We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pathfinder Motel

Pathfinder Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pathfinder Motel to your Saves list
Pathfinder Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   380 Cotham Rd., Kew, Boroondara, Victoria 3101, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kew
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Happy with this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was comfortable in my room at the Pathfinder. As I wanted to stay in Kew, I found it good value. Plenty of parking. The decor is old but the room was clean airy and light with a/c. The breakfast was fine. My window faced north which I enjoyed for some winter warmth, and it was nice to open to a little balcony. Pool not inviting, but didn't concern me. By the photos, I thought it was nearer to shops to walk. tram out front. Did not notice traffic noise.

Room Tip: I wanted upstairs and I liked a north facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    8
    2
    9
See reviews for
4
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Don't expect a warm welcome here. The lady on reception who I suspect is the owner was impolite, unfriendly and unhelpful in her manner and response to my questions.. Rooms need new decor to make it worth the price. Can be nosy with traffic on the 2 busy adjoining roads.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

First impression wasnt great. On a very busy street corner and the receptionist spoke little English & no friendly greeting. Reasonable sized motel block. Had 2 rooms, next to each other. Very dark, old & very dated. Beds were OK, not alot of cupboard space and very small bathroom in which you are unable to close the bathroom window.

Noisy old air conditioner, old phone, no internet & serious lack of power points. Small fridge in room along with toaster, cups & cutlery were dirty. House keeping were rude and unable to service room properly, due to time restriction, even though, there were only 5 or 6 of us in the whole motel.

Breakfast was served but only tea & toast - dont bother.

Only good thing about this motel was the 72 tram stop right outside, with excellent connections. We only stayed there as there was no other option in the area. Would not recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Dont stay here, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed in a family room which was fairly spacious. The breakfast was quite good, but the friendly service is especially memorable. Spacious carpark also.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The general impressiom we got of this establishment is that it has seen its best days. It is situated at the corner of 2 busy roads in Kew, which is both an advantage and a disadvantage. Our room was No. 5, a standard queen room with sofa bed.

Car parking is not allocated to rooms by number, and only 4 spaces are close to the rooms, half of which are on the first floor. You would need to enquire on booking, if this would be a difficulty. There is a pool, not in use, and a BBQ area.

The room was clean, and neatly presented. It had a bed with a mattress we thought was somewhat worn, restricted space for bags, and a noisy fridge. The balcony was a Juliet type with insufficient space for chairs or table. There was a breakfast table and sofa/divan inside.

The TV was an analogue type, now archaic, with terrible picture quality and 5 channels. The remote did not work unless we stood next to the TV set.

A/C was present although we did not use it, and a heater, which worked well. The bathroom was not large but was adequate. It had been retiled in a very rough and ready way, which made it look somewhat unattractive.

Breakfast was not offered to the room in our case, but was provided in the Motel restaurant. It was continental only, no hot food. At night this facility became a restaurant with an all-Asian menu.

Traffic noise would be a problem for light sleepers, but is held to a tolerable level with doors and windows closed and drapes drawn. There is a tram terminus a few steps away, and this means visitors can travel to the Melbourne CBD by tram or train and avoid parking charges.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

The family room was booked through the internet for a very reasonable price. The room itself had a double bed in the main living area, with a partition separating two single beds, so not a lot of privacy, but fine for our needs. Kitchen area was fine with the usual crockery/cutlery and cooking utensils you expect in a motel. Bathroom was clean, no fan meant the window had to be left open, but it was up high enough that it wasn't intrusive. The whole motel itself is somewhat dated, and our room was right on the road which meant that the traffic noise was fairly consistent all through the night. However, the service was lovely, with breakfast included (usual cereals, toast, coffee, tea and juice) in the dining room. The bar and the old pieces of furniture and pictures around the place clearly indicate it was probably a great entertainment spot in its hayday! Whilst we didn't use the swimming pool, it certainly look clean and inviting (if the weather had been warmer!). For the convenience of staying out of the Melbourne city area, this was a great place to park the car and spend a night or two - we admit we were pleasantly surprised!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

In fairness, I thought I should update my previous review of this motel. I stayed there in early April 2007 and to my delight, the service had greatly improved. I learned that there were new owners and they were obviously trying very hard to act like a proper motel. The mini-bar was checked and replenished daily and there was always somebody at the desk. Much improved! This is still one of the cheapest motels on this part of town - great value if you want to stay in Kew, Camberwell or Balwyn.

  • Liked — It is at the crossroads of two tram routes. Excellent public transport connections!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kew
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Beaumont Kew
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel 115 Kew
1.6 mi away
Quest Kew
Quest Kew
#2 of 4 in Kew
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quest Mont Albert
Quest Mont Albert
#1 of 1 in Mont Albert
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glenferrie Hotel
Glenferrie Hotel
#108 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pathfinder Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pathfinder Motel

Address: 380 Cotham Rd., Kew, Boroondara, Victoria 3101, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Boroondara > Kew
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pathfinder Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pathfinder Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pathfinder Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.