We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and convenient.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lorne Coachman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lorne Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Lorne Coachman Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Deans Marsh Rd | Cnr Great Ocean Rd & Deans Marsh Rd, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Clean, comfortable and convenient.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

My son and I stayed 3 nights and found the Coachman to be very good. Terry was helpful and suggested plenty of activities, it was a pleasant walk into town however it would be a bit of a hike with a pram or very young children.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    46
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
17
49
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Palace
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

We only stayed one night with our baby (5 month old) and it was good. Nice lady on reception very informative and helpful and offered to change our room to 1st floor instead of 2nd so we didn't have to carry everything up with the baby as no lift.
The location is just as you drive into Lorne from Torquay direction and is a little bit more of a walk from main beach front and shops but only by 5 minutes. There is a big food shop just next door which is handy to pick up things. Lovely town on the whole but not sure why on earth they let them build a really big grey concrete resort/hotel right on the road on the middle of town doesn't exactley add to the picturesque feel of the town but that's a small moan.
The room was fine with small kitchenette facilities and bathroom with big shower but no bath which is fine. Could do with some updating as it quite dated and looks a bit tired now. Other than that fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

I recently stayed here with my partner and we were overwhelmed by the friendliness of the owners (Terry & Angela). We had driven from Melbourne after work so didn't arrive until 8pm but as soon as we arrived, we were greated as though we had known them for years. Angela even ran ahead to put our heater on!

The room was very nicely decorated, clean and a great kitchenette if you are planning on a longer stay. We ordered a cooked breakfast which was brought to our room the following day and was delicious.

Lorne is a relatively small village and from this hotel you could quite easily walk to many restaurants and cafe's (10mins) - having said that, in Winter it was a little chilly! Even though we were there off-season, it was a very busy little town so I would hate to see it in the middle of summer. My advice is to go slightly off season to avoid the rest of the world and make your journey along the Great Ocean Road a lot quicker.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bucks
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Hotel basic but very clean.Reminded me of US motels from the 1970's

No breakfast room but up the beach 1/2 amile away is apleothera of small restraunts offerering breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

We recently stayed here on a getaway to the Great Ocean Road. We did not want to spend heaps as there is such a variety of accomodation and the reviews on here were great.

Our first experience was with Angela before we arrived. We were getting in at 2am and they were happy witn this and even had the room ready with the heater getting the room toasty for us on as it was winter. There was a electric blanket as well which was bliss!

We had booked for 2 nights initially but stayed another night as the price was right, the accomodation comfortable and the service great. They matched the last minute websites for all the nights so we just paid direct.

The free movies are in most cases not even out at the video store but we were there to drive the road so could only catch the night movies. Everything inclduing the mini bar was reasonably priced which is such a difference.

Lorne is a quiet place off season...very quiet but this means you relax.

Had a great stay and the place was just what we expected and we would stay here again no problems. Terry and Angela were great to meet.

Two Thumbs Up

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Good spot, second floor is a pain though
Excellent latest movies in room are free

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

This is standard Motel style accomodation, that I used while exploring the Great Ocean Road. Lorne is a great place to stop, as it offers a good choice of cafes and restaurants. The host was extremely pleasant and made sure I knew exactly where I was heading on my travels. You could order a continental breakfast the night before, as there was no option for a cooked breakfast. The mini bar in the room was easily the most reasonably priced I came across during my stay in Australia.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorne Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Coachman Inn

Address: 1 Deans Marsh Rd | Cnr Great Ocean Rd & Deans Marsh Rd, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lorne Coachman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Coachman Inn. AAA certified & rated means you know what standard to expect. Stay at this centrally located Lorne motel, close to the beautiful forests of the Great Otway National Park and the dramatic scenery of the Great Ocean Road. The Lorne Coachman Inn offers 3.5 star accommodation in Lorne, Victoria. All rooms have kitchenettes, air conditioning, Foxtel cable TV and wireless broadband Internet access FREE to guests. There are also four spa rooms. Other facilities at this Lorne motel include a relaxing BBQ area and complimentary off-street car parking. Try our delicious, home-cooked breakfasts during your stay. The Lorne Coachman Inn is close to a variety of local attractions and activities, such as beaches, surfing, fishing, native forest bushwalks and waterfalls. Or, if you are not into the outdoors, indulge in some retail therapy and enjoy the town's many restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lorne Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lorne
Lorne Best Western
Lorne Coachman Inn South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorne Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.