We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chatby Lane Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chatby Lane Apartments to your Saves list
Chatby Lane Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4 Howard Street, Lorne, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Certificate of Excellence
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great stay in Lorne and the great ocean road. The place is very clean and well managed. Its couples only and very peaceful. Room is very good, comfortable and relaxing.
The room has everything you need (Microwave, toaster, ...)

Doug and Karen are great and very friendly, they gave us breakfast for free since our check-in got delayed for 10 minutes. Contact them directly and you will get a better price than any other website.

I recommend to stay here and I will return soon.

Room Tip: You can pick the SPA size you want, for one or two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
106
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wetaskiwin, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you ever happen to look for a place to stay in Lorne, go straight to this place. Doug was the most helpful person we came across so far, the room was clean, spacious and quiet, but what blew us away were the visits
of no less than 4 different bird species to our balcony including Kookaburra. What a treat!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had cause to spend 2 nights in Lorne, on our way down the Great Ocean Rd, and chose the Chaby Lane B&B at the suggestion of the local Information Centre. This was a most comfortable and relaxing venue. The owners Karen and Doug were so helpful and could not do enough to make our time in their area enjoyable. This B&B offers really good value for money and is highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here recently on a two night stay. Karen was most welcoming, showed us to our room and pointed out where everything was. Breakfast and a bottle of wine was included. We enjoyed a room with a view on the 1st floor overlooking the ocean. The room was clean, spacious and came with a kitchenette (full size fridge, microwave, toaster), large bathroom with a single person spa bath. Indoor and outdoor tables and chairs are provided. Lovely to sit on the balcony on a sunny day. Karen pointed out the attractions and facilities of Lorne and its surrounds. Would be happy to return.

Room Tip: The 1st floor rooms at the Chatby Lane end have ocean views thru the tree tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the end of September in a Luxury Spa Apartment and loved it! Staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, the apartment was very clean, spacious and modern with a full separate kitchen, meals and lounge and a separate bedroom and large bathroom. It also had a large balcony that overlooked a semi bush setting and the ocean in a distance and our own undercover car space underneath! What more could you want? The walk to the beach and shops took approximately 10 minutes. Chatby Lane is ideal for couples who want a peaceful and relaxing getaway to Lorne who don't mind not staying on the main street. Thank you for a great stay as it was faultless!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
227 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

There was a lot that was good about this place: Doug was very nice, the wine was good, the location, fine. However, in my room, the bottom of drapes were covered with black mold and smelled very bad. I was too tired/timid to complain about it at the time, but it really did ruin my impression of the place. (I'm sure other rooms, without this problem, are fine.) Once this is taken care of, and the carpet below the drapery cleaned, it will be good again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were on our 1st anniversary trip along the great ocean road and decided to stop over at Lorne. We found the Chatby Lane Apartments online and booked it with no hassles at all. We booked 2 nights which included breakfast and a bottle of wine. The lady looking after the reception was very pleasant and so very helpful and welcoming. The rooms were lovely and we had a great view of the bay. It was also a nice short walk to the beach and the shops were only 5 minutes by walk also. Thanks for a lovely stay and would recommend these apartments to everyone!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.4 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#3 of 9 in Lorne
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#5 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
1.3 mi away
Qdos Arts Treehouses
Qdos Arts Treehouses
#3 of 22 in Lorne
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#8 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatby Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatby Lane Apartments

Address: 4 Howard Street, Lorne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatby Lane Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatby Lane is affordable luxury boutique accommodation. Reward yourself and stay in one of our luxury apartments or deluxe studio suites with ocean views and double spas available. Chatby Lane, a place to unwind and discover the simple luxuries of life... a walk along the beach, a long lazy breakfast, time spent with your partner or simply experience the peace, privacy and informal ambience of our boutique accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Chatby Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatby Lane Apartments Lorne, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatby Lane Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.