We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary - I prefer the Mantra Breakfree Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cumberland Lorne Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cumberland Lorne Resort to your Saves list
Cumberland Lorne Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   150 Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Ordinary - I prefer the Mantra Breakfree Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in Apartment 328, which has 2 bedrooms.

While clean, it was pretty ordinary. The bedrooms were dark (one only had an external window to the common corridor shared by all apartments), the layout was long but not wide and I found it strange that the shower/bath had a window to the living room.

I prefer staying at the Mantra, where the 2-bedroom "pods" have much more natural light and the living areas have a welcoming vibe.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumberlandManagement, Public Relations Manager at Cumberland Lorne Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Cumberland Lorne Resort. We appreciate your feedback on the layout of the two bedroom apartments at Cumberland. Overwhelmingly, guest feedback on the apartments at the Resort is positive, with many people commenting on the luxury of being able to soak in the spa looking out on the view. We appreciate this isn’t to everyone’s liking and trust you will enjoy your visits to Lorne in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    128
    47
    11
    5
See reviews for
94
120
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very nice, clean, new and pleasant to stay in. The kitchen had everything you could want, and the apartment was huge. It had a balcony that we could sit on to watch what was happening at the beach, and overall it was a really pleasant place to be. My only complaint would be that the walls were thin- in the morning, I was awoken by hearing someone coughing, and I was surprised when I realized it was not someone in my own room. Heard all the details of the neighbour's party the night before too til management shut it down. A.M. check out of 10 am was a bit early I thought, but it's the same as what we got at the other places we stayed in on the Great Ocean Road so maybe that's just the standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Anniversary trip along the Great Ocean Road. Fell in love with Lorne and overnight stay turned into 2 night stay. Big winner was the size of the apartment (1 bed), spa bath (overlooking lounge room), indoor pool, and close proximity to shops, beach and restaurants. Washing machine and dryer a bonus. Peter Morrisey toiletries very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Overnight stay here with adult son and husband on our way down Great Ocean Road. We checked in late (after 7pm) and were somewhat surprised to find that the extra bed (a roll-out) wasn't made up. Nor could we find evidence of additional towels for the 3rd guest. We rang the after hours number and spoke with a rather disinterested person who wasn't particularly helpful and after a little discussion it was suggested that we check the cupboards in the bedroom for linen. Yes we found a blanket, pillows and sheets there, so he made his bed, which was somewhat lumpy and uncomfortable. Extra towels were found under the sink in the bathroom. Room was quite spacious and the location across the road from the beach was great, however, we had to close our bedroom windows (facing the car park) because of outside noise. We felt that the room had seen better days as well. When we mentioned to reception the next morning about the bed not being made up, we were told that they don't usually do this as some people prefer to make their own beds. Really?? This is a 4 1/2 star establishment??

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumberlandManagement, Public Relations Manager at Cumberland Lorne Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Cumberland Lorne Resort. Our one bedroom apartments are large, and as such some of our guests choose to utilize the fold-out couch in the lounge/dining area of the apartments. Unless specifically requested, we don’t tend to make up the fold-out bed as many guests wish to use the couch for relaxing prior to using the bed – but we thank you for your feedback regarding your experience as it allows us to assess our communication of this message and improve it to improve the experience of future guests.

We’re pleased you enjoyed our beachside location and I encourage you to return to Cumberland Lorne Resort as we would love to ensure your next stay with us is a most enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Spacious , clean apartment, with stunning views from 3rd level apartment. Living area is great.
I'd avoid rooms where the bedroom windows open to the lift /stair / hallway. & check out noise level in bedrooms. I was hot weather & the room was a bit hot & stuffy. Only living area was air conditioned. Combined with significant level of machine noise heard coming from nearby , bedroom was unpleasant to stay in. (Berengaria)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We only stayed here for one night in the Arhcer building 2nd floor, the apartment was spacious, balcony had partly obscured ocean views and the spa bath was lovely. Didn't get a chance to use the pool facilities but it looked nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in a two bedroom ocean view top floor apartment. Check in was efficient and pleasant and the complimentary sparkling wine and chocs I had been promised were there. The apartment is large and light and airy with opening windows and a balcony. The view is great looking out on to the Lorne beach and up the Main Street. The indoor pool and spa were pleasant apart from the six young men who decided to drink beer by the spa despite signs everywhere saying not to do so. Management sorted that though after a complaint. The gym was fine and tennis courts well looked after. So the downside....for that much money I found the place a little disappointing. I expected it to be 'swankier', more upmarket. So for me too much money even though the view was great and the location very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorne
0.6 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
24.5 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#2 of 6 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#3 of 9 in Lorne
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#5 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lorne
3.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
22.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Lorne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Lorne Resort

Address: 150 Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cumberland Lorne Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cumberland Lorne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Lorne Hotel Lorne
Cumberland Resort Lorne
Cumberland Hotel Lorne
Cumberland Lorne Resort South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumberland Lorne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.