We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for family celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Katherine's - CLOSED

St Katherine's
26 Cotham Road, Kew, Boroondara, Victoria 3101, Australia
+61 (3) 9207 7477
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $78
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: St Katherine’s was opened in 2011 by Shane Delia and George Calombaris. For the long time friends, St Kat’s is a place where they have brought together their individual family histories, culture and cuisines – a marriage of ideas from Malta, Greece and Cyprus together with an influence from the Middle East. It’s this culmination of ideas will bring together a sexy sharing style ‘mezze’ menu. With its custom made Turkish grill, fourteen spike rotisserie and a wood fired oven, St Katherine’s guarantees a dining experience that is fresh, healthy and filled with flavoursome and affordable food that leaves you craving more.

 Located in Kew, St Katherine’s offers the local community a restaurant that is both relaxed and warm. Kew, described by Shane as a "family friendly suburb," seemed like the perfect location for Shane and George to promote the ‘shared family table’ for a laid-back, family-friendly eating experience. 

St Katherine’s features a shared chefs table and food designed by the kitchen daily and served ‘yum cha style’.
Melbourne Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for family celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My daughter graduated yesterday and we had a family dinner for 12. We chose the $54 banquet & the table near the front door slightly away from the other tables. Our waiter was so friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. They brought out a special surprise dessert for our daughter which was a lovely touch. One of my favourite ever dining experiences in Melbourne! Thanks St K's

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    45
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most disappointing experience ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was visiting Australia/ Melbourne for the first time and I was one of the biggest fan from Australian Masterchef.
I was exciting to bring a visit to St. Katherine's. The food was terrible. We ordered Lam,salmon and chicken. We ordered a salad and we got one-fourth of a head salad with a little bit of sauce over it. I never ever hat such a salad in my hole live not even in my own house! It didn't look edible. The lamb was dry also the chicken the salmon was over cooked.Even the fried potatoes were terrible( what can going wrong with fried potatoes?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Terrific place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We were in a party of nine for lunch here today. It was a terrific experience. We had the feed me banquet. The food was uniformly excellent. Extremely tasty and just the right size. Couldn't fault one dish. The service was great too. Polite, efficient and friendly. All in all, this was a very positive dining experience. We will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had been wanting to try this place out for ages. Lovely venue, great lighting, not too noisy.

Started with warm olives and the hummus with smoked almond. Both were great. Our 6yo devoured the fish fingers. Good start!
Mains were massive and in hindsight, should have just ordered a couple of dishes to share. Although, was told at the end of the meal, when half my meal was uneaten due to portion size, that I could have just ordered a half size. Funny how they didn't mention that anywhere on the menu.

FIL had the whole snapper. MIL had the spit roast pork. H had the Feed Me platters. I had the spit roast chicken. All super delicious. The roast carrot salad was bland. The Feed Me was an oddly disjointed assortment of "tasting dishes" and in small portions. Wouldn't order this again except it might be the only way to get the beautifully silky white bean and anchovy dip (to die for).

Dessert was also a disappointment. The creme brûlée was overcooked and rubbery. The poached pear pavlova something was just a confusing mess of awkward flavours. The doughnut was pretty good according to 6yo.

Would we come back? Probably. But we are more the wiser now.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch, quick friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

As a guest for a business lunch this was my first visit at this much lauded venue. Bright, spacious and not noisey, the room was ideal for a light business chat among five. Service was friendly, knowledgeable and non-intrusive. Food was great and arrived promptly. Looking forward to a return visit at night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Katherine's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Katherine's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.