We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Authentic Australian Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Ard Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Campbell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Ard Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Loch Ard Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
309 Yaruck Road, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An Authentic Australian Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I'm going to give this rating a Very Good rating, though with some caveats. For starters, this is a close as you can stay to the 12 Apostles, which makes for a nice way to return to the 12 Apostles if you desire to see the sunrise, which I did, and have the park mostly to yourself. The farm house is located quite remotely on a farm, a few kilometers down a dirt road (no other places were in sight on this road). For tranquility and peace, it is a most serene setting. At Twilight, kangaroos line the dirt road, so drive carefully. One of our best experiences on our trip was seeing kangaroos silhouetted against a setting sun on top of a hill on this farm, hopping along. It looked like a scene out of National Geographic. The farm house is a classic farm setting, and our host, Win and Don, warmly greeted us, and provided an excellent breakfast in the morning for us, too. It is a few kilometers drive into town for dinner, and this is a very very small town...just a couple of restaurants, so best to dine early as they likely close early. Our room was spacious and had lovely views of the farm. The bathroom is well maintained and modern, and the place was quite clean. Your entrance to your room is through the main house entrance, and up the stairs, where a community room with a kitchenette is available for coffee and tea. I recall on each side of this room were the two guest rooms, where we got to know the three guests from Paris staying in the other room. The rooms are decorated in classic farm house setting, I suppose, and our Queen size bed was average in comfort. What made this experience delightfully unique was the authenticity of staying on a family farm with its local family owners, and getting to know them. My only caveat is not really so much a caveat as it is to understand the rural experience you are signing up for. For us, it was a nice alternative to the lodges and hotels we had been staying in during our holiday in Australia, and it provided a nice encounter with local Australians that may otherwise, be easily overlooked on a tour.

Room Tip: Loch Ard B&B offers a nice authentic family farm experience in a rural setting very close in pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This B and B has to be one of the best around. Win and Don are perfect hosts and sharing breakfast with them and the other guests was a very pleasurable experience. You really feel like part of the family.
The accommodation is wonderful too - very spacious and with many facilities including a small kitchen with microwave. There is a living tea to share between the two guest bedrooms with lovely views and kangaroos on view from the balcony in the morning and evenings.
The area itself is very beautiful so it has everything going for it.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms and I am sure both are as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We used Loch Ard B&B as our hub for three nights as we explored the Great Ocean Road. The room and en suite bathroom were spacious, clean and comfortable. Guests in the two upstairs rooms share a comfortable lounge area with a balcony where you can watch kangaroos and cattle feeding in the evening. On a clear day, you can see the Loch Ard Gorge in the distance. Our hosts, Win and Don, were friendly and accommodating, but gave us space when we needed it. There was even Wi-Fi! The B&B is on a dairy farm about 6 km from Port Campbell, but the drive from town was not difficult and the setting is spectacular. We've traveled the world, and this was probably our favorite B&B.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Win and Don McKenzie are the perfect hosts. The house is located in a wonderful pastoral setting and the view from the upper balcony of the Loch Ard Gorge is breathtaking. Unfortunately, it was cloudy and we couldn't see the beautiful sunset. A few kangaroos came out to feed at dusk and with the cows around and the ducks in the pond, everything looked so calm and harmonious. Win's taste in decorating the rooms and bathrooms with lace and crochet is simply meticulous. We would have loved to stay there a few more days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This B&B is gorgeous with very nice view. Saw a group of Kangaroos near the woods in the morning around 7am. The design of the room and bathroom will make you feel like home. It is very comfortable! The lady owner, Win offers us cookies, cakes and drinks as soon as we arrive. As for the breakfast, we have sunny side up, bacons, fruit juice, coffees, bread toast with butter, cereal, mushrooms and etc. We have a good chat over the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were greeted by Win upon arrival, she warmly welcome us and showed us our room. The room was big, and beautiful. As we walk up the stairs, there was a sign saying "come as strangers and leave as friends", we couldn't agree more. Our room overlook the twelve apostles, and in the evening you can see the kangaroo feeding in the fields. Win and Don are warmth and chatty. We would like to thank them for sharing their luxurious accommodation with us. We are already missing this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

Win and Don seem lovely - this was our first ever B&B so we didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised.

We booked last minute ($200) and luckily they had a room. The room was big and complete with comfy bed, tv, DVD, extra small bed and lounge. Ensuite was big too.

Win gave us a box of chocolates (yum) on arrival - very lovely, and the guest kitchenette was stocked with juices, drinks and Win's delicious custard slice. Wish I'd gotten the recipe :)

We played monopoly in our room at night (we were exhausted from GOR driving) and watched a funny DVD (bill gray on the GOR).

Breakfast was lovely too.

This turned out to be the perfect stop - we had been driving from Warrnambool and only got up to the Loch Ard when we were exhausted and needed to rest. The next morning we could continue on to the 12 apostles all bright eyed - and the filling breakfast did us till early evening.

A lovely first B&B experience.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Ard Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ard Bed & Breakfast

Address: 309 Yaruck Road, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Port Campbell
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Loch Ard Bed & Breakfast Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Ard Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.