We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic 'Resort'” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Resort Phillip Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Resort Phillip Island to your Saves list
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2128 Phillip Island Road, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Phillip Island Eco Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eclectic 'Resort'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Firstly, we bought a 2-night voucher from Scoopon for a Studio Spa. After securing the payment, all the weekends were booked out so we have to settle in on a mid week winter getaway. No dramas here, as the staff was kind enough to check ALL available dates.
On the day of arrival: Since we arrive after hours (after 5pm in winter), we retrived the keys through a safe box and made our way to the resort area. NO VISIBLE MAP whatsoever to the location of our eco cabin. Strange for a large resort. The cabin number was so tiny you can barely make it out in the dark. Enquire about the location after confirming your booking before heading out here in case if you are coming in after sunset.
Location of the resort is about 2.4km BEFORE Cowes so not exactly within walking distance (not less than 30mins). Excellent for sleeping as it was dark and quiet, with stars all around on a dark night.
Other facilities: The pizzeria wasn't too bad, handy for a night-in. If you have the voucher, use it here. We didn't try the clubhouse or swimming pool as this was a quick holiday.
Conclusion: We thought it was 'eclectic' due to some weird features of the place. We would choose somewhere else more central if it's going to be more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin P, General Manager at Ramada Resort Phillip Island, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear erudite Travels 83
Melbourne

Thank you for purchasing your accommodation stay via ‘Scoopon’ discount voucher. As stated in your review, due to the outstanding success and popularity of the Scoopon promotional campaigns we were very quickly ‘booked out’ across many weekend dates for the duration of the campaign dates which culminate at the end of February 2013. Along with yours, we have sold several thousands of the ‘Scoopon Discount Accommodation Vouchers’, hence the unprecedented demand being placed on availability across the property and the various accommodation ‘categories’ promoted. We can only apologise for the outstanding success of the promotion due to the offer presenting exceptional ‘$ Value’ to our guests, such as yourself. Please also be advised that your comments in relation to locating your assigned villa in the evening hours, have been duly noted and this issue is currently being addressed, with a solution that will both improve and assist our guests in this endeavour. Thank you again for purchasing your ‘Scoopon Accommodation Voucher’ and your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    179
    105
    36
    53
See reviews for
241
103
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Ramada and Wyndham should be ashamed to put their name to this place. It is not a ‘resort’, but more like a holiday park with ‘tin shed’ cabins.

At over $200 per night for a 2 bed apartment we were surprised to have no air conditioning. We decided before we even saw the room that this was not acceptable and we would cut our 10 night stay to 2 nights and move elsewhere for the rest of our holiday. We did not even last one evening. Not even a fan in the bedrooms and small windows – it was incredibly hot in the bedrooms (approx 40 degrees), dangerous for our young children, and not much cooler in the lounge area. We left at 10:30pm and drove back to Melbourne.

In terms of the facilities, there was no shade by the pool and hardly any chairs or lounge chairs at all (none at all by one of the pools). Very basic facilities and hardly of the standard that would be expected at a resort.

We returned to Phillip Island the following day and stayed at Silverwater for around the same price as the Ramada, and had a wonderful experience at a real resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin P, General Manager at Ramada Resort Phillip Island, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Monique 153
Melbourne

Please accept our apology that we were unable to meet your personal expectations via your pre booked accommodation. It is my understanding; that when staff were advised of your concerns and issues you were immediately offered the availability of a refund of your booking costs for any ‘unused accommodation’ in response to your concerns. With this offer of refund, reimbursement of un utilised accommodation costs being made to you and accepted by you. Again, may I express our disappointment in being unable to meet your personal expectations via your pre-booked accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

This is our second trip to this property in 2 years( it has be rebranded Ramada since our last visit)
I have read other reviews and can understand some people's disappointment.

What it is- individual units( think caravan park cabins) in a subdivision off the main road into Cowes. Ours was clean and well presented- 3 bedrooms with A/C (not all units do) plus heater. An outdoor deck and setting looking out over paddocks- quite private. TV plus DVD player in unit. Washing machine/ drier Plus full kitchen with basic equipment. Space to park 2 cars.

What it's not- it is not luxurious. The toiletries are basic, the bedrooms are not well appointed- can't open cupboards in kids room as beds in way. Needed to move bed in ensuite bedroom to open drawers.
Extras such as drying racks for clothes, dish cloths,matches, fly spray etc that you find in some similar properties are absent.

The pool area lacks shade and resort style furniture. The main pool is heated and pleasant the toddlers pool is cold.

Overall I like this place but it is not luxurious. If you want unit style accommodation with a touch of luxury( some room service, better appointed rooms, IPOD music docks etc) try the RACV resort at Inverloch.

