We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable dining in superb ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lorne Beach Pavilion

Lorne Beach Pavilion
81 Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
+61 3 5289 2882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Lorne
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: International, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Lorne Beach Pavilion offers Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner options daily from a Cafe style menu. The Cafe menu can be enjoyed sitting beachside on the expansive outdoor deck, or (on cooler days in the cosy, heated) al fresco area and restaurant area. We are offering table service only during dinner time for our inside al fresco and restaurant area. Reservations are preferred and recommended for dinner. We also specialise in all types of functions including corporate lunches/dinners and weddings. More information is available on the venue website.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable dining in superb ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

It 's the total experience, the food, service, views and ambience of the pavilion . We shared the meat platter for entree and do not recommend, supermarket deli meats. However our steaks were superb and the chocolate cake was light, amazing and don't leave without trying. Great place to treat yourself while on holidays. The waiter was relaxed and had a personality that made the night even more enjoyable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    62
    26
    17
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong Bellarine, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice casual dinning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Enjoy nice food that is reasonably priced while taking in the beautiful view. Seating inside and outside.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Avoid this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a disappointment! This place with divine setting and opportunity to be great, was a huge let down for our very large party to have a Recovery Breakfast following a magnificent beach wedding the day before!The management had been asked months before if they could cope and we were given the OK! Yes it was School Holidays too, but 90 mins for some meals to arrive and when they did many had to be sent back, EVEN TOAST that was cold dried out bread was sent back several times! Dry tasteless Pancakes missing the yogurt and barely discernible maple syrup described! Some cooked meals were OK but staff were mostly unhelpful and unfriendly.
The only low spot in a great weekend! Time for new ownership/management/staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad and hope you have patience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Was recently at Lorne for a wedding which was followed by brunch at Lorne Beach Pavilion. The wedding party had informed the restaurant that there would be a large gathering, however it looked like the restaurant forgot and were overwhelmed by the number of people. Had ordered a breakfast burger which took 45 minutes to come and came out cold. Many of the other guests got a refund and left.

I'm sure that if it was on another, not so busy day, they may have been faster.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wow ... spectacular view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stopped at the Lorne Beach Pavillion for a cool afternoon drink (happy hour is from 3 to 6, including 2-4-1 cocktails). People were enjoying a late lunch/early dinner and the tasting platter for two looked amazing!!! There were baths behind the eating area, but we didn't hear any noise from there. Once again, we enjoyed the casual, relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff. The table and chairs were weathered natural wood which suited the beachside atmosphere. It was an opportunity to really unwind from our busy work life. The highlight for us was sipping red wine (for me) and cocktails while chatting away and admiring the view. The soothing sound of small waves hitting the sand helped make this a great place to eat, drink and enjoy good company.

There weren't many spare tables so many others were of the same opinion as us. We stayed for just over two hours.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lorne Beach Pavilion also viewed

 

Been to Lorne Beach Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorne Beach Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.