We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant lunch venue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Katherine's - CLOSED

St Katherine's
26 Cotham Road, Kew, Boroondara, Victoria 3101, Australia
+61 (3) 9207 7477
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $78
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: St Katherine’s was opened in 2011 by Shane Delia and George Calombaris. For the long time friends, St Kat’s is a place where they have brought together their individual family histories, culture and cuisines – a marriage of ideas from Malta, Greece and Cyprus together with an influence from the Middle East. It’s this culmination of ideas will bring together a sexy sharing style ‘mezze’ menu. With its custom made Turkish grill, fourteen spike rotisserie and a wood fired oven, St Katherine’s guarantees a dining experience that is fresh, healthy and filled with flavoursome and affordable food that leaves you craving more.

 Located in Kew, St Katherine’s offers the local community a restaurant that is both relaxed and warm. Kew, described by Shane as a "family friendly suburb," seemed like the perfect location for Shane and George to promote the ‘shared family table’ for a laid-back, family-friendly eating experience. 

St Katherine’s features a shared chefs table and food designed by the kitchen daily and served ‘yum cha style’.
Woodend, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Nice room, erratic service and food. The $40 lunch is good value. Whilst not very interesting food exploring different continental cuisines ie dips v ribs and black vinegar, it was well cooked in a pleasant breezy way. The music needed to be turned down especially when it ventured into 80's sickly pop. Not breaking cuisine borders but in Kew, options are limited.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at St Katherine's, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thanks for your review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at St Katherine's.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    45
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“High priced takeaway food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I eaten previously at George's other restaurant The Press Club and found it to be over pretentious overpriced rubbish. Maybe I got a bad night and decided to give the great man another go (but I had my reservations)
We were excited to try St Katherines after hearing great things about it in the media. I arrived with my wife and two children on a Saturday evening for what i thought would be a great night. While browsing through the menu, I found the staff to be over attentive and almost pushy for us to decide what to order. The waitress kept pointing to their buffet deal and seemed inpatient with our indecision. Our first plates arrived and although effort was made in presentation the food taste left a lot to be desired. It seemed that it had been left in a under a warmer prior to serving and had dried. Second course was no better, the lamb off the spit was also dry, burnt and tasteless. I've eaten better at a shonky takeaway at 4am after a night out. Desert did not redeem what was a terrible night further impacted by the ridiculous bill. Other reviewers have called it over-priced takeaway food. This is a very apt description of St Katherines. Save your money and don't bother with any of Georges eateries.

George and his mates are great spruikers and his animated persona served with his stereotyped greek personality seemed to have endeared him to the Australian public. But I know when I'm getting taken for ride. Keep cashing in George. Nudge,nudge, wink, wink.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at St Katherine's, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We enjoy reading both positive and negative reviews as we feel feedback is the best way to continuously improve our offering.

We apologise that you did not enjoy your experience and regret that this was the case as we hold ourselves to high standards in this regard.

I have sent you a message with the venue manager's contact details should you wish to discuss your concerns further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Super place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We received a gift voucher from our son & his wife for Christmas and decided on a long Sunday lunch as a treat. Lovely decor, light and bright for lunchtime. We arrived for 12.30 and it was just filling up, by 1.30 the place was packed. The wait staff were attentive and friendly. We were seated and drinks orders taken promptly. The menu was explained and we were given time to decide. The food arrived quickly and the timing between dishes was just right. All the food was just great. We enjoyed the set mixed menu as it gave us a good selection to try. Dessert was awesome - vanilla parfait and Nutella donuts! All in great service and delicious food. My only issue is the noise level. All hard surfaces, so the sound just bounces around he large space. Conversation became difficult, so this was not great. However, we will go again as overall the food was worth it. Not the place for a romantic quiet meal, this is family and group friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at St Katherine's, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thanks for your review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your evening at St Katherine's, particularly the vanilla parfait and Nutella donuts!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fine food, pity about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were in the Kew area so we decided to look for St. Katherine's after hearing about the good reviews. For a big restaurant in the suburbs, on a weekday after 1:00 pm. the place was not surprisingly only half-full. The wait staff although pleasant and knowledgeable, were slow. We ordered the express lunch at $20 per person for 2 courses of sharing plates, thinking it would be fast. Service was slow for both the starters and the mains. The food though was Modern Greek with interestingly good flavors. I wanted to try their desserts but because we were worried about parking, we ordered the soft serve ice cream, one with the brandy snaps, the other with the strawberries. In my opinion, it was not worth the $9.50, the brandy snaps were way too thick, the other one needed more strawberries. These desserts were not as imaginative as desserts in Chin-Chin. We should have tried the other desserts like the peanut butter parfait or the Nutella doughnuts but we were concerned that given the snail pace service (it was also hard to catch the eye of the waiters), our parking fine will cost more than the lunch. I would like to return because the food was really creative and well executed but the slow service (from both the wait and kitchen staff) was a big let down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at St Katherine's, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thanks for your review. We do enjoy reading all feedback (both positive and negative) as we find this the best way to improve what we offer to our patrons.

We apologise that you did not enjoy your experience and are disappointed that this was the case as we hold ourselves to high standards in this regard.

I have sent you a DM with the manager’s name contact details number and we encourage you to call to discuss the matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food-what a treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My second visit to st Kat's was just as delightful as the first. Share plates are the best - you get enough of each dish to really enjoy it but are not too stuffed to try something else. It's very busy but not too packed in, not too noisy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at St Katherine's, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks for your review @Sallymagpie.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first couple of visits to St Katherine's, especially the share plates.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Katherine's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Katherine's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.