We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accommodation close to the beach and town of Lorne.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chatby Lane Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chatby Lane Apartments to your Saves list
Chatby Lane Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4 Howard Street, Lorne, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice accommodation close to the beach and town of Lorne.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I had a great stay at Chatby Lane in Lorne over New Years. The main issue was the price was quite high over that period but I'm sure it is like that with most accommodation over New Years. Doug and Karen were very friendly and accommodating.
The rooms were very clean and the double spa was huge.
I did expect an oven and hot plates in the kitchen so was disappointed to find there was only a microwave to cook with.
The beach wasn't entirely visible from the ground floor apartment but it was a short downhill walk. The town and only supermarket were only a short distance away also.
I love the fact the apartment is for couples only, it was a very peaceful and relaxing stay. I recommend it to any couple wanting to spend time in Lorne.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
106
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

An absolutely wonderful location within walking distance of the main shopping strip and only a few hundred metres away from the beach. A spacious, great value apartment with a functioning kitchenette and some useful utensils for once. Each room seems to have a set of french doors facing the sea. Quiet, serene, and with lots of native birds flying around.

Room Tip: Call Doug and Karen and find out if you get a room with a view or not. Second floor rooms have the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here on 15th November. Chatby Lane is just a few minutes drive to the township of Lorne. Really a great place to stay .Peace and quiet. The apartment was spacious and well maintained .Waking up to the the sounds of birds in the morning , having your breakfast delivered to your room and just taking it so easy...aaah that is life! Doug and Karen were perfect hosts and though they were busy cleaning up , Doug took time to make us feel welcome. and to show us a few rooms. We always prefer to stay in an owner operated accommodations as the service tend to be better.
The only slight problem was the bed creaking. We were told that it would be attended to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Chatby Lane in November 2012. And can't fault the place. From the moment we arrived from the long drive on the great ocean road (we did it in reverse), Doug made us feel very welcome and talked us through local attractions and places to eat. He walked us to the room and made sure we knew how to work everything. Lovely man.
Cockatoos are pretty tame in the area and sit on the balcony's and you can even hand feed them. Was lovely for my boyfriend from overseas. Our room was on the bottom floor and you get some filtered sea views. Room was very clean and large.
Very quiet and peaceful and didn't see many other people during our stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tas, Aus
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was a really good place to stay. We had an apartment with kitchenette which had everything we needed. There were sea views from the balcony. The room was clean and comfortable with nice furnishings. The owners are really friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back if in the area

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here Sept 28th for 2 nights in the spa apartment. Very spacious & clean. We met Doug (one of the owners), he was very friendly and helpful, nothing seemed to much trouble. This place is very quiet and relaxing, which is what we were looking for. Its a short drive to the main street,( restaurants & shops) and about 10-15min walk, but would be quite a trek coming back (very hilly). All in all a very pleasant stay.
I would recommend Mark's restaurant, excellent service and gr8 food and also The Maple Tree these two are abit more up market, and there are plenty of other eateries to suit most tastes and also a couple of good pubs the Lorne Hotel and one a little further out the Grand Pacific. Expect to pay a little more at most of the places to eat in Lorne, I suppose its how these small towns survive. Also, I just rememered, there is only 1 taxi for the whole of Lorne, his car broke down while we were there, and that was it no replacement nothing LOL

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I booked the B&B for a surprise birthday weekend, and was glad to find no surprises when we arrived. The accommodation was exactly what was promised and the warm service just made our stay perfect. The room was spacious and equipped with just everything we needed, a mini fridge, kettle and toaster. We had the room opposite the reception and luckily it did offer some view of the ocean, although it can get a tiny bit noisy at times. The spa rooms upstairs are probably quieter. The breakfast was just the perfect start for our mornings, with a variety or cereals, breads and spreads on offer.
Lastly (and the best part for me) was the hosts Karen and Doug. We were welcome with a warm, genuine manner, and will probably go back to Chatby Lane, specifically for their hospitality.

Room Tip: Ground level room was a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.4 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#3 of 9 in Lorne
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#5 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
1.3 mi away
Qdos Arts Treehouses
Qdos Arts Treehouses
#3 of 22 in Lorne
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#8 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatby Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatby Lane Apartments

Address: 4 Howard Street, Lorne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatby Lane Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatby Lane is affordable luxury boutique accommodation. Reward yourself and stay in one of our luxury apartments or deluxe studio suites with ocean views and double spas available. Chatby Lane, a place to unwind and discover the simple luxuries of life... a walk along the beach, a long lazy breakfast, time spent with your partner or simply experience the peace, privacy and informal ambience of our boutique accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Chatby Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatby Lane Apartments Lorne, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatby Lane Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.