We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Mexican Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mexican Republic

Mexican Republic
Grove road, Lorne, Victoria, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 33 Restaurants in Lorne
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Balnarring, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Loved this small, casual restaurant. The menu was lovely and authentic, not like the standard Mexican chain restaurants, Good work guys - we will be back. Oh and did I mention the best Margarita!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    5
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lukewarm experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I dined here with friends on a Sunday evening in May 2013. After partaking in a local running event earlier that day we were pretty hungry and looking forward to a bit of treat.

The place is small, quite stylish and had some groovy tunes playing in the background. Staff trying hard to look and act cool. And cool was the theme of the evening. The room temperature was low. I am still not sure if the tacos we ordered were meant to be served cold. They were fresh and tasty but had no warmth in them whatsoever. The portion sizes were also on the minimalist side.

The margaritas my friends ordered looked tiny but I was assured they were good. Could not help thinking I was getting better value for money with my Corona though.

Probably ok for a drink and a bit of a snack if you are in the area and want a change to pub meals and Fish'n Chips but I am not in a hurry to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Mexican and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having eaten here several times recently, I'm surprised by some of the poor reviews. Each time I've been, the staff have been super friendly and the food has been great. It's a small restaurant and the menu isn't all that extensive, but it has many Mecican favourites. I think it's well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic & unique.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Loved the super-friendly service. Family friendly. Great atmosphere. Very authentic-tasting, yummy food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Has some very tasty Mexican here. Food sizes fairly small but very fresh. A bit expensive for size. Service was ok. Good meal overall.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexican Republic also viewed

 
Lorne, Victoria
 

Been to Mexican Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexican Republic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.