We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daysy Hill Country Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Daysy Hill Country Cottages to your Saves list
Daysy Hill Country Cottages
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   2585 Cobden Port Campbell Road, Port Campbell, Victoria 3268, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Our room was brilliant! It was like a lil home that we had away from home. We were relaxed and well slept, and the room gave us everything we needed. Close to the local town, but still out of the way and peaceful, and a quick drive to the Apostles and etc

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    29
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed 1 night ago, just for the one night on our GOR trip. We only booked that morning as we hadn't done this trip before so didn't know where we would be travelling to that night. Easy to deal with by phone and booking that morning was hassle free. Arrived about 6:30-7:30pm from memory and although the lady on reception had been waiting for us before she could go out for the evening (we hadn't known this in advance) felt no pressure for arriving late. Stayed in cottage 2 which was a 2 bedroom with queen and 2 singles. Immacualately clean and no sign of the 'notices everywhere' mentioned in other reviews - a couple of polite, very small signs but certainly nothing to take offence over. Very comfy beds, and appreciated the washing machine in the cottage laundry. Despite having been around 40C last couple of days, was a ver cold day so so we used her electric heater which was very efficient and warmed the place up very quickly. Definitely recommend if you want somewhere quiet and peaceful - living in the country ourselves we appreciated the lack of street lights outside so you can actually sleep peacefully in the dark!

Room Tip: 2 bed cottage for space and own washing machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had 1 night here staying in a spa cottage. The cottage was lovely, spacious, clean and in a great spot. The views across the countryside made the evening. The kitchenette is pretty basic. Only downside for our stay was the lack of warmth in our arrival and departure. The lady who checked us in said the minimum required and showed no interest in our stay. A warmer welcome would have made us feel more inclined to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights in November. I wish we could have stayed for much much longer!

When we first walked in we were greeted by a lovely clean lounge room, with great decor. It was very cosy and really did feel like a home away from home! My daughter was impressed by her two beds in her room as well haha.

This hotel is located in a very peaceful area, while still being a good distance to the main port Campbell shopping center and other attractions, such as the apostles.

The staff were very friendly and always up for a chat! Unfortunately while we stayed there, the phone towers in all of western Vic were down so my phone was not working, but the staff were happy to let me use their personal mobile phone to contact home, which I really appreciated!

This place was wonderful, and for the price, very good value. I would happily recommend this to anyone I know and without a doubt stay here again on my Next Victoria trip. Thank you for the excellent service and accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for one night in a two bedroom cabin with sweeping views over the countryside from the porch. Cabin was clean and well stocked. Beds were comfortable and really appreciated the electric blankets! Didn't stay long enough to fully appreciate the cabin, but would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights with our two border collies and really enjoyed ourselves. The cabin was nice and clean and quite spacious. Great location that allowed us to wake up in time for the sunrise and return from sunset at the twelve apostles. It's also a great base for exploring the neighbouring towns like Timboon and Port Fairy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay in one of the suites at Daysys Hill. Felt right at home and had al the amenities we required. I will definitely recommend this property to friends (although will suggest they take insect repellant, our baby was attacked by Mosquitos in her sleep).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daysy Hill Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daysy Hill Country Cottages

Address: 2585 Cobden Port Campbell Road, Port Campbell, Victoria 3268, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Port Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daysy Hill Country Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a range of accommodation to suit all travellers.Our property is clean and comfortable.We have a lovely location just on the outskirts and looking out over the township of Port Campbell.We are surrounded by green rolling hills and our cottages, cabins and suites are positioned to take in the views.We are very close to the town, the Great Ocean Road and to the spectacular coastal scenery all around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Daysy Hill Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daysy Hill Country Cottages Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daysy Hill Country Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.