We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rustic hotel close to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne to your Saves list
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
268 Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely rustic hotel close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on our way to the Great Ocean Road. We hadn't booked in advance and therefore managed to secure an Ocean view room for a reasonable price. The room itself had a fantastic view of the ocean and we were treated to being visited by white cockatoos throughout our stay (though not too early in the morning!). The location was very good- across the road from the beach and a nice running path, and around 10 minutes walk from Lorne centre where you can find lots of nice cafes and restaurants. We didn't get the chance to try the food in the hotel but the room was nice. Our bathroom was a little outdated and very (very!) small- but for a last minute booking and the price got I think we did very well. Also it was a great stop right between Melbourne to the the Great Ocean Road. It's a very long journey from Melbourne to the 12 Apostles, so I would recommend an overnight stop between the two to ensure a safe journey and making the most of your trip.

Room Tip: Ocean view without a doubt! We had room 24 which was lovely (though please note comments about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPHLorne, Front Office Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Traveling_angel,

Thank you for writing about your stay at the Grand Pacific Hotel & Apartments.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Located just opposite the Lorne Pier, makes it a great location to enjoy the views over the bay and enjoy a relaxing ocean walk straight into the town center.
It is a historical hotel, which originally did not have any bathrooms! So the bathrooms all vary in size which is one of the quirks of being an older building.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip along the Great Ocean Road!

Kind Regards,

Samia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    132
    38
    31
    16
See reviews for
58
162
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

$159 for such a tiny room. You could barely move in it it was so small

TV probably costs about $50

Noisy hallways because its such a cheap fit out

Walls just made of plaster

Squeaky floors

All would be ok if you weren't paying so much for the room. I think it's worth absolutely no more than $70

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPHLorne, Front Office Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Em J,

Thank you for your review of the Grand Pacific Hotel & Apartments.
We value all feed back and if you wish, would like the opportunity to discuss your stay further.
My email address is samia@grandpacific.com.au.

Kind Regards,

Samia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here on the spur of the moment while driving down the GOR. Since it was Winter other hotels had the kitchen closed for supper and all the restaurants I passed by were closed, so we ended up at the grand Pacific. All in all it wasn't bad, considering we were a late arrival.

Loved the cockatoos on the building and the old VW bus.

Room Tip: get a room on the second floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPHLorne, Front Office Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear dberis,

Thank you for reviewing the Grand Pacific Hotel, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Many places in Lorne do close over Winter, however the Grand Pacific stays open all year round!
Open fires in the lounge over the winter, makes it cozy place to relax and enjoy the views.

If you are ever in this part of the world again, we would love to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Samia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. Given the rating, we booked there and to our disappointment, it was far from average.

Hotel building is old which is fine, but the interiors are very old and not in good condition. Stains all over the carpet are noticeable and the fan in our bathroom does not work. No phones are to be found in the room so you cannot dial reception for help but always are required to go there yourself. The views are good but you get it from a shared verandah; another thing you're not told when booking. It's not good when you want to have your own privacy. Housekeeping was appalling. For starters, towels and sheets weren't changed during our stay not the towels as it only happens every three days as advised by the receptionist. We had used the wine and champagne glasses and there were obvious stains on them from use, however did not bother to replace them either. The bathroom is in a very old and shabby condition and the rooms carry an unusual smell from the old carpet. The daily buffet breakfast was average too. You don't have many options but basics are there. We have stayed at many hotels and they do offer variety and also chefs are happy to make you something different upon request, none of which occur here. For the extra money you pay do breakfast, it is not worth it.

The hotel is not far from main shops and its a nice stroll to a nearby pier with lovely views.

Management and service, particularly by the assistant manager Ryan was very appalling. At checkout, we had informed of such problems (amongst others) and he was very rude in his dealing. A person standing nearby heard the conversation and was disgusted at Ryan's mannerism, lack of professionalism and speech. He advised we should have informed of the issues earlier to move us. We reminded him that there was no vacancy so that wouldn't be possible hence why we didn't say anything and it was pretty much, pay up and no apologies.

You don't get value for money as its not a proper hotel, it is like a lodge and definitely does not deserve to be in the top 5 hotels in Lorne.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPHLorne, Owner at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Myous333

Whilst never having previously responded to a review; I find it necessary on this occasion. There are some factual errors in the review, however more alarming is the reference to one of our key personnel.

By way of background; The Hotel was built in 18775 and refurbished in 2000. There are 19 hotel rooms over 2 floors. Whilst boutique, we offer a range of accommodation from economical non view rooms right through to beautiful large king spa rooms for the more discerning traveler

Over the past 4 years we, at The Grand Pacific, have worked tirelessly to establish our reputation as an affordable and attractive destination for all.Whilst we are not perfect we have managed to do this through the hard work and professionalism of all our staff.

The overwhelming sentiment from our guests, as evidenced by reviews and direct feedback; is that our customer service is exemplary. This focus on service is led by the management team including our assistant manager Rhyan. Rhyan has in fact been singled out both personally and on Tripadvisor for his friendly, warm and outgoing manner. This disarming personality comes from a very passionate professional with whom I am proud to work. Rhyan has never received negative feedback of any sort and I assure guests they will be engaged by their experience with Rhyan as well as the other great staff at The Grand Pacific.

Paul Traynor
Owner
Grand Pacific Hotel and Apartments Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed there over Chrismas 2012 and were happy with the location. The weather was warm ,and thought it could have been better with air conditioning which it lacked. The food down stairs was always awesome. It was good to be a bit out of Lorne away from the Christmas crazyness ,and it was always quiet at night . A short walk to town was great for dinner also ....
Rooms were clean and nothing was too much trouble for the staff..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed in one of the apartments with my parents overnight, on a trip down the Great Ocean Road. I was really surprised at how well equiped it was - everything from a dishwasher to a dryer included in the price. Lovely wooden floors, a big widescreen TV and a fantastic view. If two couples shared this apartment it would be an absolute bargain. Check-in and out through the hotel was rapid and easy.

Room Tip: Good view even from ground floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

When first we arrived to check in our room wasn't ready. We went for a walk into town and came back after checkin time and they had upgraded our room to a king room. The reception was friendly and there was a sign saying if you check in on Facebook you get a freebie so we did and was advised we get a free tapas dish.

I had heard the rooms were run down and not to expect a lot but I was pleasantly surprised to find a very neat clean room comfy bed. Service with a smile.

Breaky was included and a general selection was available in a relaxed setting.

Would come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne

Address: 268 Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Lorne
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.