We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Tea House

River Tea House
4B Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria, Australia
03 5289 2099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 31 Restaurants in Lorne
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

wonderful find. Best scones ever.
great attention to detail. I can't wait to
go back. Scones and cakes were terrific
and very extensive range of beautiful teas.
This Teahouse has been extended since my
last visit and now has much more indoor
seating. I loved it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over priced and no attention to detail”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

These guys are really cashing in on their kitsch look and feel. $5 for a pot of tea, $5 for a scone (one, with average jam) and very little love all round. Their are great places in town, don't be fooled by the look of this one.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Alittle over priced, staff average. For a speciality tea place I would have thought they would have raw sugar, not just cheap packet white sugar and whats with the craft honey! The mass amount of flys we're also a massive turn off. Despite all of this the food was great, soup was fantastic and chicken sandwich, yum! Maybe just get takeaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great tea and carrot cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a great quirky tea room with a huge selection of teas from which to choose. The Yoga Tea is delightful and my husband chose the Farmers Breakfast blend, a strong and robust tea which he thoroughly enjoyed. We had afternoon tea and the best carrot cake I have had in ages. It's a lovely place to spend an hour or so and the staff are very friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Gluten free heaven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This quirky and wonderful tea room is a real find. The range of gluten free options and wide range of teas make this place a real gem! Don't miss it when you're in Lorne, highly recommended!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Tea House also viewed

 

Been to River Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Tea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.