We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Countryside retreat indeed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat to your Saves list
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   314 Booringa Road, Port Campbell, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Countryside retreat indeed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

In summary: 1. 2mins drive away from 12apostles (Great Ocean Road) 2. Spacious & clean rooms 3. Hospitable & warm couple as your staff

If you are driving to 12 apostles, I strongly suggest you stay a night. Its a 3hours drive from Melbourne (through the countryside) & 5hours if you take the scenic Great Ocean Road (GOR), which is recommended. I figured stay close to the 12 apostles (which was our destination but this is one of those where the journey itself is great as well) so Port Campbell it was at Princetown. Your drive to the motel from the GOR is on unpaved road so that made us wonder where is this motel. But once we checked into the room, no regrets. Its huge, spacious & we had a pleasant stay. Its literally 2mins drive to 12 apostles & 10mins drive to the city centre in Port Campbell. No food at this motel so you gotta eat out or like us cook yourselves instant noodles. There's a mini kitchen so its convenient for that. Need to have a car to move about (we rented the car for 2days). Dusty & sandy outside but clean rooms inside. Def great countryside retreat while still being close to major attractions & downtown of the town. You have this elderly couple as your staff & hosts. And its aptly named...a retreat so its tranquil surroundings was a pleasure.

Def recommend if you looking for a countryside feel in the vicinity (in case you want something different from the usual city htels).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
109 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Located a few minutes drive up the road from the Twelve Apostles visitor centre it is a good place to start for the Twelve Apostles before the crowds get there. Other than that is a motel style accomodation, somewhat dated. Since it was one of the few places in the area that accepted one night stay bookings it was a good option for our stopover on the Great Ocean Road. Amenities are basic and it is priced for its location, basically no frills. Buy your necessities before you get there as this is in the country with no shops in sight.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great location for our 3 day stay in this area. Friendly owners & staff all ready to help. Clean & comfortable. We were able to do our own breakfast then BBQ at night. Also saw a local koala up close as well as great bird life. Thanks from Robyn East Maitland.

Room Tip: Number 9 motel room so convenient plus we had full use of BBQ
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The location is in the country, which I prefer, yet neat Port Campbell and other coastal towns. It has the feel of an old dairy. To get there you go past the 12 Apostles Visitor Center, so it is in the heart of the scenic sea shore. There is plenty of wildlife for those interested in such. I saw my first wild kangaroo my first morning there.

The room was large enough as was the bath. It was clean and quiet. I blew a fuse and one of the owners came and cheerfully reset the breaker, asking what caused the problem. A few minutes later the same thing happened. Again the owner was pleasant and we located the source of the problem with my equipment. Their manner was appreciated.

The meals were properly prepared with good quality ingredients. The service was good and the owner was friendly.

I arrived there my second day in Australia and that experience set the tone for my whole vacation there. I thank the Currans' for their charming lodgings and facility and great hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as three female friends for 1 night on New Year's Day.

The location is extremely convenient as it is so close to the Twelve Apostles.

The motel is located in a very quiet, tranquil spot.

The owners went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating and regaled us with many tales! The evening meal was simple but good and breakfast, whilst also simple, was executed perfectly.

We strolled after dinner and spotted kangaroos which was fantastic.

We did find 3 very small frogs in our room. But to be honest, I think that is just par for the course due to the rural setting and close proximity to a reservoir. The room was well equipped, spacious and clean... excellent value for money.

We will be back.
Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is simple and nice, with an indoor pool (which is solar heated ... so wouldnt count on this being heated unless there have been a number of back to back sunny days). The hosts are very good and build a personal equation with guests. Cable TV gets you most free to air channels and a couple more.

Food options - there is a in-house restaurant, but if you are looking for more options, your best bet is Port Campbell town, around 14 kms away.

Just be aware that there is a gravel road for around 3 kms to reach there. Fairly good road, I hit 80Ks on the road, though I wouldn't advice going this fast - especially since the gravel will cause the tyre grip to quite patchy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night and were very pleased. The location was excellent as it is just down the road from the twelve apostles! The lady on reception was welcoming, and provided us with some great facts and information on kangaroos! Would recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Campbell
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Campbell Great Ocean Road Motor Inn
6.2 mi away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
6.2 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
6.4 mi away
Sea Foam Villas
Sea Foam Villas
#7 of 11 in Port Campbell
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
6.4 mi away
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Loch Ard Motor Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat

Address: 314 Booringa Road, Port Campbell, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 8 acres, 3 kilometres directly inland from the famous Twelve Apostles. Come and enjoy our country retreat with truly Australian hospitality in peaceful relaxing surroundings. We have motel units, 2 bedroom family units and self contained cottages available with country and valley views. All units have en-suite bathrooms, air conditioning/heating, microwave, toaster, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. We have an indoor pool, BBQ facilities and children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twelve Apostles Motel And Country Retreat
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat Hotel Port Campbell
12 Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.