We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Lorne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Lorne to your Saves list
Mantra Lorne
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Mantra Erskine Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location and Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our Great Ocean Road trip and I was initially hesitant about booking here due to other negative reviews. However, a special on their Heritage Rooms was too good to refuse so we took a chance, and I'm glad we did.

The checkin staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the room was a good size, well maintained and clean, with all the amenities you'd expect. The included breakfast was excellent, and sitting out on the deck in the morning was amazing. Again, the staff at breakfast were friendly. The location is ideal and is the only hotel on the beach side of the road that we could see. It's a 2 minute walk to the main street for restaurants. I would definitely consider this again for a future trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra_Lorne, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I will certainly share your sentiments with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the property. Sincerely, Clayton Thompson EAM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    231
    187
    100
    78
See reviews for
140
361
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The accommodation was fine, the staff helpful and the location was ideal. We stayed here for one night on our drive along the coast as part of our 2.5 month holiday in Australia. What we didn't realise was how big a holiday Easter was down under and how almost everyone doubled their prices for the weekend. Having said that we also stayed at another Mantra location in Adelaide when it wasn't Easter and the rates were reasonable. So all in all a good hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra_Lorne, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Yes Easter is in deed a very time in Lorne. Im glad you enjoyed you stay both here and in Adelaide. Thank you for your review. Clayton Thompson EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Rooms were comfortable. Loved the sporting options - pool, lawn bowls close, tennis etc. local shops close. Most enjoyable short break... Friendly staff as well...My wife loved the day spa component. Pub close by was handy as well as bakery and coffee shops. Will be naval for sure..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra_Lorne, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property. Kind regards, Clayton Thompson EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Intercept (Victoria) had our annual conference at Mantra Lorne and everyone to a person raved about the property. They looked after all our conference needs, fed us very well and the rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. We will be back again for more.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the tennis courts also have ocean views and are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra_Lorne, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. I will pass on your commenst to the team. Kind regards, Clayton Thompson EAM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have stayed here for couple of nights over the weekend in the Heritage Room. Rooms are a bit dated but generous in size. We didn't like the fact that the bathroom sink was actually in the bedroom but we got used to it by the time we left. Bathroom is very small and there is very little space between the toilet and a shower so I think this could be a bit of a problem for an overweight person. There is no heating in the bathroom so it was quite cold for a shower, even more so if you've turned on the light which was connected to bathroom fan - brrrrr!! Not very pleasant in winter months.Also the bathroom needed a good dusting!
Room itself was clean and comfortable and so was the bed. Enough coffee/tea provided.
buffet breakfast was great, good selection of cold and hot food, and at $20 per person very good value.
Dinner at the restaurant was disappointing - we waited nearly one hour for our meal which was a club sandwich and tortellini. When we finally approached the waitress she apologised and said that she forgot to pass our order onto the kitchen. So after 1 hour and 40 minutes we finally got our dinner. Even for drinks we waited more than 15 minutes so the whole situation was quite disappointing.
Over all we had a pleasant stay and will return to Mantra; hopefully they'll improve their service in the restaurant by the time we are back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra_Lorne, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. Im very sorry that you had to wait as long as you did for your meals. Please contact me directly when you are next considering a trip to Lorne as I would personally like to handle your reservation. Despite the issues you experienced 'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that you will return. Sincerely, Clayton Thompson EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just the poor phone manners to start with.. Called them to query re the setting of a room, i.e., whether a particular room has a single bed for a child. The response was different to the info provided on one of the websites (webjet). The response was "she didn't do the website, so I have to take up the issue with someone who did the site"...


IF that's the customer service standard is before booking a room, not sure what level of service standards can be expected once you paid your money..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra_Lorne, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that our customer service was not what you expected. Please contact me directly on 03 5228 9703 to discuss your stay in detail. Kind regards, Clayton Thompson EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was lucky enough to spend Easter here with my Fiancée. We love Lorne and try and get there as often as we can (a few times a year). When we are there we stay at Mantra and are always impressed so I thought I would do my bit and write a review.
The staff are helpful, the grounds and location are awesome and we always find that the apartments/rooms are well appointed and clean. We love being near the cafes and restaurants and like to hike so there are heaps of good walks not far away.
Because we were there over the holiday break, we were a bit worried that it would be too noisy due to all the families with kids but our room near the beach was away from any noise. A nice touch we noticed was that there had been an Easter egg hunt arranged to keep the kids staying there entertained - unfortunately though my age meant I didn't qualify to join in, I even had to buy my own Easter egg this year!

Highly recommended for a getaway in an idyllic location.

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra_Lorne, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Easter was a wonderful time at the resort with lots of familes enjoying the fabulous weather. Im glad you enjoyed your stay and can guarantee that next Easter will be bigger and better. Regards, Clayton Thompson EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorne
0.9 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.2 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#3 of 9 in Lorne
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
24.2 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#2 of 6 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#5 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lorne
3.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Lorne

Address: Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Mantra Erskine Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Lorne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only beachfront property in Lorne, Mantra Lorne is tastefully built around the oldest permanently operating guesthouse in Victoria. Located on 12 acres of lush landscaped gardens, Mantra Lorne offers a range of facilities including a family friendly Brasserie and Bar, Endota Day Spa, 18 hole putt putt course and heated indoor pool. Local attractions surrounding and within easy reach of the resort include Erskine Falls, the Twelve Apostles, Split Point Lighthouse and the Angahook State Forest. Positioned at the gateway of the iconic Great Ocean Road, Mantra Lorne is less than an hours drive from Avalon Airport and under two hours drive from Melbourne. There is a range of accommodation options including resort rooms, one and two bedroom apartments as well as Heritage Hotel rooms. The one and two bedroom apartments are fully self contained and feature kitchen and share laundry facilities, reverse cycle air conditioning, private balcony and VCR or DVD players. One bedroom apartments can be conjoined with resort rooms to create a twin key two bedroom family environment. Resort rooms and hotel rooms feature a range of outlooks including filtered ocean views or garden views and some offer spa baths. Apartments are serviced every third day of stay (i.E. 4Th and 8th day) unless stipulated otherwise at the time booking. *Note - As bedding configurations vary please request your requirements at time of booking, but please note this request cannot be guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra Lorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Erskine Beach Hotel Lorne
Mantra Erskine Beach Lorne
Lorne Erskine Resort
Mantra Lorne South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Lorne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.