, monsoon shower and everything beautifully finished. We ate at the pub in the evening and all that we chose was excellent.

If you want to relax and enjoy some great food in the Essex countryside - I would recommend this place very highly.

We'll will stay again, maybe in the spring or summer so we can try the beer garden.

Room Tip: We stayed in the John Constable room - four poster bed and a lovely large bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coach House at The Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House at The Pheasant

Address: Church Street, Audley End, Gestingthorpe CO9 3AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Gestingthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gestingthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House at the Pheasant recently awarded 5 Star Inn AA rated, offering luxury accommodation on the Essex/Suffolk border. Our charming country pub has an excellent reputation for its fresh, seasonal menu and relaxed atmosphere. Winner of Best Pub in Essex in 2012 and Winner of Chef of the Year in 2012. Entry into the Good Food Guide 2013/2014. James & Diana Donoghue the owners are hands-on every day to make sure that your stay is superb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Coach House at The Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House At The Pheasant Hotel Gestingthorpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coach House at The Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.