We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many good features” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nico's

Nico's
25 Lord Street, Port Campbell, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Telephone + 61 3 5598 6131
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Many good features”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I would give this 3 and a half if I could but it just falls short of 4, let down by the substandard coffee for me. We went for breakfast and dinner and the food was plentiful and good on both occasions at a reasonable price. Very friendly and gracious service. More wines by the glass would also be nice. My partner thought the pizzas were a little too cheesy but the kids were happy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    54
    34
    25
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“When's a pizza not a pizza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

When it comes from Nico's. This place is based on tourists and obviously accepts they won't be coming back. Worst pizza ever. We wanted a ham and mushroom - told they didn't do one of those. So we ordered the supreme and de-selected all the things we didn't want. ? The 10" (large ?) tasted like the cardboard container. Total and absolute rubbish.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Probably your best bet...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Going from Melbourne to McLaren Vale on the Great Ocean Road, Port Campbell was our first stop... we hadn't eaten since breakfast and Nico's was our early supper stop! The pizza was very good, the house wine was also well chosen, all at a very fair price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nicos pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

we ate there twice and enjoyed it each time we had pizza and pasta and saleds was fresh tasty and service was great will ate there again on our next holiday only problem nico was your over inflated prices but as a tourist place ok

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Barker, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were travelling in a group of four, including with someone with food allergies. When asking what softdrinks were available, we were told the list was on the menu. No, it wasn't, and we had to ask a second time. The family member with diet difficulties ordered the garlic and herb pizza, on the starters list, described as having garlic and herbs. No cheese was mentioned. Hers arrived with cheese. Waitress told us that all of the pizzas had cheese and this was stated on the menu - it was, in the PIZZA section, not the starters section. Rather misleading, but mistakes happen. When they brought out a garlic and herb pizza, no cheese, it was the most disgusting excuse for garlic/herb bread I have encountered. Dry, over-cooked bread that seemed to have been rubbed or sprinkled with dry garlic and dried herbs. So dry as to be inedible!
The pizza the rest of us had was... ok. Nothing special but a step up from dominos. I found it quite greasy. Virtually any good quality pizza restaurant could do better and I can think of several examples. There was a large selection of flavours which was good, and the staff were friendly.
Although we might have just caught them on a bad night, staff telling us incorrect information regarding what was on the menu (drinks), and then the unfortunate garlic pizza really soured the experience - and probably meant that we couldn't really appreciate what positive qualities the pizza had!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico's also viewed

Port Campbell, Victoria
 

Been to Nico's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nico's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.