We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay - lovely welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coach House at The Pheasant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Coach House at The Pheasant to your Saves list
The Coach House at The Pheasant
Audley End, Gestingthorpe CO9 3AU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay - lovely welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a night as I had booked it for a romantic break from everyday life and it certainly didn't disappoint. We stayed in a lovely room, certainly well equipped and with marvellous views across the Essex countryside towards the Stour valley, the food we enjoyed that evening was superb and the staff were very welcoming and the atmosphere was lovely. A great stay and a lovely place to eat and stay.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    45
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
239
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed at this wonderfully run guest house on the evening of 16 November 2012 with my wife. I had arranged a price for dinner, bed and breakfast three hours prior to our arrival. Situated Just under an hour drive from north east London, we arrived around 8pm and entered the bar area. The owner was there to meet us and showed us to our spacious and very clean room that was decorated in a modern style. The guest rooms are located across the car park in a block attached to the rear of the bar and restaurant area. The room was very well equipped with flat screen, multiple channel freeview programs, tea and coffee facilities and fresh milk. The bed linen was made of a high quality material. The ensuite wet room was large and has all the usual soaps and shampoo required for your stay.
After settling in, we made our way back to the cozy bar area. We were seated on a lovely old table next to the roaring wood burner in the bar area. A very welcome position due to the cold wet evening outside. All the tables in the restaurant were taken up with other guests but we were made to feel very welcome and able to order our food from the menu or from the specials board with the selection being very difficult due to the vast array of great choices. The wine menu was short but had obviously been carefully thought out. Our food was served in a timely fashion and was cooked perfectly.
The bar serves real ales and has a beer that is specifically brewed for the Pheasant Inn.
Before leaving the owner was more than helpful with nearby places of interest to visit.
If you want a relaxing stay on the Essex/Suffolk border area I can highly recommend this lovely family run restaurant and guest house.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked through Secret Escapes, and had an extremely comfortable time here. They made every effort to ensure our stay went well.
The food was also delicious. This is a very nice Pub which uses home grown food from their garden opposite. Our package included dinner on the first night, and we enjoyed it, so ate in the next night as well.
Diana and James have built the rooms over the garage behind the Pub, so they are nice and quiet, with views over open fields behind. You can walk into the village, but really you need a car to get about here.
There is a pretty, small garden which guests can use, and this leads on to the field behind.

Room Tip: The rooms do vary quite a lot in size, so choose carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent two nights here while attending a woodland course near Halstead. Wonderful to come back to such luxury after a day in the open air. Glorious rainshower, wonderful mattress, comfortable pillows. The restaurant was buzzing and we wondered if we would have long to wait, but our courses arrived with perfect timing - as we expected the food was delicious.
As an aside we also enjoyed the beautifully laid out small garden - this must be the only restaurant where an excellent chef is also capable of referring to plants by their scientific names!

Room Tip: The Gainsborough Room is on ground level and has a small private patio with table and chairs for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have found this place by chance on internet.
Everything what was written about it was true and more!
This B&B is very beautifully furnished, with comfortable and spacious rooms.
We were three in the party so we had two rooms.
If I have to find something which could add to my comfort it would be a chest of drawers in The Mark Catesby Room. We had a chance to see other rooms and only The Samuel Courtauld Room (great view!!) has plenty of chests of drawers.
Also I have to compliment Julie, one of the staff, who was VERY helpful and willing to accommodate. I would give her award for her service!
The food is another story! Top quality. We had tried every dish from the specials.
We stayed three days with breakfast and dinner to celebrate one of my friends big birthday and visit the Constable Country.
Thank you for being patient with orders from my 80 year old friend :)
We had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked through secret escapes and thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of sparkling wine. We stayed in the Gainsborough suite everything was immaculate, and the fridge with cold drinks as well as coffee and tea making facilites very welcome. The award winning food was sensational every food item was either grown by James and Diana or sourced locally, very few food miles to consider. Seasonal produce was used to it's best advantage we enjoyed a delicious beetroot and vegetable soup served with rustic granary bread, so good we ate it twice. The toiletries in the huge bathroom with power shower smelt devine, and every member of staff without exception were amazingly helpful and knowledgeable. The surrounding area it even has it's own castle, and easy to reach areas such as Cambridge and Bury St Edmunds well worth a visit.
James and Diana were very hospitable. It was nice to have the accomodation so close no need to travel I am sure we will visit again this was excellent value for money we had both breakfast and a three course evening meal as part of the deal and didn't need any lunch.
a memorable stay well worth a second visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed one night recently at the Coach House and it was wonderful. Our room was immaculate and extremely well appointed. The owners (Diana and James) seem to have thought of everything and we had a very comfortable stay. The prosecco on arrival was a nice touch. As others have said, the food was excellent, I can highly recommend the belly pork and beetroot mash! Love the fact that they home grow produce and source meat locally too. I can't praise the Pheasant and its staff enough, we will be back and hopefully for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Thomas Gainsborough room which was spacious with a comfy sofa, walk in dressing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gestingthorpe
4.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
14.9 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
5.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
12.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
9.6 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House at The Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House at The Pheasant

Address: Audley End, Gestingthorpe CO9 3AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Gestingthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gestingthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Best AA Pub for England 2014/15 and Pub of the Year for Alistair Sawdays 2014/15 The Coach House at the Pheasant 5 Star Inn AA rated, offering luxury accommodation on the Essex/Suffolk border. Our charming country pub has an excellent reputation for its fresh, seasonal menu and relaxed atmosphere. Entry into the Good Food Guide and Michelin Guide 2013/2014/2105. James & Diana Donoghue the owners are hands-on every day to make sure that your stay is superb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Coach House at The Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House At The Pheasant Hotel Gestingthorpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coach House at The Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.