We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stopover point if travelling the Great Ocean Road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lorne Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lorne Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Lorne Coachman Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Deans Marsh Rd | Cnr Great Ocean Rd & Deans Marsh Rd, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ideal stopover point if travelling the Great Ocean Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

This is standard Motel style accomodation, that I used while exploring the Great Ocean Road. Lorne is a great place to stop, as it offers a good choice of cafes and restaurants. The host was extremely pleasant and made sure I knew exactly where I was heading on my travels. You could order a continental breakfast the night before, as there was no option for a cooked breakfast. The mini bar in the room was easily the most reasonably priced I came across during my stay in Australia.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    56
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
63
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

The Best Western in Lorne is a really nice, friendly, clean hotel. Terry and Angela, the owners welcomed us on arrival as I went mad with excitement at the Kookaburras, rosellas and cockatoos on the wall in their yard! The room was spotless and a lot of thought had gone into making it comfortable from the decor itself to the water supplied in the fridge. Angela recommended a great little bistro the Ba-Ba-Lu (?), a couple of minutes walk away and the food was gorgeous. Terry let me hand feed the rosellas and I was in my element. I got the most amazing photographs of the Kookaburras too. Lorne itself was my favourite spot on the GOR and if you are thinking of doing it I would highly recommend you stop off in Lorne at the Great Western.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

Had a 3 night stay here on a "Getaway"deal with our 2 year old grandaughter for $102 pn.(charged for 3 Adults as no child $ policy) Good sized room (modern/fresh/clean) on 2nd floor down the end in great position and nice and quiet. Our room had a queen bed and extremely comfortable sofabed and a well equipped kitchenette so were able to heat food in microwave. Also ordered room service breakfast which was enjoyable. The managers feed cockies/kookaburras on the fence which was great to see. The Motel itself is at the Gelong edge of town opposite a boardwalk/ swingbridge to beach-enjoyable and easy 5 minute walk. This is a perfect position as nice quiet area but still close to everything.Managers Terry and Angela are very friendly and helpful. No charge for washing-drying in the laundry except if you want washing powder which is $2 per load.Weather was drizzly while we were there so the free foxtel movies/programs were helpful to fill in some time although there is still plenty to see/do on GOR regardless of the weather. Free offroad secure parking but no pool/playground but beach and many playgrounds are minutes away. The only downside is that they charge Adult price for all children regardless of how young they are-most other places do not charge for under 3 year olds. They make up for this though with the way the room is serviced everyday.
Would definitely reccommend to anyone wanting to stay in Lorne.

  • Liked — Position and quality of Motel.
  • Disliked — 2 year old charged as Adult-no child rate policy.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

We arrived in Lorne during our honeymoon roadtrip. Not having booked any hotels in advance, we checked out the Best Western.
We were pleasantly surprised when they had rooms available for AUD 99. (I think the rates in high season may well be over AUD 200!)
The room itself looked like a four star hotel room and was very clean. It had a kitchenette with fridge and microwave and free movies on the TV. The prices for drinks in the fridge were incredibly cheap - around AUD 15 for a bottle of wine! - probably no dearer than the supermarkets. The bathroom had a large shower, sink and toilet, but er no bath! I think the rooms were upgraded sometime during 2006.
Contrary to another review of this hotel, I found the guy on reception to be very friendly and helpful. He even offered advice on which routes to take when driving back to Melbourne. It may well have been a different person though!
The hotel is located at the northern end of town. You can walk to the main street and beaches with ease.
In our opinion Lorne is the best town on the great ocean road coast - definately the prettiest, with mountain views behind the town.
Overall a great hotel and good location.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — Having to leave it
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

We phoned ahead in the morning and we had no problems. The room was clean and the bathroom large. Everything worked and the kitchenette was amply supplied. There was a very noisy group with wild children but they settled down by bedtime. Owner was aware of this and kept an eye on the noise! Would recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

At $99 per night, my husband and I were not complaining! However, we were pleasantly surprised to find the place was not too bad. The decor and appearance is a little dated, but the place was clean and roomy. The bathroom had a spacious shower cubicle. There was a kitchenette that contained a microwave, cutlery, toaster, sharp knives and chopping board.

The room also offered free digital tv (with 2 channels of in house movies).

The bed was ok - not huge, probably a Double?

The hotel is within driving distance to the main shops (well, everything is in Lorne I guess!) and was generally quiet.

There is also a bbq and free laundry facilities (you provide the washing powder) which looked fairly modern.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay overnight.

(PS we found the place through the tourist info centre at Lorne - we turned up there on the day and the info centre told us which places had vacancies that night - the Best Western was one of them).

  • Liked — Free digital tv and in house movies.
  • Disliked — Entry into car park is tight.
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

I inquired about staying there and received a prompt reply confirming availability. I telephoned to provide the credit card details, upon which I was advised that the price was now $170, and not the $150 which I'd been offered in the email only 5 minutes earlier. Beyond that, the proprietor was incredibly rude, explaining why the offered price was wrong and telling me that they probably wouldn't honor their own email offer. I sent the email back to them (in case they had lost it :-)), thus far however, they never even bothered to respond. I'll consider that we're lucky to have never stayed there, and wouldn't wish to stay there now at any price. This situation was in such stark contrast to the kindness with which our other dealings with Australian hoteliers has been characterized. Embarrassing.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorne
1.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.5 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#5 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lorne
3.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Lorne Bay View
24.2 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#2 of 6 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Coachman Inn

Address: 1 Deans Marsh Rd | Cnr Great Ocean Rd & Deans Marsh Rd, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lorne Coachman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Coachman Inn. AAA certified & rated means you know what standard to expect. Stay at this centrally located Lorne motel, close to the beautiful forests of the Great Otway National Park and the dramatic scenery of the Great Ocean Road. The Lorne Coachman Inn offers 3.5 star accommodation in Lorne, Victoria. All rooms have kitchenettes, air conditioning, Foxtel cable TV and wireless broadband Internet access FREE to guests. There are also four spa rooms. Other facilities at this Lorne motel include a relaxing BBQ area and complimentary off-street car parking. Try our delicious, home-cooked breakfasts during your stay. The Lorne Coachman Inn is close to a variety of local attractions and activities, such as beaches, surfing, fishing, native forest bushwalks and waterfalls. Or, if you are not into the outdoors, indulge in some retail therapy and enjoy the town's many restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Lorne Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lorne
Lorne Best Western
Lorne Coachman Inn South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorne Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.