We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience Ever!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park to your Saves list
Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park
2 Great Ocean Road, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Mount Barker, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worst Experience Ever!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is terrible! Firstly the address is misleading. The address given is the correct address for one of the 5 parts of the park it is not where the office is. When we eventually found the place the staff were not very helpful. When I asked for linen I was handed sheets and 2 pillows for our cabin. No towels no blankets. when we got too our cabin it was dirty and very cold and all the windows were open. We looked for blankets and pillows and found none. We did find a small blow heater, that we had to plug in on the kitchen bench, as that was the only power point in the kitchen. Went back and got more blankets and pillows. It was only later we discovered that we did not have enough sheets. Went to the office no one there no number to contact.Rang left a message on the answer machine. Still no response. Awful STAY AWAY! There are plenty of other places to stay around this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S, Manager at Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I was very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we deeply regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the issues you experienced.
The check in office address is 2 Great Ocean Road, I believe some sat nav aids take travelers to the wrong end of Lorne. I will look into this problem.
There is a phone no. on all cabin/amenities tags if any of our inhouse guests wish to contact our onsite managers.
All cabins have 2 pillows, towels and blankets in cabin. I believe the problem with your bedding was a misunderstanding of sleeping arrangements.
I hope this has cleared up some of your issues, if not please feel free to call our office if you would like to speak to me personally.
Regards
Sharon Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    7
    9
    14
See reviews for
16
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were really disappointed with our stay at the LFCP. Never again. We booked for the location but everything else was disappointing. Felt like something out of Deliverance! No basics like hair dryers or towel hooks and no storage units so your luggage ends up all over the floor. Give it a miss. There are so many fantastic other places to choose from!

Room Tip: A family of 4 should not stay in a River View cabin they are much too cramped. Best for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S, Manager at Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I appreciate all your comments and have discussed them with my team.

We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the future to experience if for yourself.

Yours sincerely
Sharon Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beechworth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

terrible facility the worst staff ever hardly worth a review stay away please. The location is poor you are on side of busy road traffic noise all night as well as lights from street and supermarket.
Cabin we stayed in was filthy and worn out lights right out the front coming right through bedroom window.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere nothing about this place was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S, Manager at Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I apologise that you had a poor experience at the park during your recent visit. The issues raised with the cleanliness and maintenance have been discussed with the housekeeping manager to ensure this issue is resolved. I hope apart from this issue you had an enjoyable stay and we hope that next time we can exceed your expectations.
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

April 2013 we had a few nights at Lorne Caravan park.
A positive was that we could pick our tent site. Staff was friendly. I was just disgusted at the condition of the bathroom and showers. Walls were dirty with black marks , green organisems growing on the wall and a ball of hairs and filth on the shower floor. Cleaning is very minimal and is done in minutes but as can be expected not a great standerd. From observing I would not stay in the small cabins on the camping grounds. No privacy, no outdoor sitting oppertunity and very very tiny. Lorne itself is beautiful and worth a visit! No camp kitchen on the side we camped but there was one on the other side of the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Campsite jam packed with all caravans on top of eachother. Not grassy. Just dirty sand on floor and facilities quite dirty. Easter weekend so maybe why was so busy. Still only $35. Other campsites doubled prices! So better value. Right on main street of lorne by info centre.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our first caravan park on a 2-week road trip - we got put on a hill overlooking the water which was away from crowd. Poorly maintained sites but cobwebs all over the facilities. The power socket did not work and we did not even realize it until our water kettle worked when plugged into the bathroom socket. No hot shower at night. Not a very pleasant experience for first night. And $37 for one night!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I and my 2 nephews stayed here yesterday and OMG what a [--] hole! Cabin was disgusting! Filthy inside and out! No air con! Windows falling apart! Dirty dirty dirty! The mattresses my nephews slept on where thin and falling apart and looked about 20 years old! The only good point about this park is the location! The wildlife there is beautiful but they have signs everywhere telling u not to feed any of the wildlife! Personally I think they need to work on their strengths of location and wildlife a d not deter people from it! Avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park

Address: 2 Great Ocean Road, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park has five fantastic camp grounds on the Great Ocean Road in Lorne with beachfront and riverside locations. Our brand new river view cabins offer self contained boutique accommodation. We also offer affordable camping and onsite cabin accommodation, all in picturesque natural leafy settings and located only a short stroll to Lorne's pristine beach, local shops, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.