We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne to your Saves list
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
268 Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I booked 2 nights in an apartment and upon arrival were given an upgrade to a larger apartment with wonderful sea views. The staff at reception were friendly, helpful and professional. The apartment was clean, spacious and well equipped with all the essentials. The bed was a bit firm for my personal liking. Lots of towels. Most apartments are reached by stairs so if you require ground floor accomodation, it would be best to inquire about availability before booking.There are no elevators in the apartment complex. The food in the bistro was great, hot and tasty and the bistro staff were also friendly and helpful. There is plenty of parking underneath for apartment tenants. The location is great and a lovely 15 -20 minute walk along the sea front brings you to the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPHLorne, Front Office Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Christine J,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Grand pacific Hotel & Apartments. I am delighted you had a good time and enjoyed your upgraded apartment!
We have a couple of apartments on ground level and plenty of hands if you ever need help with luggage to rooms!
Our bistro menu is ever changing and we have our great summer menu on now so next time you are down from Melbourne we would love to see you back again!

Warm Regards,

Sam Bereiki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    132
    38
    31
    16
See reviews for
58
162
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Well, they haven't manipulated the photos. It's an interesting building in a great location with wonderful views. The balcony is accessible to all residents and is a super place to enjoy a drink and take in the view. That's what you're here for, right ?

Our room was a reasonable size but fairly sparsely furnished - it left a 'cold' impression. The bathroom was a masterpiece of design in ensuring that we could not get the kettle under any tap.

During the period we were there, no breakfasts were being served. Worth checking ahead if this is important to you. Decent rate on WOTIF, but the rack rate is stretching it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPHLorne, Front Office Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear BridgfordRed,

Thank you for writing about your stay at the Grand Pacific Hotel & Apartments. The Location is wonderful & glad you enjoyed the views from the balcony.

We do only serve breakfast on the weekends over our quieter period and whenever we can there are special prices online to ensure you get a good deal when you come down to Lorne!

We would love to welcome you back next time you are in this part of the world!

Warm Regards,

Sam Bereiki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stopped off here on our way down the Great Ocean Rd. Ryan the Manager was great, shouting us a beer while we waited for our room booking to come through then even upgrading us to a king spa room. The room was exactly what we needed - clean, well presented and great view of the ocean. As Ryan was so friendly we decided to keep our business at the Grand Pacific for dinner and we weren't disappointed. Yummy Afghan Special for me and a tasty beef and Guinness pie for hubby. Thank goodness we stayed there as we found the coffee joint back in town the next morning less than welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPHLorne, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear MeCatCat,

Thank you for writing about your experience at the Grand Pacific Hotel & Apartments, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves with our friendly service and I am delighted that Ryan was able to make your stay special.

Do give us a call when you are next heading down as we would love to have you back again!

Kind Regards,

Bryce Newcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

this hotel is a great place to eat! the staff are friendly and helpful and there is variety on the menu. we were welcomed on arrival and shown to a table within minutes, as soon as a table was free. we ordered a seafood platter for two and were not disappointed. the view and ambience made for a pleasant and relaxing evening.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPHLorne, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Bernadette L,

Thank you for great review of the Grand Pacific Hotel & Apartments. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening.
Our menu is always changing and we have an exiting new menu in the pipe line geared up for a warm summer with live music in the afternoons!
Next time you are coming down from Geelong we would love to have you back for another relaxing evening!

Kind Regards,

Bryce Newcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Myself and five other ladies stayed here for a girls night away, we had a fantastic time the apartment was amazing very comfortable more than enough room for all of us. We had dinner and breakfast here also it was just beautiful and the staff were amazing and very helpful. we will be back every year for our annual trip. keep the good work up guys!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPHLorne, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Crystal W,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Grand Pacific Hotel & Apartments, I am delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your time with us.
Our apartments do offer a great space for groups with stunning ocean views. I am very pleased to hear that you took advantage our our bistro too.
We look forward to seeing you back here again for your next annual trip!

Kindest Regards,

Bryce Newcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Loved the hotel, very historic and has a nice charm. Room was clean and although basic was very inviting and cosy. The restaurant downstairs has a decent menu and the food was tasty. Nice views from the hotel balcony and restaurant, although the room I stayed did not have views.
I really enjoyed my stay and it was reasonably priced, but the only downside was the noise that travels through the hallways - which I imagine is because the building is quite old.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPHLorne, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear ellasyn,

Thank you for review of the Grand Pacific Hotel & Apartments. We are always pleased to hear when a guest loves the hotel. This is a older historical property and while other pubs in town are open later into the night we do not have bistro that stays open later then our dinner service, so that all the rooms are able to enjoy a quiet night.
We have a variety of hotel rooms, some ocean facing and some not, but all have access onto our guest balcony which has stunning views over the water. Dolphins in the bay yesterday made it even more special for our guests!

When you are next down from Brisbane we would love you welcome you back again.

Warmest Regards,

Bryce Newcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed one night and were upgraded to a King room with a sea view. Check in was a simple affair and the room was big and the bed really comfy especially on a cold winter evening. Staff were friendly and tho the hotel is rather old, it is still a great lil place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPHLorne, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear WanderLust C,

Thank you for your feedback, we are always delighted to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and found the staff to be friendly!
We try to keep check-in and check-out as simple and efficient as possible for our guests, so that they can get to the more important things, relaxing and enjoying the views from the guest balcony! There were dolphins in the bay just yesterday which was a delight!

If you are ever back to Victoria and the Surf Coast we would love to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Bryce Newcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne

Address: 268 Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Lorne
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.