We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guidance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portside Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Portside Motel to your Saves list
Portside Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   62 Great Ocean Road (Lord St), Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
2 reviews
“Great guidance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed 1 night during out tour of the Great Ocean Rd. This was the best of the 3 motels we stayed - comfortable rooms, very tidy and clean. Close enough from town to walk there (2mins), far enough away to avoid the noise. Got great tips as to how best see the 12 Apostles (or it is 7, or 15?) which really helped. Absence of swimming pool a minor inconvenience, but still excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    174
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
125
218
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Bit puzzled as to why this had so many good review, it's a bit like sleeping in some ones garage breeze block walls no headboard. It was clean , the towels very small and take your toilet paper theirs is so thin it's hopeless. We couldn't recommend it and we wouldn't stay there agin.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsidemotel, Owner at Portside Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi TommyC.
We were very surprised to read your review.
The walls in the rooms are made of large natural stone blocks (Mt Gambier limestone) which are light in colour and have a natural texture to them. We have never heard of them being described as breeze blocks or brickwork that appears like someones garage!!! All the photos of our motel on all the booking sites we believe, reflect a true representation of what our motel looks like including the limestone walls. We can only assume that you didn't take notice of the images of the motel when booking online.
We are pleased that our high standards of cleaning were apparent to you. We take great pride in how clean our rooms are. We can only assume that you must have used the two bath mats as towels (found hanging in the bathroom) because our blue bath towels are much larger (67cm X 147cm) and are found beside the beds.
We are sorry to hear that your experience at Portside Motel wasn't as pleasant as you would have liked but we do understand that all guests have different tastes and that our motel may not appeal to some.

Kind regards
Josie McInerney
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had a great night in Portside Motel, comfy and quiet. Though we arrived late, and couldn't contact the motel before we arrived, we found everything had already been ready for us. The room was nice, Josie was friendly and helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked two rooms at this motel and we where very pleased with our rooms. The owners put next to each other and we where able to sit together on one patio for drinks and nibbles. The rooms where spotless and very comfortable one even had a bath. The hotel is within easy walking distance of cafes, pub etc for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The room was spacious and Quiet. Jose was very helpful in advising us on local facilities and sights. I especially appreciated the advice on when and where to see the 'twelve' apostles and her local knowledge.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a family room for 4 adults and a double room. We thought the location was good, a short walk to the main area of the town. The rooms were clean and well equipped and very comfortable. The only improvement would be a larger bathroom and ours did have a bit of mould which can be easily removed with the right cleaning. However, overall we would recommend and we would definitely stay there again. Also free wi fi is a necessity nowadays.

Room Tip: Large family rooms are more than adequate for 4 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsidemotel, Owner at Portside Motel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you so much for positive review and letting us know how much you enjoyed staying at Portside Motel. It makes it worthwhile when we hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and are really pleased to hear that what we are striving to do in our business - provide quality and affordable accommodation with the best service is being achieved.

With regards to the bathroom, yes the bathrooms are a bit small but unfortunately we have inherited these as part of the business. The bathroom in Family Room, although larger than other rooms still is not the idea size for a room for 4. The mould that you mentioned has developed behind clear silicone that our plumber has had to place over the grout in between the tiling as a temporary measure. The tiles have moved in the shower and was causing a water leak in the wall. As the Family Room is very heavily booked we have been unable to take it offline to do the major repair (remove tiles, re-plaster wall and replace tiles etc) until the quieter period. The bathroom is still cleaned to our very high standard but I agree that the lower section of the shower does look a bit unsightly. We felt that this would be acceptable rather than try to move guests out into other motels while the repair work is being done (could take up to 7 days) during a very busy period.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Portside Motel one day soon and will certainly look forward to welcoming those you recommend to our motel.
Kind regards
Josie McInerney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay with John and Josie at Portside Motel! The accommodations were more than ample for our family of 4 and were very clean. It was a very good location in the quaint town of Port Campbell and a perfect destination point for our day long trip along the GOR. Sincere thanks for your kind hospitality, John and Josie! Belinda Borrelli

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Campbell Great Ocean Road Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
6.2 mi away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
0.3 mi away
Sea Foam Villas
Sea Foam Villas
#7 of 11 in Port Campbell
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Loch Ard Motor Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Motel

Address: 62 Great Ocean Road (Lord St), Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portside Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Motel offers 10 modern motel units and 1 two bedroom family apartment and is located only 250m from the centre of the Port Campbell township and only a short 8 min drive to the famous 12 Apostles. The well-appointed units have everything you need including comfortable queen size beds, TV, video/DVD player, A/C, private en-suite, and private verandas overlooking tranquil gardens. All units are ground floor with parking at the door. Laundry & wireless broadband internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Portside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Motel Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.