We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day with so many interesting facts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Campbell Touring Company

Port Campbell Touring Company
Port Campbell, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
0447-986-423
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great day with so many interesting facts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Thank you for the great day out!!!! John made our day out extremely interesting and introduced us to the intriguing tales of the history of the area. My husband and I had travelled this route a year and a half earlier, but it is so amazing to have someone with so much knowledge of the area guide you around and give you an insight into every aspect of it's make-up. We will be looking at some of the other tours on offer for the near future. This was a special 50th birthday treat from my children and I will remember it for a long time to come.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Port Campbell Touring Company made our tour of The Great Ocean Road in Victoria, Australia a fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

On a recent trip with our granddaughter to Australia, we hired John McInerney of Port Campbell Touring Company to take us on a 5 day tour of Philip Island, The Great Ocean Road and the Grampians National Park. It was a wonderful trip and John went out of his way to provide superb service and value for money! With 25 years in the Victoria National Park system as a park ranger and then ranger in charge, John is extremely knowledgeable about the area-- the birdlife, the wildlife, the best places to hike, fish, surf or do photography. I am elderly with mobility issues and John went out of his way to accommodate my disability and insure our accommodations were easily accessible. At Sovereign Hill (a recreated gold mining town in Ballarat) he not only rented a wheel chair but pushed me up and down the steep hills in it. He was an interesting and very polite traveling companion who's first thought was for our comfort and convenience. We would highly recommend him if you're looking for a guide in the Victoria area. He can handle both small and large groups with a Mazda CX for small groups and a van for larger groups.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing Beats A Personalised Tour Experience - Worth the $$!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We visited Melbourne on 29 Jun 2011 and we did not look forward to crowds of strangers on the great ocean road. So we chose to have a customised tour wit the Port Campbell Touring company.

It gives me great pleasure to recommend John and Port Campbell Touring Company to anyone who wishes to explore the Great Ocean Road at their own time and pace, and especially if you have little time to walk the entire stretch!

Nothing beats personalising your trip and letting a patient and knowledgeable guide do all the planning for you! You can just sit back, relax, enjoy the ride and the VIEW!

John, with his deep experience as a park ranger, brings an additional educational component that differentiates this tour from any other. Along the way, you learn many things from managing forest fires to native fauna protection and interesting personal anecdotes.

Whether you are travelling as a couple, with family or kids, Port Campbell Touring Company offers you a delightful educational and truly enjoyable trip down the Great Ocean Road and its surrounding areas!

Thank you so much for a memorable trip, John! We enjoyed it so much!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service with a Smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We did 2 tours - the Loch Ard Evening Walk and Half Day Shipwreck Coast, on 2 consecutive days. It was superb! Our host and guide, John, treated us with exceptional service, vast knowledge of the area and a fun time. John was a former Senior Ranger with Port Campbell National Park so he was extremely knowledgeable. He gave of his time, knowledge and service very generously and ensured that we thoroughly enjoyed this most beautiful part of the world. The weather was fantastic, with the first tour being in the evening and still light at 8.30pm. The Half Day tour started at 2pm and for the next 4 hours we were captured by the wonderful sights of the Twelve Apostles, Gibson Steps, London Bridge, Bay of Islands etc. Staying in Port Campbell for 2 days we were able to experience everything these tours offered, at leisure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tours of Port Campbell Surrounding Area - Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

When visiting Port Campbell we wanted to see the surrounding area in a limited period of time and used John McInerney, from the Port Campbell Touring Company to provide this service. As an ex Park Ranger his knowledge of the National Park was second to none. Local history, natural history tied in with a good sense of humour, made the tours a very enjoyable experience. The service that John provides is highly professional and was tailored to our individual needs - the transportation was very comfortable. Many times you can go to a place and come away with only a visual memory. John McInerney provides such a comprehensive service that you will always remember your time in Port Campbell. John's website can be found at the following address www.portcampbelltouring.com.au

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Campbell Touring Company also viewed

 
Port Campbell, Victoria
 

Been to Port Campbell Touring Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Campbell Touring Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.