We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mexican Republic

Mexican Republic
Grove road, Lorne, Victoria, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 31 Restaurants in Lorne
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stumbled upon this funky little Mexican place whilst on a weekend away. I have an onion allergy and can only say that the team at Mexican Republic were so accommodating!! We both ordered beef burritos and they were great, very flavoursome. Service was friendly, music was good and food came out quickly. I wish this place wasn't so far from Melbourne, will have to come back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    4
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caringbah, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Little Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were staying the night in Lorne looking for something reasonably priced that is family friendly, we had done some research before leaving home & we weren't disappointed with this place. It is just off the main street, only small & they don't take bookings, we arrived at 6pm and the place was full by 6.30pm, extra seating outside with heaters but a bit too chilli for us! The food came quick which suited us & it was fantastic, really tasty, small quantities so we ordered extra, it was beautiful, the menu had enough on it to satisfy 2 adults & 2 older kids, no deserts though. I would definately recommend this place to try, they are also about to open another one in Geelong so look out for them there also.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Had a meal with family here in one of the booths in the small restaurant. I loved the fresh and tasty food. In fact I had the best burrito ever here. Others didn't find it as tasty but it's worth trying different options. Service was great and friendly. A fun and different option when in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Different take on Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Not your normal run of the mill Mexican fare which was nice to see some different takes on normal bland dishes. I had the Quesadilla’s which were excellent. However the Beef Burrito wasn't to my 7 year olds liking as it had some different fillings than a normal one so I swapped him for some taco's which he liked. Probably not great for kids but good for adults looking for a different take on Mexican food.

Also if you like it hot they had about three different types of HOT sauce to give your food an extra kick ! Which by the end of my meal I had sweat dripping off my hair it was so hot

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Something pleasantly different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were keen to have a kid free special dinner in Lorne, but been a long weekend everything was booked out. At first the idea of pizza or Mexican felt second rate. Fortunately we choose the Mexican Republic. This place doesn't do your typical Taco bill Mexican food, which is good. We felt adventures and tried the tostaditas and quesadilla, what a great choice. There was a kids menu as well, which was well received. For those crazy people who like their food very very spicy hot there was a selection of killer condiments......try a drop of the mean green stuff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexican Republic also viewed

 

Been to Mexican Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexican Republic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.