We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light lunch with a glass of Pinot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LIl Boy Blue

LIl Boy Blue
309 High Street, Kew, Boroondara, Victoria, Australia
+61 3 9853 5003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 70 Restaurants in Kew
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $36
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Once upon a time, In the small leafy town we all know and love as Kew, there lived and worked a young chef by the name of Joshua Clarke, who had been cooking in the kitchens of Kew for many years. One rainy old autumn day, just after a busy lunch service, he was filleting fresh locally caught pinkies for dinner service when he thought to himself, I would really love to create a food establishment in Kew that can offer all the local generations a fun and cultured, food, wine, cheese and coffee experience. Somewhere you can come any time of the day from early morning until night, with simple, seasonal food coming out of the kitchen, freshly ground Allpress coffee pouring through the La Marzocco, beautiful Australian wine, beer, cider and a handful of tasty cocktails. Lil Boy Blue kitchen & bar is now a contemporary new space that has kept the integrity of the beautiful old building. It is a warm, welcoming, casual environment where the old meets the new as soon as you walk through the door. Lil boy blue kitchen & bar is fully licensed for 66 people. Come in for some eats and drinks, relax, listen to some music and watch the world go by. See you soon...
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Light lunch with a glass of Pinot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was meeting the local member for lunch and he suggested Lil Boy Blue. His choice was spot on for a business lunch. We started with a Duck Pastie each and then split a toasted Roast Beef and a Roast Chook "Sanga." Topped off with a glass of Pinot, it was an enjoyable meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Six friends visited last Saturday night & were located upstairs in a very crowded room.It was a hot night but with no fan or air conditioning & a tin roof it was stifling.
Added to that the noise level was so high that you had to shout at each other & even then it was difficult to hear one another.
Meals were ok but small portions (not reflected in the price) & strangely one friend ordered a small plate which was larger than some of the large plates.
We left immediately after our meal & went elsewhere to finish off the night.
The wine prices are exorbitant & the Castle Rock Sav Blanc we drank had a healthy 300% mark up when I checked the next day.NEVER AGAIN!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Place but Small Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Have been here a number of times, the food is of a very high quality and has always been delicious as well as having an exciting original menu but at times (and yes I know there are different sized meals on the menu) the meals have been very small and subsequently quite expensive. Coffee is nice, service is great and the atmosphere is very nice and unlike some cafes/restaurants not too cramped. Overall it's definitely worth a shot but be prepared to order desserts as your mains may not fill you up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Interesting breakfast selections, but forgetful service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Lively, bustling atmosphere and seemed to be seating people quickly on a busy Saturday lunch time, however had to be asked for some water (everyone else seemed to just receive this) and followed up to take my order. Good selection of breakfast options and the tasting plates at a nearby table looked interesting and disappeared fast. Enjoyed my eggs and avocado, but had to wait for quite a while until they were organised for me to pay for it. Wouldn't mind trying dinner there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good tasting food, service and wine portions lousy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Entering without a booking we were told that the only table of 2 available was next to the front door - not a good place on a cold windy night! There were empty 3's and 4's tables but we accepted that these were reserved. They were not all filled during our stay and other patrons without reservations were given tables upstairs. The main meal was delicious (could have included a side for the price charged) but the wine by the glass came in very large glasses and the quantity poured would not have been more than about 75 ml - apart from looking ridiculous, it is about half of what you would expect. Mention of the small quantity was met with an objection from the waitress. Mention of the seating near the door to whom appeared to be an owner was met with excuses.
It is a pity as even though the food is good, I will not return for the reasons stated.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LIl Boy Blue also viewed

Kew, Boroondara
 

Been to LIl Boy Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LIl Boy Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.