We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but would go back for their great hamburgers.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Salty Dog Fish & Chippery

The Salty Dog Fish & Chippery
1 Cumberland Resort, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
03 5289 1300
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Lorne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Healthy
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Victoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive, but would go back for their great hamburgers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Expensive! Having said that my husband's hamburger was the biggest we have ever seen, and from all accounts, very enjoyable. My fish and salad was so-so. However, the employees were very helpful and full of good cheer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Great fish and chip shop. Fish was a good size, potato cakes were bad very thin and mostly batter. Chips were great, all fresh and cater well for gluten free, variety to chose from on menu.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Would go out of my way to go here...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Came here for the first time on Schoolies 4 years ago, and it was amazing. Since then, I have come back twice and it has been just as good! LOVE the bacon and egg burgers, and my boyfriend had a great Barra burger, too. Parents didn't like the barra on it's own though, thought it was too big and greasy. If you stick to the burgers, you can't go wrong! Service is also a winner!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Large menu; excellent fish 'n' chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had a hamburger from here a couple of years ago, and enjoyed it so much that I suggested to my partner we stop here for tea on the way back from Apollo Bay. Nothing's changed -- the hamburger my partner ordered was enormous like the one I had a couple of years ago, excellently presented in a sturdy cardboard container, with a big wooden skewer through it to hold it all together. I must admit, I had used a knife and fork from my hotel room to eat mine, and he struggled using just his hands. I had fish and chips on this occasion, which I'd give 8 out of 10. We were impressed how quickly our food was cooked.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Crapola”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Came to nearly $50 for four of us. Very salty, cut my mouth. Hair and bone iny piece of 'whiting'. Pretty sure it was not whiting. Paid nearly $10 for it, was tiny, thin and tasted horrible. Other fish definitely not worth the price.

Sweet potato fritter was good. Came in boxes instead of wrapped in paper. All outdoors table seating was really really sticky and had water on it when it hasn't rained in ages. Would rather eat a salty dog than eat here again.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salty Dog Fish & Chippery also viewed

 

Been to The Salty Dog Fish & Chippery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salty Dog Fish & Chippery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.