We would return here but are aware what it offers. The location is good as long as you have a car.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin P, General Manager at Ramada Resort Phillip Island, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear CandNO7
Melbourne

Thank you for your review and posting. Thank you also for your positive comments in relation to your chosen accommodation, being both ‘Clean & Well Presented’ and also pleased that you appreciated the pleasant aspect and view from your accommodation. Many guests do not realise just how large a 65 acre property is and the fact that our (accommodation) is surrounded by natural bushland setting, featuring a vast array of flora and fauna. I was however disappointed to read that you reportedly did not have available in your accommodation; drying rack (Clothes Airer) dish cloths etc’, as these are standard inclusion within all our accommodation? We do not however provide ‘matches’ due to obvious safety reasons and issues associated with such a large ‘natural bushland setting’ that we enjoy. However if you had contacted reception upon discovering that these ‘items’ were not available for your use, a member of our housekeeping team would have delivered these to you. To ensure your comfort and enjoyment during your stay. We do hope that you are indeed able to enjoy a return visit and stay as indicated within your review. Your comments were also noted in relation to your reference ‘Don’t Expect Luxury’? May I clarify our industry rating classification to you and fellow guests; We present and offer our accommodation as a recognised ‘Value for Money’ industry rated 3½ - 4 star property, in comparison to your mentioned alternative Inverlock accommodation which is promoted as a 4½ star rated property. Which also represents ‘Value for Money’ to guests looking for a slightly higher rated accommodation category than ours here at Ramada – Phillip Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Where do I start. We arrive at the Ramada " Resort" early January for our long awaited family holiday. Being peek season, top dollar was paid. This was advertised as a resort located in the heart of Cowes. What a joke! From the moment we (myself, wife and 2 1/2 yo son) arrived, searching for our "villa" (as the numbers can not be seen clearly from the road due to overgrown bushes), we were becoming more and more disappointed with the choice we had made. When we finally found our "villa", our first impressions were far from inviting. The front deck looked as though it had not had any maintainance since the day it was built. The step was rickety and the deck was rough and unkept. With no handrail fitted, a child could easily fall off and hurt themselves. As we entered our accomodation, we realised that it had NO AIRCONDITIONING. My first thought after entering the colour bond/weathertex building was that we may have been stuck in a time warp and it was in fact 1981. Anyway, plywood floors, 1 ceiling fan, a 28 inch flat screen tv with 6 sd channels (woo hoo, break out the beers, I'm watching the cricket!) a Fantastic furniture package special as a lounge/dining setting, fly wire door which slides closed with no catch ( great for those hot days with toddlers who love to be indoors with no AIRCONDITIONING! ) dirty cups/glasses, which mind you, you will incur a $20 charge for any dirty dishes left, and a $20 charge for rubbish removal when there are NO nearby bins, cobwebs on the outside of the doors/windows followed up by a huntsman scrambling its way across the "lounge" floor before it promptly met its demise.
This was all observed/noted within the first few hours of arrival.
I can only imagine what we have to look forward to for the rest of our stay.
So in summary, don't waste your money or listen to the so called "good reviews", Phillip Island Ramada resort is a waste of money and I would much rather be in an onsite van at a caravan park. Our experience has been truly horrible.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin P, General Manager at Ramada Resort Phillip Island, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Bellachloe

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and post your comments in relation to your stay. Albeit not a positive response! Understandably it appears that our accommodation standard did not meet your personal expectations. Your comment in relation to air conditioning has been previously addressed via this forum on numerous occasions, so I will not respond in detail to this which is now a mute point for all. As also is also your reference to the numbering or identification of ‘Villa Accommodation’, a situation that is being addressed and will undoubtedly improve this. Please be advised that all other points have been noted and will be responded to as required. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights at this so called "Resort" which cost us $249 per night. Firstly upon requesting a unit with air conditioning I was informed by reception staff that this counld not be guaranteed as not all units come with A/C. Make no mistake, these units are "hot boxes" and you will not survive without it. Upon entering our unit for the first time it was dirty with hair and dead flies on the floor. Ironically there is a sign on the wall to advise guests that all dishes must be washes upon departure otherwise a fine of $20 will apply. However the first thing we had to do was wash all the dishes in the cupbords in order to use them! Which we had to purchase dish cloths and washing liquid to do, as the units were only equipped with the bare minimum (You barely get TV reception!) Make no mistake this is by no means resort accommodation, there is a pool, but with very little shade and was extremely busy and too crowded to swim in on the hot days we were there. We were definately decived by the glossy brochure pictures! We are happy to pay $249 a night for a family holiday however these units are very dirty, over crowded, with staff that just do the bare minimum. We would not return or recommed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin P, General Manager at Ramada Resort Phillip Island, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Shelly B
Melbourne

‘Very Disappointing’ …..definitely not a guest comment or review that the team here at “Ramada – Phillip Island’ wish to hear nor aspire too. But respectfully these comments are a reflection of your experience, which non-the-less is also retrospectively ‘very disappointing’ for the team. We accept your comments and concerns noted; and will use these to assist us to endeavour to improve on our level of service and presentation of property to our guests. Unfortunately ‘post stay’ I can only apologise for the property being extremely busy with fellow guests, due to the time of your stay (Peak Holiday Season) the property was fully booked and proving popular with guests and visitors alike. Again appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Overall a pleasant few days for the family but the term "resort" is slightly misleading,
I think the property would be more accurately referred to as cabins or a slightly up-market holiday park.

