We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Kew

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Kew to your Saves list
Quest Kew
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 - 21 Walpole Street, Kew, Boroondara, Victoria 3101, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kew
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed in the two-room suite with a work colleague. Dated decor (who matches marble-look laminex with burl-look laminex - a visual catastrophe), but comfortable and centrally located. Close to a supermarket, about $15 to the city in a cab. Underground secure parking. Quiet environment. Staff were very obliging. Hotel room was clean, but one bathroom had a shower over the bathtub, with an odd moving pane of glass which I suspect could be a hazard if you were unsteady on your feet (but then you'd probably use the other bathroom). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
9
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our party of 12 booked 2 rooms, each comprising 3 bedrooms and we stayed here for 4 nights. The property was very clean and all the staff we came in contact with were very helpful with tips on catching trams, services etc. in the area. Our request for clothes airers was handled very quickly also. A number of our party arrived earlier than the 2 pm check-in but this also wasn't a problem with access to the rooms arranged for them. Our rooms were all very quiet. Would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue, would suggest staying in a ground floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and well laid out. Everything was in good condition and working order. The proximity to retail outlets, banks and restaurants was excellent. The apartment we had faced the main road and was a little noisy, but not a major issue.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room off the road, but that will require additional carriage of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here a night to rest after being discharged from hospital before driving home which was some hours away. Can't really fault this place - very quiet, clean, comfortable, and excellent service. They were happy to oblige and let us check in a couple of hours early due to coming straight from hospital, which wins points from me. Supermarket right next door and cafes and restaurants within a stone's throw. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this accommodation and the service has been friendly and helpful both times. I find the establishment clean and good for a family. Very close to trams (but not too close to hear them) and getting around is very easy.

Room Tip: We had a room on ground floor and close to entrance and the only compliant I had was that I was woke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had booked a room for one night. At 4:30AM the next morning the fire alarm just outside our room sounded. Concerned for our safety we investigated to find no smell of smoke or cause for alarm. A number of other guests had vacated the building thinking there might be a fire.

It seems the fire alarm was ringing in our ears for no reason at all. We tried to find management but no-one was around. People started calling management with no response and eventually called the fire department.

Thank god there was no fire because the alarm only got attended to at 5:45AM. Yes, 75 minutes later before the alarm was tended to. I could imagine if there was a fire that the whole building would have burned down in that time-frame.

We asked on check out what options were available to us given we were up from 4:30AM with 110 decibels ringing in our ears for 75 minutes. We received an email from the property manager later in the day with an opening statement "Hope you are doing great!" offering a 20% discount next time we want to stay at this place again (like we would want to risk our lives again). Then signs off with "have a wonderful afternoon" as if there was zero consideration for how were were feeling.

As I explained to them in reply - I felt this an epic failure to consider their customers needs & safety.

I could not recommend this place to anybody that has any concern for their safety.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at Quest Kew for the second Xmas in a row. It is a good option for Melbourne accommodation, being an easy tram ride to the city. Apartments are clean and modern. Kitchen equipment is very basic so you might consider bringing extra utensils. The barbecue was not working very well (some burners out of action) when we were there. One thing to be aware of is that air-conditioning is only in living area - not in bedrooms.

Despite the minor issues mentioned, I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kew
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Kew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Kew

Address: 19 - 21 Walpole Street, Kew, Boroondara, Victoria 3101, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Boroondara > Kew
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Kew 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelling for work or play? Why stay in a city? Be different!!When only 6 km from the city is one of Melbourne most prestigious and influential suburbs and it's waiting for you.Centrally located at the Kew Junction, Quest Kew Serviced Apartments are surrounded by shopping, restaurants and cafes. With everything located at our doorstep, this Melbourne fringe suburb is the perfect answer to your travelling needs.All of our spacious well-appointed apartments come with a full kitchen, spacious lounge/dining area, private laundry and balcony for your comfort.The perfect "home away from home" is not as far away as you think ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Quest Kew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Kew, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.