We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accomodation in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Lorne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Lorne to your Saves list
Mantra Lorne
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Mantra Erskine Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
“Comfortable accomodation in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked a heritage room in the main building. It was good value even though walking to our room through lots of passages and stairs was an interesting experience.
Comfortable accommodation with king bed and bath and shower.
The location could not be better being just a short walk to the beach and shops.
The Visitors Centre is a few steps away and I recommend you visit it as soon as you can as there is much to do in Lorne besides perusing the many shops on the main strip.
The Mantra has a lovely foyer and hot soup and wine is available at the main reception. The staff are efficient and friendly.
The pool is large and indoors. The lounges and dining room are big and the food good. A hearty breakfast is included in most packages.

Room Tip: If you like heritage then you get good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo R, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear WellTravelledAus,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Gustavo Romero
Rooms Division Manager
Mantra Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    193
    144
    79
    62
See reviews for
114
283
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed 1 night at the Mantra Lorne over a weekend in late May. I was travelling down the Great Ocean Road as part of my vacation to Melbourne.

The condo (apartment) was perfectly clean and more than enough space for two people. The bedroom/bathroom is well separated from the living area and kitchenette. The living area/kitchenette/balcony is definitely an advantage over a regular hotel room. I would recommend an apartment with either beach or tree/park views.

The complex was not particular busy it still offered all advertised services; gym/pool/spa/tennis court..etc. The restaurant was offering full service food and beverages with an open fire place; we didn't get a chance to eat there but it was always busy!

The beach and main street of Lorne are within a 2 minute walk from any of the apartments. Perfect location to explore the area!

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo R, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear cdettrich,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and what Mantra Lorne has to offer.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Gustavo Romero
Rooms Division Manager
Mantra Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We spent one night at the Lorne Mantra and overall it was a pleasant experience.
It is situated right in the heart of Lorne with direct access to the beach. Check in was easy with very friendly staff. We were booked into a Resort room which is in a separate appartment to the main complex. Apparently these are the top rooms but we asked to be moved closer to the pool and therefore were placed in a Heritage room. This is the old part of the complex and while it was quite comfortable with very comfie bed, there were many things missing which did impact on our stay. No powerpoints in the bathroom which made it difficult to blowdry /style hair. No towel rails close to the bathroom sink and a shower curtain!! I thought shower curtains went down with the Titanic!

On a positive note, the pool/spa was lovely, staff couldnt do enough to assist you and there is complimentary soup (pumpkin carrot) and mulled wine in the main lobby. Buffet breakfast was all you can eat - very substantial and good. We had dinner there which was also lovely - very cosy with gas log fire.

Room Tip: Dont choose the Heritage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo R, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Fiat957,

Thank you for your feedback, it is great to know that the staff provided you with great service during your stay and that you enjoyed what the restaurant had to offer.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Gustavo Romero
Rooms Division Manager
Mantra Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just had a lovely stay at the Mantra in one of their apartments down by the water. The accommodation and facilities were outstanding and the staff at reception were extremely friendly and accommodating. By far the best location in town. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo R, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Hamo1979,

Thank you for taking the time to provided feedback on your recent stay, I am very pleased to know that that you enjoyed the resort facilities, the service and the location.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Gustavo Romero
Rooms Division Manager
Mantra Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at Mantra Lorne for three nights this week in a Heritage room. We enjoyed the old building with its character and yet comfortably modernised.

Highlight would have been the breakfast with a wide range of hot foods, cereals, juices, breads and then a couch in front of the (gas) fire to read the morning paper.

We found the service excellent, mores so from the household staff than reception. On several occasions we made requests of them which were responded to graciously and promptly. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo R, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear go285,

Thank you very much for your feedback, I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us. The Heritage room indeed have a lot of character and history, these are my favourites rooms in the resort.

I am also very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the service and the breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Gustavo Romero
Rooms Division Manager
Mantra Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were gifted a night at the Mantra for Christmas and were quite looking forward to it. We even added in a second night to stay for the whole weekend!

The entire process was tiring though. Got there and they couldn't find our booking. When they eventually found it they apologised and upgraded us to the garden views room - nice huh? All well and good except for the fact that the room was quite clearly the "spare" room. The bed was actually two mattresses. The door that lead to the entrance to the room was broken and we could barely open it. Service was okay but considering we were "upgraded" and staying at a high end named hotel like The Mantra, we were expecting much more. Unlikely we would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo R, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear mcs501,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am disappointed to learn that you had problems at the time of check in, I have passed on your feedback to our Front Office Manager for her to address with the team and ensure that this does not happens again.

Once again please accept my apologies for a less than ideal arrival experience and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
Gustavo Romero
Rooms Division Manager
Mantra Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here last weekend. Ok, but all looks a bit tired.
Fantastic convenient location. 3 minute walk to Beach Pavilion restaurant (great).
Booked an apartment via Central phone number for two people with a sea view/balcony, for our wedding anniversary for one night only. I should have realised, but also no one suggested the obvious! 2 people/one night - why not stay in a studio with a sea view. Then I could have sat in bed and enjoyed the view. Not to be - our apartment had a lounge with sea view BUT our bedroom had NO window. A skylight with a blind over bed, but this couldn't be opened (as advised by reception) so no sky view either.
All rather disappointing. I enquired as to the difference of price. Could have saved $100 and had a sea view and breakfast included in a studio! Was told to book directly through the hotel direct at Lorne next time.
The other disappointing thing was - we'd had such a great stay at Mantra on Russell and thought it would be the same!
(Advised reception that breakfast (which we had to pay another $20p/p on top of the $220+) had no naming labels on all the foods - maybe an oversight!

Room Tip: Ask if there are pines in front of windows, otherwise you are paying for a partial sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo R, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Viv H,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your resent stay, I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspect of your stay.

I have shared your feedback with our reservations team as they should be giving you all the options available at the time of booking, I have also shared your feedback with our central reservations team as they aren’t based in the hotel but it is important for them to know your feedback.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the resort in the near future.

Please accept my apologies again for the shortcomings during your stay.

Kind regards,
Gustavo Romero
Rooms Division Manager
Mantra Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Lorne

Address: Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Mantra Erskine Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Lorne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only beachfront property in Lorne, Mantra Lorne offers wonderful accommodation in one of Australia’s most sought after destinations, the Great Ocean Road. Built around the oldest guesthouse in Victoria, Mantra Lorne is now a part of the rich history of Lorne and the surrounding region. With the beachfront location and the 12 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens that surround the resort, Mantra Lorne is the ideal setting for weddings and boasts the title of largest residential conference destination in Victoria. Providing numerous guest facilities, as well as being in an area full of off-site adventures, Mantra Lorne caters to the needs of everyone, making it the perfect holiday destination for families, friends, couples or business people. Relax by the indoor pool, have a hit of tennis or explore the Great Ocean Road for which Lorne is famed for. Offering resort, hotel, one and two bedroom apartments, an onsite restaurant and endota Day Spa you’re sure to be pleased, whatever your intended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Lorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Erskine Beach Hotel Lorne
Mantra Erskine Beach Lorne
Lorne Erskine Resort
Mantra Lorne South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Lorne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.