Pros:
- Cabin was spacious for 4 of us, beds were comfortable. Really helpful to have a washing machine & dishwasher.
- Received a $60 F&B voucher on arrival and spent it at the Pizza shop that the kids enjoyed
- Close to Cowes, short drive to the Supermarket

Cons
- No airconditioning, was impossible to sleep on a hot night
- TV reception was woeful
- BBQs around the resort either didn't work or would last for a maximum of 5 minutes
- Only 2-3 deck chairs in both pool areas (laughable for a 200 room "resort")
- Kids playroom is filled with crappy arcade games
- Indoor Lap Pool area was poorly maintained
- Check-In wait was over 1/2 an hour

Probably wouldn't stay there again but the price was very competitive for the December holiday period.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin P, General Manager at Ramada Resort Phillip Island, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Jason F
Melbourne

May I thank you for your review and comments; Pros & Cons, these were very much appreciated, with the positives being greatly appreciated and the ‘cons’ also being received and noted for reference and attention. With some of your ‘Cons’ already being addressed previously in this forum and being addressed by management. In relation to the outdoor pool furniture; yes this has been an issue for us over the peak season. With the furniture being ordered prior to Christmas, but unfortunately the supplier was unable to deliver the product as initially thought when the order was placed. This fact has obviously impacted negatively upon the resort via guest comments such as yours and indeed affected our guests comfort whilst enjoying our facilities. For this, we find ourselves sincerely apologising; for a situation that is both unfortunately and regrettably completely beyond our control. Thank you for both your review and patronage, both greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Well where do I start. Firstly on arrival of our 5 night stay we advised staff that we could only get one channel on our t.v and were told someone would come and have a look for us ( no-one ever showed up) For our first morning breakfast we did not have a pan to cook our bacon and eggs and when I rang reception they told us they were very busy so could we drive down to pick one up. Only then after starting to cook did we realise there was no utensils for cooking. It was easier to go buy some that day than to wait in line again at reception from all the guest complaints. Happy hr at the bar was advertised on the door but the door was closed, as we tapped on the window the staff inside ignored us. Many guest were complaining outside and we couldn't beleive that on such a busy day (New-Years Eve day) everything was closed. When we went to the Pizza Restaurant to get a beer and a drink for the kids the pizza man rang Management and told them to open the doors as it was advertised . It definately was not a Happy Hr !! Then we come to having tea in the Restaurant. Only after ordering our meals and having a couple of drinks were we then told we would be charged an extra 15% on top of meals and drinks as it was a public holiday. We would have been fine with that if they had have told us at the start or if it had been advertised. We were outside and I started to get very cold so we asked for the gas heater to be lit next to our table. We were told it was empty ( there were three heaters) After a while I had noticed that there was also electric heaters so I asked the waitress if we could plug one in as by now it was freezing. She returned to tell us that all of the globes were blown. Think they were trying to save a dollar! We stayed 3 years earlier under previous owners and it was heaps better.Would not recommened this so called resort to anyone.

Room Tip: You may request a room e.g near the front or next to friends but it does not mean they will listen..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin P, General Manager at Ramada Resort Phillip Island, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, please be advised that all points have been duly noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.7 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#2 of 11 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
1.6 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 11 in Cowes
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Silverwater Resort
Silverwater Resort
#2 of 3 in San Remo
4.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
Comfort Resort Kaloha
#5 of 11 in Cowes
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#1 of 11 in Cowes
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Phillip Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Phillip Island

Address: 2128 Phillip Island Road, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Phillip Island Eco Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Phillip Island 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated two hour’s drive from Melbourne, Ramada Resort Phillip Island is close to a variety of natural wildlife experiences, popular tourist attractions, swimming and surfing beaches, and breathtakingrugged beauty. Book your escape to Phillip Island where you can view Australia’s largest colony of fur seals, watch hundreds of Little Penguins returning to their burrows in the famous Penguin Parade andexplore seaside villages offering alfresco dining and shopping. Ramada Resort Phillip Island is spread across 65 acres of countryside and features Numbers Café & Bar; a Pizzeria; health centrewith gym and spa; pool, two tennis courts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Resort Phillip Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Phillip Island Eco Hotel Cowes
All Seasons Cowes
Cowes All Seasons
Ramada Resort Phillip Island Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Resort Phillip Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.