We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value family motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lorne Coachman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lorne Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Lorne Coachman Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Deans Marsh Rd | Cnr Great Ocean Rd & Deans Marsh Rd, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    56
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
24
62
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed there on 25th August 2012.
THe rooms were clean tidy and Terry and his wife were most accommodating. Room was warm when we entered.
THe only drawback was that we were situated on the 2nd floor and had to lug our stuff up the stairs - we are senior citizens.

Room Tip: Worth a stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Beachman 1945,

Thank you for your kind review & pleased your enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards
Terry & ANgela Richards
Best Western
Lorne Coachman Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Great Ocean Road was a bit of a dissapointment but the service at the Best Western Lorne made up for it. We (Family of 3) Stayed overnite on 25/8/12 and could not praise Terry and his wife highly enough. When we arrived he had already popped on the heater so that our room was so warm and inviting to come in from the winter's cold. Gorgeous Rosella's, King Parrot's, Cockatoo's, Galah's and Kookaburra's all frequented the hotel too. Much to the amusement of many children nearby. They were wild but so used to humans that one tried to take my husbands wedding ring :) The room was nice, clean and well appointed. It was so quiet even though it appeared to be very busy. When we wanted to go out to dinner Terry called around possibly every restaurant in the town to try and get us a reservation and couldn't have been more happy to do so. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and wouldn't hesistate to recomment it to all who ask.

Room Tip: We were on the Upper Floor Room 20 on the far end, dead silent wouldn't have even known their we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Fish0316,
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again one day. The birds are always here.
Regards
Terry & Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

It's a typical motel, room was cozy and clean, laundry available on each floor and parking.
We woke up with parrots chirping on the balcony. Friendly owners gave us directions about the trip.
Our first taste of Australia on the road!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear ciuppoletta,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards
Terry & Angela Richards
Best Western
Lorne Coachman Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in the Best Western Lorne for one night, and were very pleased with what we got in the room. The room was very comfortable, with a nice queen size bed, and one of those fold out bed-couches. The room also had all the amenities that you'd expect, and even a few more, such as dishware and a microwave. There was also a little basket with a bunch of snacks in it, like Mars bars and everything, and they were reasonably priced, with the most expensive item being an 11 dollar bottle of Aussie wine. There were also drinks in the fridge, and to our surprise, one of them was a bottle of champagne, something that I have never seen in a hotel before. All rooms have a reasonably sized flat screen TV that has Foxtel cable. Rooms also have free WiFi, but you have to get some of those little cards that have a password and username on them from Terry or Angela at the front desk. My only gripe about the WiFi is that you only have 300MB of internet usage for 24 hours, so you can't download anything or watch any YouTube videos. The bathroom was very nice, and had a nice, spacious shower stall. Everything in the bathroom worked perfectly, but the floor was a little chilly, which made it unpleasant to walk in there barefoot. The only thing I really disliked about the room was the heater, which made a very loud noise in the morning, a bit like a screeching sound. The managers, Terry and Angela are awesome. They are really helpful, and can give you info on just about anything that has to do with touring Victoria. Also, every morning and evening, a big group of cockatoos and 8 kookaburras come to the hotel's parking lot to get a meal from Terry, who feeds the cockatoos seeds and the kookaburras raw meat. He was kind enough to even give me a piece of the meat so I could feed the kookaburra that was closest to me, which was quite fun. I highly recommend staying at this hotel, because it is great value and really comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Cameron M,

Thank you very much for your review. Our aim is to please all our guests & are delighted that you had a pleasant & enjoyable stay.
Hope to see you again on day.

Regards

Terry & Angela Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Very nice hotel right on main road through town. Manager Terry was very pleasant and helpful. He was very helpful with pointing out places to see the local birds and koalas. We were able to walk to the local supermarket and pick up food we could eat in our room that evening. We wish we had had more time in this lovely town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear FlashVirginiaUSA,

Thank you very much for your review. We hope you can return some day.

Regards

Terry & Angela Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

A very nice place to stay in Lorne/Great Ocean Road. Good location, easy to find and park while touring the Great Ocean Road. Very comfortable room, with all the amenities.
And above all, extremely nice and helpful personal, they helped us in planning our route, showed good places to spot koalas ...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear VL L,
Thankyou for your review. We are pleased you liked your stay with us & hope to see you again some day.
Regards
Terry & Angela Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorne
1.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.5 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#5 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lorne
3.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Lorne Bay View
0.6 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#8 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Coachman Inn

Address: 1 Deans Marsh Rd | Cnr Great Ocean Rd & Deans Marsh Rd, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lorne Coachman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Coachman Inn. AAA certified & rated means you know what standard to expect. Stay at this centrally located Lorne motel, close to the beautiful forests of the Great Otway National Park and the dramatic scenery of the Great Ocean Road. The Lorne Coachman Inn offers 3.5 star accommodation in Lorne, Victoria. All rooms have kitchenettes, air conditioning, Foxtel cable TV and wireless broadband Internet access FREE to guests. There are also four spa rooms. Other facilities at this Lorne motel include a relaxing BBQ area and complimentary off-street car parking. Try our delicious, home-cooked breakfasts during your stay. The Lorne Coachman Inn is close to a variety of local attractions and activities, such as beaches, surfing, fishing, native forest bushwalks and waterfalls. Or, if you are not into the outdoors, indulge in some retail therapy and enjoy the town's many restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Lorne Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lorne
Lorne Best Western
Lorne Coachman Inn South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorne Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.