We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean accomodation at a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portside Motel

Save Saved
You added Portside Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portside Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   62 Great Ocean Road (Lord St), Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Port Campbell
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean accomodation at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed with my family for a night at this place, what I most liked about is friendly staff and cleanliness of the place.

This place is also very close to attractions such as 12 Apostils and the other attractions in this area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    123
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
85
158
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed overnight in the 2 bedroom family apartment while on our tour of the Great Ocean Road, and found it to be spacious, clean and comfortable. With wood floors and fresh white walls, the apartment is sparsely decorated, but has everything you need for a day or a week-long stay. Free wifi, flat screen tv, stocked bookshelf and games, fully fitted kitchen with coffee/tea service, fluffy towels and comfortable beds. It was very quiet, just a block from the downtown conveniences, and would be a great place for a family to spend a holiday or vacation.

Room Tip: Room 11 is the 2 BR/1BA family apartment - plenty of room to spread out and have all the comforts of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a quick trip to the 12 apostles and couldn't have been happier with the motel. Check in was quick and friendly. The room spacious with kitchenette, couch, and flat screen TV. We loved the little outdoor courtyard. The bed was very comfortable and there were ample pillows. Bathroom was OK with a shower curtain instead of screen, but this wasn't a problem. Towels were new and fluffy. The only tiny flaw was the lack of noise control from the car park area to the room. You can hear everything going on outside so if you have noisy people also staying here, it can disturb your peace. However, the motel itself is quiet and you don't hear the traffic on the road.
It's a 2 minute walk to the shops and restaurants - where we enjoyed 12 Rocks for dinner (and view over the local beach), and excellent breakfast at Waves restaurant. And of course, the whole area is stunning and one of Victoria's great treasures.
I would certainly stay here again when next in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The two-room apartment was clean, cosy, beautiful and well-equipped. Check-in staff was very polite but should find out more about the town so that he would not have to refer the guests to the information centre on basic questions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsidemotel, Owner at Portside Motel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide great feed back about our two bedroom apartment. Yourself, along with many of our previous guests enjoy the space and facilities that the apartment offers.
It was our son who was working in Reception the evening you arrived. He along with all our other staff have a great knowledge of the local area as they were brought up in Port Campbell. When guests ask for specific advice on where to take the best photos at sunset or sunrise, we expect that if our staff don't feel confident answering this question then they will direct you to the best source to find out, such as the visitor information centre located very close to our motel, rather than give you false advice. We hope you understand that this is what we encourage as every guest's expectation of the best place to take photos differs enormously and it's best answered by the most experienced people on hand.
Kind regards
Josie McInerney
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I booked the place base on reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. Even though was only one night, the process check in and out was smooth. John was very friendly and informative. Room was excellent for me and my family. Value for money. Will come back again someday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We found this to be a good overnight stop for our holiday on the great ocean road. We had a short drive to Apollo Bay the next day to start walking the 104 km Great Ocean Walk to the 12 Apostles. The motel is a short walk from the main shopping precinct in a quiet area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were given a warm welcome on our arrival. This is a nice motel with comfortable bed and heating / air conditioning. No view to speak of from our room.

It's one of the furthest out of the town centre but an easy 7 - 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Motel

Address: 62 Great Ocean Road (Lord St), Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Port Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portside Motel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Motel offers 10 modern motel units and 1 two bedroom family apartment and is located only 250m from the centre of the Port Campbell township and only a short 8 min drive to the famous 12 Apostles. The well-appointed units have everything you need including comfortable queen size beds, TV, video/DVD player, A/C, private en-suite, and private verandas overlooking tranquil gardens. All units are ground floor with parking at the door. Laundry & wireless broadband internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Portside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Motel Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.