We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Hike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Erskine Falls

Erskine Falls
Erskine Falls Road, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Lorne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the Hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you want to see this waterfall and you're fit and able the best way to see it is to do the 14km return hike up the river from Lorne. Fantastic walk with a rewarding view at the end.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    145
    24
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lots of stairs but well worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lots of stairs but well worth the effort - just don't rush your visit and all will be well. Lovely waterfall can be viewed from parking lot lookout as well so if you can't manage them you can still view the falls from the top.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful waterfall, makes for some fantastic photography!

Not sure about the complaint of the long walk - it's 80m to the top view and 220 to the bottom view - not long at all!

Would definitely recommend as a stop over :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Only just worth the detour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were driving from Melbourne Airport to Apollo Bay for our first overnight stay in Australia. We made the detour from the Great Ocean Road to view the not so impressive small falls. It's a longish walk as well. I didn't take many photos so on that basis at best average.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice waterfalls, easy to get to. Having just had our esky stolen from the caravan park in Lorne I was reluctant to leave our campervan unattended. At least there was a sign on approach warning you not to leave valuables in your car. Obviously there is a criminal element in this place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erskine Falls also viewed

 

Been to Erskine Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erskine Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.