We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no safety for your bookings” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Daysy Hill Country Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Daysy Hill Country Cottages to your Saves list
Daysy Hill Country Cottages
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   2585 Cobden Port Campbell Road, Port Campbell, Victoria 3268, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“There is no safety for your bookings”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We booked a room for Christmas holiday three months beforehand. Just one day before our arrival they cancelled our booking without any acceptable explanation or an official email. They only said there are insects in their cottages so they could not accommodate guests.
That's terrible. It is too late now to find a place in those crowded public holidays.
Eventually after lots of arguments and following up the issue they could manage to find another place which was better than nothing.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0355986226, Owner at Daysy Hill Country Cottages, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
We would like to respond to this review from a person with whom we had no contact whatsoever nor did she set foot on our property which is why we would question it's validity.
You can find the response from the people with whom we were dealing under the heading 'Appreciate the effort for finding fantastic replacement'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    30
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

My partner and I spent 3 nights here mid last year. We had a lovely time and enjoyed the spa and fireplace. However, I do agree with the cobwebs as other people have mentioned, there were quite a few on the roof and they looked like they had been there for a while. Apart from that we had no dramas.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Daysy Hill Country Cottages.
Firstly they were the only place during our 10 day stay in Australia to charge our credit card in FULL at time of booking.
This is the theme really that I felt in the two days we were there. They was signs up all over the place that EXPLAINED how much they will charge if you do this wrong or that wrong. They were the only people I never met as they had a cat and I could not get out of the car when we arrived. But as my husband explained the reception he received when we got there was more we arrived at the wrong time or something else.
In short it was a very expensive rate of $180 per night and not a nice place. If it was half the price it might be ok. But I wont be recommending this to anybody friend nor foe.

Room Tip: I have no tips other than if they did not charge me upfront I would of stayed only that night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0355986226, Owner at Daysy Hill Country Cottages, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
We would like to address the comments made in this review.
Firstly the reviewer says that full payment was made at the time of booking. Our records show that because this booking was in the absolute peak days after Christmas and as is customary for most properties during peak periods a deposit only was taken at the time of booking. The balance was paid upon arrival. The reviewer states that she found notes, and yes there may be 2 small inconspicuous notes, one with instructions to light the new gas logfire as we must be aware of fire safety in summer and the other not at all visible (inside) a kitchen cupboard door stating that if guests trash our kitchens a small charge may be made and I can truthfully say that I don't think that we have ever made an extra charge in our suites.
The reviewer makes mention of a pet also, prior to her stay she emailed me to ask if we had a pet I replied that we did have one which gave her the opportunity to cancel, it was then her choice to continue with the booking. It would be extremely unlikely that the reviewer even sighted the pet , in fact most guests love our pets.
This reviewer was actually, unknown to her, upgraded to a Spa/ Logfire suite free of charge. Our research reveals that our prices are more than competitive when compared with most other properties of a similar high standard along the Great Ocean Road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

It's a unforgetable trip since I stepped on The Great Southern Touring Route. Especially the two days we spent in Port Campbell. For the most part, we believe it was because we stay in Daysy. It's such a lovely place. We will be back in the near future.

Room Tip: All the cottages are facing beautiful vally, have nice landscape and commodious balcony. The space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Hidden Waterfalls, Rough ocean, Sunset beaches, encouraging church. Daisy Hill was the perfect place to rest, the spa, view, wood fire, friendly hosts completed the weekend as the best ever!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

My fiancé and I stayed in the Romantic Retreat, at the Daysy Hill Country Cottages. The location was fantastic and check-in and check-out were hassle free.

However, the cleanliness of the rooms was not satisfactory. There were many cobwebs & spiders throughout the suit which was not very relaxing.

I sent the owner a feedback email just so they are a little more careful of this in future, only to be patronised. The owner did not take responsibility for the cleanliness and explained to me that she is not personally responsible. I think, as an owner of something like this, you should take ownership that a guest was not satisfied and use this as constructive feedback instead of being defensive.

I would be very reluctant to recommend Daysy Hill Country Cottages.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0355986226, Owner at Daysy Hill Country Cottages, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
In response to the above comment we must assure our guests that we take the utmost care for a high standard of cleaning and we are often complimented on this.
We do not fumigate our buildings as we are aware of the dangers of chemicals .
Insects are part of life in the country and could appear in the most fastidiously cleaned property.
We inspected the suite immediately after the complaint and could not see the cobwebs that the guest referred to.
We have had a great number of positive comments about our property and the enjoyable stay that our guests have had and are of course extremely disappointed that this negative report has been made on our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We drove down the Great Ocean Road from Melbourne to Port Campbell and stayed at Daysy Hill Country Cottages for one night.

Even though we were a bit late reaching, the owner was there to check us in and again made himself available early the following morning for our check out. While the location is a bit out of Port Campbell itself, it is ideally placed for a look at the Twelve Apostles, which are only a couple of minutes away by car.

It is also a short drive into the town centre, so located ideally for both.

The cabins are large and comfortable. Each bed/bunk has its own heater. The kitchen and licving areas are spacious and we didn't feel cramped at all.

All in all a very comfortable stay at the end of a long day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Campbell
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Campbell Great Ocean Road Motor Inn
6.0 mi away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
0.6 mi away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
0.3 mi away
Anchors
Anchors
#1 of 10 in Port Campbell
5.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daysy Hill Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daysy Hill Country Cottages

Address: 2585 Cobden Port Campbell Road, Port Campbell, Victoria 3268, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Port Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daysy Hill Country Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a range of accommodation to suit all travellers.Our property is clean and comfortable.We have a lovely location just on the outskirts and looking out over the township of Port Campbell.We are surrounded by green rolling hills and our cottages, cabins and suites are positioned to take in the views.We are very close to the town, the Great Ocean Road and to the spectacular coastal scenery all around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Daysy Hill Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daysy Hill Country Cottages Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daysy Hill Country Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.